We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would not stay at this hotel again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katyusha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Katyusha
Ranked #149 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“would not stay at this hotel again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2008

We booked into the hotel in July for five days and were very disappointed after the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. What is described as a hotel is in fact a few rooms on the ground floor of what appears to be a boarding house. The room and especially the bathroom was tiny and there was no airconditioning in the room- only in the corridor. The breakfast was unpalatable and we didn't want to sit in the tiny lobby area where they served it and as we had to sit on the bed (due to lack of room) to eat breakfast decided to forgo it after the first day. Because of the lack of air conditioning we had to leave the window open and woke up almost choking with dust from the road outside and the disco on the boat on the river played loud music every night until about 5am. The receptionist told us on the first day she could arrange a guide for the following two days but after getting back from dinner that night we found out that the guide was not now able to do it and we had to find our own.
I definitely would not recommend this hotel to travellers as the whole experience tarnished our impression of St Petersburg. The only good thing about the so-called hotel is that it is within walking distance of the Winter Palace which is what we had gone to St Petersburg to see.

anne wilson

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank annewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
olgsi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2007

Hotel Katyusha turned out to be a great choice. No, there was no marble lobby, but the rooms were regular size, clean, modern and completely renovated. Also, it was helpful to have access to the kitchenette for fridge, water, tea, etc. The wi-fi was working fine. There was no problem with the outside noise, as other reviews have suggested. The location is truly great, just minutes from the Winter Palace and Nevsky Prospect. So if you are looking for a relatively inexpensive, no frills, but clean and modern place to stay, this hotel should do the job! We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Modern, Clean, Efficient
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank olgsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2007

I stayed there from september 28 to ocotober 03.
I asked in the reception for reconfirm the flight with Aeroflot and she said " is impossible".The recepcionist was very rude.So, at ocotober 2, I had to spend half of my day walking in Saint Petersburg just for find a Aeroflot store and reconfirm flight.
,for something possible to make by phone in two minutes.
The hotel has a great location, close to Hermitage.
It´s very small ,so it´s unavoidable to awake with the first guest.
I know about some complains about a disco close to hotel, and hotel said that "there is no disco near hotel".
Really,there is a disco close, very noisy, but not a regular disco. It´s a boat with a disco inside, but,what matters , very noisy.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Reception service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2007

The Katyusha Hotel was not as good as reviews suggested. The location, cleaniness and security were all very good to excellent. However space, comfort, breakfast and helpfulness (as opposed to friendliness) of reception staff were average to very poor. We booked a superior double room. It was very small despite their glossy brochure describing superior rooms as spacious. The staff said a superior room had new furniture and an lcd tv and that there was little difference in room sizes. I was also assured there was an even smaller room than ours! There appears to be economy of truth as well as size of rooms. The room had no air conditioning and we were hot at night when it was 0 degrees outside in April. The room must get intolerably hot in Summer unless the (ground floor) window is left open - a security and noise issue. There is a nightclub about 100 yards away - it is a converted boat and this may well be a problem if the window needs to be left open. Breakfast was poor. The reception staff were friendly but not effective at giving assistance. Would we recommend this hotel - NO.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — space, comfort
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartFromKirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minikatyusha, Manager at Katyusha, responded to this review, 15 May 2007
This customer was angry as he had booked a cheaper room category and was refused and free upgrade as all the rooms were full at the time.

All rooms have controlable radiators, but this customer was unable to locate the thermostat and did not ask anybody about it. So there was no need to sleep with windows open.

Air conditioning has been installed.

All the rooms are comfortable with new furniture and decor all to 4 star standards.

We pride ourselves in providing top quality accommodation at affordable prices.

There are no mosquitos as all windows have mosquito nets.

Our staff are always friendly and helpfull and go the extra mile to help !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2007

Really amazing location, could not be any better... there was no mosquitoes as there are mosquitoes nets on the windows, I also noticed air conditioner.. there is no disco nearby so have no idea what was a previous message about and there is no building side when I was there ( in the beginning of September). Entrance was not bed too: lovely new oak door leading to the hallway which did not look bed to me at all ( I think it was recently renovated and re-painted). Rooms are clean, modern and cosy, flat screen TV, BBC & Euro news channels are in English, friendly and helpfull people working at the reception. Planning to come again this summer to St Pete and will consider to stay at Katyusha hotel as I found it perfectly suitable for me...If they have rooms available :)

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank bonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

We stayed from August 14 to 19. This is a very interesting place.
The hotel is located in a side street, currently looking like a building site. the air and rooms are full of mosquitoes.

The disco nearby finishes at 3 am and the dust cart arrives at 5:30

The location is excellent, the rooms are tiny, breakfast is fine and the people are great.

All in all some good and some bad points.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — tiny rooms, no a/c
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minikatyusha, Owner at Katyusha, responded to this review, 15 May 2007
"The hotel is located in a side street, currently looking like a building site. the air and rooms are full of mosquitoes."

There are no mosquitos in the rooms as all windows have mosquito nets and other preventative action is taken.

The only reason they had mosquitos was because they opened the window to Smoke, ignoring our NON -Smoking policy in the room.

There are no nightclubs in this area, so this is simply not true.

Nor does the dustcart arrive at 5:30, rather 10:30 and is not located near to our property.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2006

Based at the heart of the Historic Area you probably couldn't ask for a better location to discover St Petersburg. When we first arrived we were a little put off by the entrance as it is obviously a converted flat. However, once inside, the rooms were clean, modern and comfortable, each with its own bathroom and TV.
Being a mini-hotel there was also a small breakfast/kitchen area to share between the rooms. For breakfast you can either have a small cold breakfast at the hotel or pop over the road for a cooked breakfast [not weekends though]
The staff were exremely friendly and helpful
Location is perfect, being a couple of minutes walk from Hermitage and Palace Square and across road from river. Everything you will want to see on a short break is within easy walking distance. St Petersburg is an amazing city and do try and catch the White Nights season.
All in all, a great place to stay if you are on a budget and I will certainly use again if I get to back to the city.
I would also recommend the restaurants Udachny Vystrel and Kalinka Malinka for excellent Russian food.

Helpful?
11 Thank bluepuzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Admiralteisky
Hotel Nauka
Hotel Nauka
#204 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Admiralteisky
Tim Club Hotel
Tim Club Hotel
#153 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Admiralteisky
Solo Admiralteyskaya
Solo Admiralteyskaya
#194 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralteisky
Station Hotel A1
Station Hotel A1
#83 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Admiralteisky
Deluxe Hotel
Deluxe Hotel
#124 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Admiralteisky
Prestige Hotel
Prestige Hotel
#146 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katyusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katyusha

Property: Katyusha
Address: Admiralteyskaya Emb., 6, St. Petersburg 190000, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Admiralteisky
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Katyusha 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Katyusha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mini Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing