We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, terrible hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nevskiy Hotel Aster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Ranked #108 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great location, terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. I would very much caution anyone before staying at the Nevsky Aster Hotel, no matter how great the location. The first day we arrived, we were given a room that was outside the main building, past heaps of rubbish, which felt like a dungeon and smelled like something had died there. The smell was so bad that I began to feel ill and nauseous and I demanded a changed to the room. The smell was not the only thing wrong with that room, however. The blanket barely covered the bed, the pillows were entirely flat, and the miniscule TV looked like it was from the 1970s with snowy reception. There was no dresser. When I told the girl at the front desk about the smell, she said "I know." She KNEW?! Then why put a GUEST in a place you KNOW smells like death? But this was just the beginning. The second night, we came back in the evening to all the lights being out in the hotel and all the doors *unlocked* with no one guarding the building. THe front desk people had candles and we had to ask for candles in order to bump our way upstairs to the room--they didn't offer us any assistance, no flashlight, nothing. I was appalled. When we asked for information about the lights, they said "we don't know when they will be put on" and that was that. Never mind that we might have had all our possessions stolen.
Overall a very negative experience. I felt that we were treated poorly as guests. The breakfast was so-so, after that awful smell nothing really seemed appealing. Beware this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you a room that is "105 or 104". These are the rooms outside the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0ll33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for having stayed with us and taking the time to share. Your comments are very important to us. The moment we read your review we have alerted managers in charge of the issues listed in it. We have inspected the room you stayed in and have not detected any smell, but our maintenance team was assigned a task of establishing a plausible reason for a bad smell and eliminating it. We are very sorry about the power outage which occurred during your stay with us. Unfortunately, it was a major problem beyond our control, and all we could do was wait till professional emergency team has sorted it out for us and our neighbours.
We apologize for all the inconveniences caused. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    114
    49
    23
    13
See reviews for
53
94
54
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Nevsky Aster Hotel in St Petersburg is ideally situated for most visits and excursions to the city's main attractions: next to Nevsky Prospekt (shopping and a multitude of architectural treasures, Kazan church, Singer house, ...), on a 5 min walk of the Hermitage, the Church on the Spilled Blood , the National Museum and on a 5 min walk from the metro station on Nevsky Prospekt (with which you can reach all the other attractions: Alexander Nevsky monastery, St Paul & Peter cathedral and fortress, St Isaac cathedral, ...). It is surrounded by lots of shops and restaurants for every budget. The hotel is simple but quiet and clean. The staff is helpful and speaks English. The rooms are tidy and quiet (no noise from outside). Breakfast is simple but fresh and there's more than enough. All of this for a very competitive price: it's hard to do better!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed at the Nevsky Aster and for taking the time to share. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

As with many of the other reviews, the first thing to note about this hotel is it's great location off Nevsky Prospekt, a mere five minutes walk from the Hermitage, Church on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum. St Petersburg as a whole we found a very easy city to walk and the hotel is well placed for canal-side explorations and a consequence of its central location is that dining and shopping options abound.

We also received great service from the staff, with someone always available who spoke good English. Trying to reach St Catherine's Palace (Tsarskoe Selo) ourselves, one receptionist was particularly helpful providing multiple public transport options.

The room we stayed in - 207 - overlooked the courtyard around which the hotel is situated. This was fine - the courtyard itself was perfectly quiet - but the room was close to the floor's main entry/exit point, which could make it difficult to sleep. The room itself, though small, was perfectly clean and serviceable. Although it could clearly do with updating, the shower was great and cleaned daily - you're not in St Petersburg to lounge in the room, are you?

The other main thing to note about this hotel is the breakfast which is avowedly continental, with plenty of juices, cheeses, salad and sliced meats. A small cereal selection is supplemented by some very good hot porridge, german sausages and rice/pasta/pulses depending on the day.

Overall, I would characterise the hotel as value for money in what is an admittedly expensive city. If I was revisiting, I would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid ones by the main floor entrances (on the second floor, these are 201, 207 and 208 I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessKenny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nevsky Aster and for sharing. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed review. We wish you all the best and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Nebraska
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel has a great location, within easy walking distance (15 minutes) of the Hermitage, the Russian Museum, 3 churches, and the Leningrad Blockade Museum, and walkable distance to everything else. In addition, it's in a courtyard and is extremely quiet, despite being in the heart of the city.
But that's it. I was in #203, an average European room with two single beds, and a desk and chair. There was a safe, but no refrigerator. Wifi was good, and there was a small TV mounted in the corner with RT and Eurosport for English speaking channels. In the small bathroom there was a mounted handheld shower.
The breakfast area is poorly set up, with seating for 28 in 2 rooms, but only 9 tables, so as soon as you get about 15 people you start sharing. The food is bread, meat/cheese, hot oatmeal, chopped wieners, chocolate puffs and flakes for cereal, tomatoes, cucumbers, apples, and oranges.

Room Tip: The information about rooms in prior reviews looked accurate to me, though my room #203 was fine, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing. We take our guests' comments very seriously and we are glad that your experience with us was positive. We hope you will choose our hotel again for your next visit to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel has very simple interior and furniture, but it's clean an accurate. For a low price you get Everything a traveller needs just to stay for the night. Good breakfast.
The big benefit of the venue is it's location. From my point of view it's the best point to live if you go to St.Pete for sightseeings.
Lots of places around to have fun in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Denis,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Nevsky Aster again when you plan your next trip to St.Petersburg, and we shall be happy to welcome you.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

good location - good room - bath tub - own control of heating - friendly reception - breakfast second class - they really should separate the meat from the other cooked things so vegetarians don't have to eat sausage flavored oatmeal and buckwheat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler2392123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy your overall experience of staying at the Nevsky aster was positive. Your comments regarding breakfast have been forwarded to the person in charge of breakfast arrangements, and I can assure you that the problem will be sorted out shortly. We thank you for choosing Nevsky Aster and hope to see you among our guests in the future.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, Hants
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Travelled as 3 sisters with their elderley father in Septmber 2013. We had 3 rooms between us.
The Nevsky Astor hotel was OK and in an excellent good central position. The hotel was clean with fresh white bedding and towels. Our beds were quite soft with mattress toppers. No lift.
Rooms 204 & 206 were fine. The room I was given to share with one of my sisters, number 105, was awful. I do not recommend the rooms on the ground floor (103, 104, 105) as when you open the window you get cigarette and car exhaust fumes in the room. Even with the window shut the air in the room did not seem fresh and my sister and I got sore throats at night. These rooms are in the same courtyard as the hotel but have a sperate entrance that looks like the entry to a warehouse lock-up. I wish we had asked to be moved but we the fumes wren't too bad at the start of the week but by Friday I felt like I was being poisoned. In fact on the last night I couldn't sleep, I felt as if I had asthma.
The breakfast is adequate but as previously stated the rooms get full up quickly and by 8:30 there generally is nowhere to sit so either get there by 8am or wait until after 9am.
If we had all been in rooms like 204 & 206 I am sure I would have given this hotel a higher rating.
The other problem we had is that you need a special key to access each floor of bedrooms and my sister in room 204 was not given this entry key so she had to share an access key with dad. Inconvenient when we weren't all doing something together. The phones in the room were useful as we could call each other when we were ready to meet up.
Do not be put off staying at this hotel as the central location is perfect for seeing the Hermitage, Russian Museum and Church on the spilled blood. Just avoid rooms 103-5.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms 103,104,105 unless you absolutely cannot do stairs. Even these rooms do ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyBTadley_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevskiy Hotel Aster, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We were pleased to note that you found our location excellent, breakfast adequate and rooms clean, at the same time we were naturally disappointed to hear about your negative experience in one of our ground floor rooms. Please let me assure you that we take our guests' comments very seriously and always do our best to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience in the ground floor room. We have forwarded your comments to the Nevsky Aster manager with the request to take all possible measures to reduce smoking in the hotel courtyard, as well as to provide additional floor keys so that each guest could independently access relevant hotel floor.
We thank you for choosing our hotel, wish you all the best and still hope you will give us another opportunity of welcoming you in order to restore your faith in Nevsky Aster Hotel.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#71 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#18 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Admiralteisky
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
Nevsky Breeze Hotel
#114 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Central Hotel
Nevskiy Central Hotel
#138 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Nevskiy
Roses Hotel
Roses Hotel
#68 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevskiy Hotel Aster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevskiy Hotel Aster

Property: Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Address: Bolshaya Konyushennaya st., 25, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevskiy Hotel Aster 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are forty eight rooms in the Nevsky Hotel Aster, four of which are lovely two-room suites with sauna and Jacuzzi. The 45 standard rooms nicely accommodate two guests, who can request either a double bed or twin beds. They come with ample shelving, wall mirror, room safe and bathroom with a choice of shower or bath. The hotel is surrounded by cafes and restaurants of every kind with a wide variety of meals and snacks. There are lots of nearby shops, too, and they carry a Western-style assortment of quality merchandise. Also close to the hotel are art galleries and nightclubs. Guests can choose from among the numerous services the hotel offers, such as visa support, registration for only 200 roubles, and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's a laundry and dry cleaning service, selection of cars with drivers for travelling, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for airplane flights or journeys by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Nevskiy Hotel Aster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing