We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small hotel in the center of the city”
Review of Hotel Moyka 5

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Moyka 5
Ranked #114 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect small hotel in the center of the city”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We hardly could fine a better location: hotel was within walking distance from everything.
Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, good security. Our friend recommended this hotel and we were very grateful for his advise.

Room Tip: Get a room with air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
If you come to St.Petersburg again, we shall be delighted to welcome you in one of our hotels.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    80
    25
    19
    4
See reviews for
35
64
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel’s position is great, the wi-fi connection is free of charge, and the rooms are clean. Unfortunately these are barely the only positive things we can say about Moyka 5.
We stayed there for 5 days, and the elevator was out of order all the time. The day we left, it had not yet been fixed. Since our room was at the 6th floor we were quite concerned about it, above all after having spent the whole day walking around the city.
About the room: since we were just under the roof it was hot (but still not as hot as a Russian banja). There was just a small window we could open, that was not enough to get some fresh air (there is no air-con in the rooms). We could not manage to get fresh air but - since there was a huge building side just beside the hotel - we had all the noise and dust we could desire instead.
The last night some people walked on the roofs of the empty buildings beside our room. Yet, since they were not actually walking on the hotel’s property, the receptionist told us that nothing could be done. Of course, the only thing we could do was to close our window.
The bed linen was too small for the mattress and the paper wall in the room felt apart.
The breakfast was below the average; moreover food and plates were not replaced.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggiatrice7576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very important to us.
We are deeply sorry that your stay with us was spoilt by the elevator being broken, construction works outside and heat, which can be quite unbearable in St.Petersburg.
The elevator has been repaired since then and is in perfect order now. As regards construction works, we expect them to have been finished before the end of August. Otherwise there is hardly anything we can do about it, as it is unfortunately beyond our control. At the same time we hope that once construction works have been completed, the courtyard will acquire completely new look and that will be to the advantage of all our guests.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The hotel is in the center of St. Pertersburg, and my room even had the window directly on The Saviour Church.
Service was good, ladies at the reception were nice and speak good english.
Breakfast is OK.
On the other side the elevator was KO (room at the 6th floor!)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martintin-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that the elevator was out of order during your stay with us and apologize for the inconvenience caused. The elevator has been fixed since then and works perfectly now.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This is a small hotel set in a courtyard off a quiet street, adjacent to the historic centre of St Petersburg. The first impressions were not ideal as some of the nearby buildings are being renovated and in the courtyard opposite the hotel is an industrial unit which is totally out of context with the surrounding buildings. (It would be fair to add at this point that Moyka street is the home to many consulates so is certainly not an area to avoid, quite the contrary). The entrance of the hotel is controlled by the reception and on entering it is clear the hotel is maintained to a high level with excellent classical decoration. The reception staff all spoke excellent English, were friendly and very helpful. My allocated room had a double bed but was quite small. It contained a TV (BBC World), writing desk, wardrobe, refrigerator and small bathroom. There was also free wi-fi. Breakfast was a buffet but was quite simple which probably reflected the number of guess being catered for. It was sufficient, but I would have preferred more choice. In summary the first impressions in relation to the industrial unit, were not the best and created negative first views on this hotel, although to be fair it did not affect my stay. In relation to the accommodation/location it must be balanced that this is a city centre hotel. On the positive, the hotel is a nice environment (decor etc) and more important all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, from the room maid, kitchen lady to reception staff. I felt comfortable and safe there and would recommend this hotel as a good base to visit the beautiful and historic city of St Petersburg.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions as well as for kind words about our staff and the atmosphere created in the hotel. We were delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will be looking forward to welcoming you again some day.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Great location and the staff is very friendly. A nice place to stay in an expensive city center. The only complaint is room #11 - your head will be a wall apart from the elevator, so refuse it by all means. It is the only non-standard room remodeled off a staircase hall. Also, shampoo and shower gel are served in tiny plastic bags (those that look like McDonalds's ketchup bags) - impossible to open with wet hands (I had to use my teeth :)) - so get your own shampoo. Otherwise, good place to stay - clean and safe.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coldlatte2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Nevsky Moyka 5 Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our service and found our hotel safe and clean. At the same time we deeply regret that your room was too noisy. Please accept our apologies. We shall look into this and see what we can do to improve the quality of the room.
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in one of our hotels some day soon.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2010

All were quite good but my room was near the elevator so I always heard it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. We were glad to learn that your overall impression of our property was positive and are sorry that your room turned out to be too noisy for you. It is a pity that you did not report it to the front office manager at the reception. We would have offered you an alternative room at once. We hope that you will choose our hotel again when you plan to go to St.Petersburg next time. We shall see to it that your next experience with us will be totally positive.

With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I stayed 15 times in this Hotel (no joke !)
definitely recommend it for many reasons :
- location : best in town, by the moika river, 3 minutes from hermitage and from main nevsky street. Some shops and bars 60
seconds from Hotel ! Location is
also very safe (some embassies on same street)

- staff : kind and very helpful both at reception, security and housekeeping !

- Nice rooms : simple but nice, cable tv available, Nice bathroom, coffee machine, fridge and so on.

- secure : 24 hour security present on site

- accordable : Check on their website there are sometimes great offers (like 70 euro for a Nice double
room with breakfast included !)
on site

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retelski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your patronage and will be looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.

With kind regards,
julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Tim Club Hotel
Tim Club Hotel
#149 of 355 in St. Petersburg
49 reviews
Asteria Hotel
#103 of 355 in St. Petersburg
218 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
#128 of 355 in St. Petersburg
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#63 of 355 in St. Petersburg
102 reviews
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#14 of 355 in St. Petersburg
839 reviews
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#76 of 355 in St. Petersburg
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moyka 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moyka 5

Property: Hotel Moyka 5
Address: Emb. Reki Moiki, 5, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky , Palace Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 355 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moyka 5 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name comes from the address, No 5 Moika Riverfront, and the hotel is right in St. Petersburg's historic cultural centre. Nearby there's the multi-coloured Church of the Resurrection, popularly known as the Church of the Saviour on the Blood. From the hotel it's only a five-minute walk to Palace Square and the Hermitage. The city's main thoroughfare, Nevsky Prospect, with its museums and glittery Parisian-style nightlife is less than ten minutes away. Definitely worth a visit is right on Moika, the Pushkin Museum, which is situated in Alexander Pushkin's last home. The Hotel Moika 5 has 24 rooms in three categories-18 standard rooms, 2 superior rooms and 4 suites with sauna and Jacuzzi. All rooms in the hotel come with television, phone, room safe and WiFi Internet. The four well-designed suite-rooms are split level and have air conditioning. Breakfast is also complimentary in the hotel's ground-floor cafe. Also worth a look is the hotel's own art gallery, constantly replenished with exhibits of work by local artists. Guests can have their choice among any or all of the hotel's many standard services, such as visa support, registration for only 190 roubles and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's a laundry and dry cleaning service, a choice of cars with drivers, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for airplane flights or journeys by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moyka 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing