We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #46 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed at the Ambassador in mid-December. I've stayed here several times and each visit is wonderful. My room is clean, cozy and comfortable. The delicious breakfast buffet is a wonderful way to start the day. The hotel is conveniently located to the Philharmonic Hall, museums and the Metro. A great neighborhood conducive to walking. The hotel's transport to and from the airport is terrific - always on time, even if the flight isn't! Look forward to my next stay! Thank you all!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    310
    90
    33
    18
See reviews for
99
246
49
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Arrived 12/12/13 car from airport to hotel arranged by hotel very good ,great check in very welcoming staff ,Fantastic room everything you would need,beds not too soft?,brill breakfast,Could not be happier,St Petersburg is amazing.no short comings!!!!
Thanks to Krill top man at the hotel very helpful.
Read all good reviews as they are the correct ones.
Concierge also very ,very helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel was fine, but there were some niggling things that we thought could be improved without much effort.

Firstly we were woken by extremely loud music from the floor above before 7am on one of the 4 nights we stayed there. Reception seemed oblivious to our phoned requests to have something done about it, and action only occurred after my wife visited the desk and complained in person, and it was more than 45 minutes before the music stopped.
Secondly the buffet breakfast does not seem to be prepared by a chef with a passion for breakfasts. For example - cold fried eggs ! Scrambled eggs that tasted of cardboard with a peculiar texture (probably made from dried egg). Cold plates.
Thirdly the hotel has reached a new pinnacle of meanness in the size of the soap bars provided. The bars were so small that when unwrapped they fell straight through the wire soap holder in the bath. In the little shop just up the road a decent sized bar of soap is 37 roubles ($1.20). We bought one for ourselves and then another which my wife presented to reception as a present for the manager, so that he would "know what a bar of soap looks like". I'm not sure that ironic humour is appreciated in Russia since we got no acknowledgement.

But all the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the Concierge, who provided excellent local insight on dining and travel in St Petersburg. The room is satisfactory (no tea/coffee making equipment provided), one can open a window so the temperature can be made bearable. The place is clean and presentable. It's location is also good.

Apart from the (included) breakfast, we did not use the restaurants in the hotel as there are plenty of good value restaurants nearby.

Pillows & bed a bit soft for my liking, though soft pillows and beds seem to be the norm in Russia.

The business centre has computers etc, and you can print out your boarding passes easily, There is free WiFi throughout the hotel. A bit slow but serviceable.

With the central Metro station just down the road from the hotel it is possible to get everywhere in town and around town by metro (and add a bus trip for the most distant destinations, though it helps to speak a bit of Russian). The public transport system is excellent and cheap; and traveling on it gives a special insight to the town. It takes less than half an hour to walk to the Hermitage, and we also walked to the St Peter & Paul fortress; so the distances are not huge if you have a stout set of shoes and are reasonably fit.

Room Tip: To open the window you have to get hold of handle which unlocks the catch. It is either in the dra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kigoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_Prosviryakova, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Kigoma,

I highly appreciate your review about your staying in Ambassador Hotel. Your comments about our service are very important for us and I would like to specify some aspects.

First of all thank you very much for your present. I will show this bar of soap to our manufacturer and we will consider possibility of changing format of the soap.

I am very sorry for that sleepless night. Our receptionists made few observations to noisy guests (who made music too loud) and got results just after 45 minutes. Of course they made utmost to make your sleep comfortable but sometimes it is difficult to calm down joyful guests. I hope your next visit in Ambassador Hotel will be more comfortable.

Also I would like to comment your view about our breakfast. We never use dried eggs for omelet, we cook it from dietetic eggs. Fried eggs could be not so hot because it could dry up if we will heat it constantly. It is very pity that you did not enjoy our breakfast. We use one of the best foodstuffs in our kitchen.

Thank you very much again for your review! It is very interesting and full. And welcome to Ambassador Hotel again! We will do our best for your comfortable and enjoyable staying!

Sincerely yours,
Natalia Prosviryakova,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel almost in the middle of the city. Nice soft bed but pillows a bit too soft. Overall, its a nice place to stay. Don't know about the cost as its fully sponsored for me..Thank you somuch for the wonderful experience, I really did enjoyed my stay in St. petersburg this lovely and beautiful city..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shareen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were really pleased with this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is lovely - its on the top floor and overlooks the roof tops of the town. We can certainly recommend the breakfasts! The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the main sights which allows you to stroll along the canals too. The history is so interesting and its wonderful to stroll through the hermitage gallery taking in the grand masters. We had a couple of good meals in the restaurant and ate out locally too. Lots of coffee shops and can get European food if wanted.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter but overlooking the street would have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My Husband and his Travel Agent planned this special break as part of my 60th birthday celebration recently. We arrived via BA (who were great too!) at the Hotel, and were greeted with help immediately with our luggage. The reception staff were warm and friendly and went the extra mile to make sure you were ok and assured of your environment.
We had a lovely quiet double room, with a Kingsize bed, with a bath/shower room. Lots of extra's included, even a booklet with more you could have if required.
The room was kept immaculate, with the bed turned in , to prepare you for bedtime.
The restaurants were beautiful, food good, although the dinner menu could be more exciting, with a few more Russian style dishes. The breakfast buffet was vast, with a choice which could keep you filled well into the afternoon. All the staff deserve to be congratulated on their attentiveness to comfort, well being and making you feel special.
The room was warm despite cold temperatures outside, the air-con didn't go below 20*c, so kept the window open, which helped.
For visiting the sights, the hotel was a 10-15 minute walk , St. Issac's, etc.We had already ordered a 2 day pass for the Hermitage, and so avoided the long queues. If you want a really VIP trip, then the Hotel offers specialised tours, but they are quite expensive, we had more fun organising our own days. Allow 2 days for the Hermitage, and go on a weekend out of season like us, you almost have the place to yourselves. We enjoyed a river tour of the canals and the Neva, but it was very cold, so wrap up if you do a similar trip! The Metro was easy and very cheap, so do use it as part of your experience. We tried speaking easy Russian words, and most people were pleased we attempted it, allowing us to learn a little more. We found the guide useful for eating out, Romeo's and Entrée near the Theatre area, by the canal's were lovely, and the quality of food excellent.
If we returned to the city, we would definitely return to the Ambassador. My Husband thought I might have preferred the Astoria, but on a visit to the hotel, I didn't get the same impression!
It is lovely to look at, but the staff were quite indifferent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ramona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
providence ri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel and I absolutely loved St Petersburg and I hope to return. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. We travelled with our 20 year old daughter. We were expecting a "triple" but actually it was a suite and there were 2 separate rooms, 1 full bath and one half bath and this was perfect. Breakfast in the dining room was a pleasure with a spectacular view. People at the front desk were outstanding. We love to walk and it was easy to walk to many places of interest and good restaurants and shops. You should however know that the pool/fitness center is not free for guests (except for very limited hours in the morning). But all in all, this was a wonderful hotel and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ilovegrandecase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#37 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,314 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#24 of 344 in St. Petersburg
760 reviews
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#5 of 344 in St. Petersburg
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#25 of 344 in St. Petersburg
1,088 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#12 of 344 in St. Petersburg
867 reviews
New Peterhof Hotel
#1 of 8 in Peterhof
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Rimskogo-Korsakova Ave., 5/7, St. Petersburg 190068, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in St. Petersburg
#33 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#34 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#46 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#65 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador Hotel is located in the historic center of St. Petersburg, a 7-minute walk away from Sadovaya (Sennaya Ploschad’) Underground Station. St. Isaac and St. Nicholas Cathedral, the Mariinsky Theatre, and the Yusupov Gardens are all in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and you can visit them while you take a walk.There are 251 comfortable rooms at the hotel, including the rooms of the following categories: Economy, Standard, Superior, Studio, Demi-Suite, Suite, as well as the Rimsky-Korsakov and Presidential Apartments. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, Internet access, a direct international and inter-city telephone line, interactive and satellite TV, a mini-bar and a safe.All rooms are decorated in tranquil pastel shades with comfortable furniture upholstered in elegant fabrics and luxurious curtains. Bath rooms are equipped with big mirrors and somewhere are decorated with mosaic. All the rooms have a beautiful view on the historic city center, cozy courtyard or Rimsky-Korsakov avenue.According modern standards, the hotel has comfortable rooms equipped for physically handicapped guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel St Petersburg
Ambassador St Petersburg
Ambassador Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing