We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pogreeb

Pogreeb
Ranked #2,076 of 10,184 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: US$7 - US$61
Cuisines: European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Nevskiy
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We enjoyed Pogreeb on two occaisions while in St Petersburg. The first time we were with a group of 25 and liked it so much that we returned another night. It is centrally located and easy to find. The Russian and European cuisine is well prepared, delicious and artfully presented. I am a "foodie" and have read recipes so know how Russian food should be prepared. Our veal medalions were perfect with an excellant sauce. I thought that the Russian dishes were a very good representation of the recipe. Desserts are exceptionally inviting. The dining room is warm and sophiticated without being stuffy. Our English speaking wait person gave very good service without pretention. The wine list is pricey by US standards but has a good representation of European wines. I understand they are open for lunch as well as dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank g1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Decent for lunch or dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were actually seeking out another restaurant that we could not find, but were so hungry that we decided to give Pogreeb a try. They had a lunch cafe menu posted outside that looked like sandwiches and salads, light fare. However the menu we were given after being seated inside the dining room was more formal and mine contained no prices, so make sure that you get a menu that does have prices on it. This made me a little concerned, but everything turned out fine.

The cuisine is European dishes with some Russian fare. The menu had English, and our server spoke good English as well. We were there at a late time, but there were several other parties dining...most were Russian and one other group were European tourists. The ambiance of the room made everyone speak in hushed whispers, so that was a bit uncomfortable.

Our food was nicely presented and good, but not fabulous. My salmon in pastry was suplemented with a white fish.

High marks for the nice decor and pleasant service. Average marks for the food. Prices were similar to other restaurants of the same level.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wkmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Could be missed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The restaurant was in a great location, but the food was on the expensive side and not that different from an average European restaurant (limited russian menu). The duck was nice, but the chicken with honey/coffee sauce was not to my liking. IMO, it is a "can be missed" restaurant for visitors to St Petersburg.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ybibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a real find, non-smoking restaurants are rare in St Petersburg. Great service, lovely atmosphere and decor and the food could not have been better. Very well presented and so delicious: worth every penny. Highly recommeded for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Credit Card was refused”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We ad a most enjoyable experience with tis restaurant tonight. Until we got ready to pay the bill. They took and refused 3 credit cards - telling us it said to "call your bank" In the end it was their bank who was unable to process our credit card after their business hours. In the end, we were able o come up with the rubles to pay our bill - but we really scraped those rubles together. Have them run your card first - before you have a dinner for 10,000 rubles.
Nice place but their business manager needs some help.....
Sorry

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dickwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pogreeb also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Pogreeb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing