We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food and service!”
Review of Pogreeb

Pogreeb
Ranked #3,270 of 10,510 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: US$7 - US$59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nevskiy
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Terrific food and service!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My family enjoyed a lovely dinner in a non-smoking environment. THe service was very good, unlike many other restaurants in St. Pete's. I ordered the Chef's Recommended special salad with veal and artichokes- yummy! The duck breast was cooked perfectly. Everyone was happy with their food and the warm service. HIghly recommend!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amonole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fabulous meal at a reasonable price, very chic decor, great service”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Coming from a family of chefs, I wanted to try some of the local cuisine, very good and highly valued by the locals. Noting this, I went here at the recommendation of my hotel, Pushka inn..In fact, there were no tourists, and it was definitely Russian food with a flair. The restaurant opened a year ago and has a very chic decor, comfortable, very quiet, without being snooty, and extremely centrally located. Most of the food is inventive international, but I sampled the borscht which is the best I've ever had, and the beef strogonoff--sounds boring, but it was not. Everything was made by a superb chef, from the breads with interesting subtle flavors to the pickle slices that came with my strognoff, infinitely more subtle and delectable than what is served as dill pickles in the US . The hostess was terrific and spoke excellent English. The wine list was also excellent and I had, again, very subtle almost Bordeaux-like Nero d'avila.If I had had more room, I would have tried the desserts and wil try to return another day.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jpib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect placefor lunch”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I have been visiting this place since its opening over a year ago. Although it is an above the average reastaurant in terms of prices, they have made great deals for lunch! For RUB 300 (a bit more than USD 10) you will be served full lunch with a salad, a soup and a main course including a drink. Coffee and desserts are at the discounted rate with lunch (if you still have space in your stomach=). I believe it is also very good for evening dining.
Classy restaurant with good service, cuisine and classic interiors. Non-smoking room available!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ManGoRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Meal”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

After venturing through the slightly daunting doorway we found a gem of a restaurant. Charming waitress who understood our English - menu had an english translation and a beautiful and interesting meal. The chicken with honey and coffee was amazing as were the desserts. Plenty of choice for our vegetarian. the prices were very competitive with other restaurants and of a higher standard than other meals we had in St Petersburg. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pogreeb also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Pogreeb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing