We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, staff and experience”
Review of Herzen House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Herzen House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and experience”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from beautiful St. Petersburg, spending 7 nights at the Herzen House while there sight seeing. From the airport taxi pick up they arranged for us upon our arrival, to the drop off at 4:30am for our early flight out - our experience with the Herzen House was great. The round the clock staff was extremely accommodating, from helping us with restaurant reservations to acquiring beers for my husband upon request. Even before our trip, the quick, efficient communications via email - answering all our questions, big and small, were so helpful in easing any of our stress in trip planning. The hotel location, as noted by all other reviewers, cannot be beat. And we were so happy overall with the prices - compared to other hotels in the same area. The included breakfasts and round the clock cookies, water, tea and coffee were wonderful touches as well. The room - we had a Comfort sized room - was just the right size. Overall, this hotel was wonderful. Thanks so much for an awesome experience.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JoRo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    104
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
86
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

In general: the location of this hotel was easy to find and very central. It is close to metro station, Hermitage, Nyevsky Prospect and many other major points of interest. Arriving at Herzen House, we were greeted by Irina who locked our luggage in a storage room for safekeeping until our room was ready and gave us introductory tips for a short stroll and lunch. Upon our return, our (superior) room was ready (Despite initially booking a comfort room, having read the tips here at tripadvisor we requested an upgrade for a superior via e-mail. The hotel staff were so nice to offer it to us free of charge). Irina also booked a cab for our return journey to train station and gave us a wake up call about six in the morning.

Room: It was clean, practically designed and contained a pair of robes, slippers and a safe for our valuables. Bathroom was especially good with proper water pressure and heat, which is a treat given the poor infrastructure in St. Petersburg. Beds were comfortable and as a pair of heavy sleepers we weren't disturbed by anything throughout the two nights we stayed there, despite the fact that our window was looking towards the street. TV didn't contain much international channels but we didn't spend much time in the room anyways. The free wi-fi worked properly.

Minus points: A sharp smell of garlic welcomes you into the building. Although it is the unofficial smell of Russian cities in general, it is not particularly nice to experience it at the entrance.There was also an empty minibar in the room which didn't work very well. When we ordered beers from the reception after a very long and tiring day of walking around the city, we have been given a couple of lukewarm bottles from a cabinet in the corridor and minibar didn't do much to cool them even after an hour. Also the building's lift didn't work on the morning of our departure so we had to carry our luggage four floors down. And finally, the hotel offers the guests free tea, coffee, water and biscuits in the breakfast room all day long. It's a nice touch but this service did not seem to be maintained very well. Biscuits were far from being fresh and tasted quite bad. When we wanted to get a couple of glasses of water from the fountain before going to bed, two nights in a row there was no glass.

Final verdict: You can count on the safety, cleanliness, basic services and location of Herzen House but must not expect more than that - which is quite OK in St. Petersburg where hotels are rarely what they claim to be and presumably they are distributed stars in exchange for personal friends one makes in bureaucracy.

Room Tip: we stayed in a superior room (upgraded free of charge) looking at the street, which was spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dialectichulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I come to St.Petersburg mostly every month and always stay at Herzen House. Since I discovered this hotel in 2009 I've fallen in love. City center location,atmosphere,clean rooms, customer oriented staff.

This hotel is perfectly managed by Natalia who is the general manager of the hotel; she is indeed so responsible, smart. efficient,keeps in touch whenever you need and built such a nice team.
In my opinion Herzen House is comparable to the luxury hotels especially because of people. I'll come back soon!

Room Tip: They have discounts in the restaurants; discount cards are available at the Reception/ My favorite r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeRoMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This end of St Petersburg seems to be quite pricey for hotels, but this is a very good alternative to some of the more expensive options.

The hotel is on the 4th floor of the building but don't let that put you off. There is a lift and when you get there you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The 'superior' room I was in was clean and comfortable with free WiFi and was quite spacious.

There is a 'common room' where tea and coffee are available all day and where breakfast is served too. No bar but there is one downstairs right next door.

Good value if you want to stay near the Hermitage, 5 minutes walk to Admirateiskaya metro station and, although hotel facilities were basic, it had all you needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cibo-irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for reasonable price. Good location, just a few minutes from Nevsky prospect.
Normal breakfast with hot dishes.
Hotel is very small and comfortable. I recommend this hotel for short stay during business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Simple but nice hotel, in a perfect location, only 5 min walk to the Hermitage and the main attractions. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast. Very helpful english speaking staff. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellidGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Herzen House Hotel. Staff Very friendly & helpful. They were very quick in getting us our Invitation into the country. We didn't eat breakfast here but it was a very nice touch having tea/coffee & biscuits available all day FOC. Rooms were clean but very small. Though no disturbances at night with street noise which was great. Was ok for our 4 night stay as we didn't spend much time in the room. I would recommend for the location & price but would consider someplace a little more upmarket for my next visit to St Petersburg.
Little tip-We went to Taxi rank in airport for taxi to the Herzen-Cost us 3500RUB, Booked taxi back to airport through Herzen & it only cost is 800RUB. So would be best to book transfer with Herzen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ShellyyGlenside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Casa Leto
Casa Leto
#100 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#66 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#22 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#90 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petr Hotel
Petr Hotel
#49 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herzen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herzen House Hotel

Property: Herzen House Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Morskaya St., 25, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#63 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#70 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Herzen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the very heart of Saint-Petersburg, within 5-minute walk from city's major attractions, such as the The Palace Square, St. Isaac's Cathedral, The Admirality, The State Hermitage Museum. The Hotel provides cosy interiors, convenient position and friendly English-speaking staff who would be delighted to welcome tourists and business travelers to the city of St. Petersburg. All rooms are designed in calm pastel colors, have comfortable furniture, satellite TV, telephone, air-conditioner, shower, hairdryer, complimentary Internet access.Voltage:220V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herzen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herzen Hotel St Petersburg
Herzen St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing