We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, Clean, Wonderful Staff”
Review of Hotel Moyka 5

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Moyka 5
Ranked #118 of 344 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cosy, Clean, Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We Stayed in Nevsky Moyka 5 in October 2010, for four nights. We had two double rooms and for the price we paid, I just expected something "acceptable" - but it really exceeded our expectations. The hotel was tiny, but wonderful. The staff could not be nicer (esp the front desk, esp Luidmilla and Anastasia). Yes, I know, the entrance might not look that classy, but who cares? All I expect from a hotel (at this price range) is cleanness but Nevsky Moyka 5 has much more to offer. The location is perfect. A couple of minutes walk from Nevsky and Hermitage.
The rooms were a bit small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom is pretty tiny. Our room was located in third floor beside the lift and that was a quite noisy lift - I could hear it sometimes which was not very pleasant in the mornings.
The breakfast room is very small but we never had a problem. Normally all the people do not eat breakfast at the same time and if they do - well, just come back later or share a table. The breakfast choice was decent. I have been in many hotels with more "stars" on shoulder who offered a considerably lower breakfast quality. My problem with the breakfast room was not its size - it was the temperature! The room got so hot in the mornings even in October...
The smoking area downstairs is nice not just for smokers, but also for a family like ours who would like to spend an evening together, having something to eat or drink.
In short, these guys have anything you might need and for sure, I would not rate this hotel a "three star" which might, sometimes, sound like "low level".

All in all, the hotel is a great choice for staying in StP. It won't break your bank, and won't in anyway disappoint you or make you regret for what you have spent. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending your time to publish your review. We are very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our service and facilities. We do value your patronage and thank you for your comments. We look forward to your next visit.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    78
    24
    19
    4
See reviews for
35
64
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

In order to get to this hotel, you have to walk on one of the dirtiest streets in central St. Petersburg, find a dilapidated building, enter through a dark and ugly archway into a a junk yard full of used machinery. Once you get to the hotel, it is fairly nice. The staff is very helpful and the rooms, especially the ones on the higher floors, are clean and friendly. The hotel is within 10 minutes of the Hermitage and other major attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twiceNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing. We are really sorry that Moika Embankment seemed to you one of the dirtiest streets. It is usually considered by many to be one of the nicest places in historic centre of St.Petersburg. At the same time we are happy to learn that your overall impression of our hotel was good. You liked our staff and rooms. Thank you, we really appreciate that.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Very good location. Small and pleasent rooms. Good breakfast, friendly staff. no aircondition.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyHacohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you very much for choosing Nevsky Hotel Moyka5 for your stay in St.Petersburg. It is my pleasure to thank you for the warm feedback on behalf of the entire team. We a appreciate you comments and are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. we shall be looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmondlady
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I've seen far worse hotels describing themselves as 3 star. It was clean and cosy with nice paintings by local artists in the corridors. The breakfast buffet exceeded what is normally provided in a budget hotel. The central location can't be beaten.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmondlady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Hotel Moyka 5, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your recent visit to the Nevsky Hotel Moyka5 and for taking the time to publish your review. We are very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our service and facilities. We value your opinion and thank you for your comments.
We shall be looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2010

It was a best place to stay in such a wintery season! It was my holiday there. With its central location, it's quiet, the room is clean, the foyer and the staircase are wonderful for their nice finish and paintings. I am impressived with the friendly staff, which was very warm and thoughtful, especially Lena P on the New Year's Eve. Highly recomend it!
Charles (Chief Designer of Okhta Centre)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad_cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayner, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

I stayed for one week at the Hotel Moyka 5, It was my first stay in Russia and I speck no Russian at all, the staff from the Hotel was always there to help me or to point me the right direction always with a beautiful smile and in perfect english....I really made me enjoy my stay. The hotel is really well located, walking distance to all the major attractions and close to Nevsky Prospect if you enjoy nightlife...

I would recommend anytime!!!!

Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kinkajouzaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Good hotel in a central position, 10 min walk from the nearest underground station, Nevsky Prospekt and the Hermitage. It is in a quiet yard.
The breakfast was good. The breakfast room is very nice, and you may meet other people and share with them your plans for visiting the city.
Staff is really, really warm: they offer us help whenever we asked them.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miceno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Ermitage Hotel
Ermitage Hotel
#164 of 344 in St. Petersburg
46 reviews
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#80 of 344 in St. Petersburg
305 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
#111 of 344 in St. Petersburg
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
3MostA Boutique Hotel
3MostA Boutique Hotel
#17 of 344 in St. Petersburg
817 reviews
Admiralteisky
Tim Club Hotel
Tim Club Hotel
#142 of 344 in St. Petersburg
47 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#14 of 344 in St. Petersburg
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moyka 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moyka 5

Property: Hotel Moyka 5
Address: Emb. Reki Moiki, 5, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky , Palace Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moyka 5 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name comes from the address, No 5 Moika Riverfront, and the hotel is right in St. Petersburg's historic cultural centre. Nearby there's the multi-coloured Church of the Resurrection, popularly known as the Church of the Saviour on the Blood. From the hotel it's only a five-minute walk to Palace Square and the Hermitage. The city's main thoroughfare, Nevsky Prospect, with its museums and glittery Parisian-style nightlife is less than ten minutes away. Definitely worth a visit is right on Moika, the Pushkin Museum, which is situated in Alexander Pushkin's last home. The Hotel Moika 5 has 24 rooms in three categories-18 standard rooms, 2 superior rooms and 4 suites with sauna and Jacuzzi. All rooms in the hotel come with television, phone, room safe and WiFi Internet. The four well-designed suite-rooms are split level and have air conditioning. Breakfast is also complimentary in the hotel's ground-floor cafe. Also worth a look is the hotel's own art gallery, constantly replenished with exhibits of work by local artists. Guests can have their choice among any or all of the hotel's many standard services, such as visa support, registration for only 190 roubles and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's a laundry and dry cleaning service, a choice of cars with drivers, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for airplane flights or journeys by rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moyka 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing