We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
120
117
26
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
117
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room excellent location palace square short walk rooms are clean internet connection easy walking distance reception desk winter palace visit st metro station tv floor taxi petersburg
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I am very satisfied with this in walking dist. Location of the hotel is in the center of the city with a plenty of historic monuments in a walking distance. I am a guest of two this hotel more than two years at least two times per month. Everything is excellent: friendly staff, location, rooms, breakfast, afternoon tea, internet, cleanliness, .... Bogdan

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bogdan Zupan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Decided to stay at Herzen House after seeing good reviews on tripadvisor and was not disappointed. Staff were very friendly and English speaking, the location could not have been better and the room was pleasant and surprisingly large. I can definitely recommend this small hotel!

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location and so many sights are walkable from it. The staff was exceptionally helpful for all needs, including taxi service, theater tickets, etc.....
24 hour coffee, tea and cookies were great and a water bubbler in the breakfast room was helpful since we could refill our own water bottles. The breakfast was standard European buffet, but they will make eggs to order. Room was very clean and quiet.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four nights at the end of April. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with restaurant tips (which were all very good) as well as all the questions about how to get to various places. The room was very clean and certainly adequate. Breakfast was good and any type of egg could be ordered separately. The location is perfect for all the main sights and if you want to go further afield, there is a metro station within a short distance. We are planning to go back to this hotel again when we visit St. Petersburg.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Munro1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel takes up the fourth floor of a building, so kinda tucked away. It's a great bang for your buck in it's location. A block from St. Isaacs. An easy walk to the Hermitage. We caught the "City Tour: Hop-on-hop-off" bus on the same block and trolley stops where also convenient. Despite being on a busy street, rooms were pretty quiet at night, so happy with that. As other reviewers mention, rooms aren't huge, but we tend to just sleep in rooms when visiting other countries, not "hangout" in them, so it was fine for us. I would recommended for the practical traveller.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews