We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, nice, centrally located hotel with excellent service”
Review of Pushka Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pushka Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

They are listed as minihotel, but for St Pete standards I would call it medium size. My experience is there are three categories of hotels in St Pete. Minihotels, which are big communal apartments transformed into hotels with 5-8 rooms, occupying same floor of an apartment building. Second type also call themselves minihotels but are stand-alone buildings, 20-30 rooms. Third, 4-5 star big chain hotels. The major difference between the first two is that former apartments do not offer privacy and all services of a 2-3-4 star hotel. Main drawbacks to be aware of: poor sound insulation (it is like staying in different rooms of big apartment), small bathrooms and limited hot water (they have to fit additional bathrooms into space not planned for it and water comes from boilers which are limited in capacity), not always easy to find, entrance shared with inhabitants of the building which depending on the area and hotel price range can be somewhat intimidating. Nevertheless, they are good bargain in terms of price-services offered and very often have a personal touch in decor and service. This time we were travelling in low season and I was looking for a comfortable, quiet, conveniently situated hotel, which would be a standalone building and offer all the services and comfort of a conventional hotel at reasonable price. Pushka Inn turned out to be excellent fit.
The hotel is situated in the center of St.Pete, opposite the Winter Palace (which is part of Hermitage – the second biggest museum in the world). Less than 10 minutes from Nevsky – the main avenue. We walked everywhere, apart from taxi ride to-from Moscow railway station, which took about 20 minutes in traffic. One of central metro stations is about 10 minutes walk. Located on the canal which means there is no heavy traffic in front of the hotel. Part of the windows open on inner yard, which is quiet.
Nice stylish décor with a theme. We stayed in two rooms: a family room on the top 4th floor and a standard room. Both were very functional, clean and well maintained. The family suite includes big bedroom, sitting room with a kitchenette equipped with fridge, dishwasher and utensils and spacious entrance hall. There is a lot of space, perfect for family with kids. Very quiet, as is on top floor, windows open on the yard, there are mansard windows in the ceiling – very nice. Standard room is good size, there is enough space for armchair and small table, and a dressing table with mirror and chair – very convenient. Big wardrobe for clothes with shelves. Safe in the room. Comfortable beds. Free wi-fi in the rooms - sometimes a little bit slow. The only complaint would be that TVs are way too small in all the rooms – to watch it you really need to be in front of it, rather than on the bed or sofa. Bathrooms are decent size as well, with a bath in family room and a shower cabin in standard room. Water comes from central system, so we did not experience any lack of it or other inconvenience.
Service in the hotel was excellent. Very friendly, all of the staff we encountered, everyone spoke good English, attentive to requests, smiling and enthusiastic. We ordered transfers to and from the railway station. The one on our way back was late, and they took quick action to understand where the car was.
For transfers they have two options: one is more expensive and gets included in hotel bill, second one is almost 50% cheaper, and you pay the driver directly.
As mentioned, room maintenance efficient and ontime. They also have room-service listed in the booklet in the room. There is no menu, but I would expect you can order food from their restaurant next door.
Price of the room includes breakfast, served in their restaurant. Breakfast consists of choice of breads, cereals, yoghurt, cheeses, and hot food like sausage, bacon, eggs made to order and traditional Russian blinis. It does not vary a lot from day to day but different choices are more than sufficient not to get bored for a week. Coffee is weak, so if you want a real one order it from espresso machine at additional cost. The service in the restaurant is by far the only complaint we would have about the hotel. It varies from shift to shift. On our first day all the waiters were excellent – we were warmly greeted, a friendly girl explained all the choices, took our orders for eggs and they constantly took care of all the guests. On subsequent days it was the opposite – neither of the three waiters present acknowledged our arrival (which is big drawback if this is your first day and you do not know your way around), we had to chase them to order eggs, used plates were not cleaned from the table, and in general there was not a smile coming from them. Definitely area for improvement.
Definitely recommended for a comfortable calm stay without hustle and overpriced services of a big hotel at the same time with real hotel services in the center of St Pete.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluecrush_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PushkaINNOwner, General Manager at Pushka Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear bluecrush_m, we are appreciated for such detailed review!
In spite of the fact, that the guests usually prefer to leave their comments on travellers’ portals (not in the hotel or on the website of the hotel), all these reports are helpful both for tourists and for our activity. We’ve taken into account all mentioned remarks (as well as TV size), thank you! We hope our future guests after seeing detailed reports will be inspired to share their impressions with other travellers and with us!
Sincerely, Elena Belova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

Near the Hermitage museum and center of St Petersburg. Good price, big room. Breakfast including.I asked for a transfer all was ok. I recommend these hotel for the good price and best location.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egmar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A clean, pleasant hotel, near from important places to visit. Marvellously situated on the canal.

The Front Desk team is very friendly, always ready to help you and can organized for you taxis, guided tours, restaurants.

The restaurant next door is delicious !

The town is beautiful, Russian poeple are kind, the city is safe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A great little hotel in the heart of the main tourist area. Good English spoken in both the reception area and in the attached restaurant where breakfast was served. Good selection for breakfast - pancakes, porridge, eggs, cheese, sausage cereal. Very clean and comfortable. It was quiet outside at night but I think that's because of the temperature outside when I was there! The canal that the hotel overlooks was very much frozen.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is the sort of place that does exactly what it says on the tin. It's basic but clean and comfortable, very well located and extremely friendly (with good English spoken). The breakfast in the restaurant attached to the hotel was very good too.

They were also extremely helpful in providing additional documentation etc. when one of our party ran into problems trying to obtain a Russian visa in New Zealand.

I'd chosen this place from the TripAdvisor reviews and I was not disappointed.

My only slight quibbles were the noisy fridge in the room (which I turned off) and the rather odd placement of light switches (but that seems to be a Russian thing).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is very central and of great value. I stayed for two nights beeing in St Petersburg on business.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Booked on-line and arrived after overnight crossing from Tallinn. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. English spoken. Room was great and hotel central and right up against Hermitage and Nevskiy Prospekt. Very warm (outside temperature -15 to -20 C). Location is pretty and quiet. Attached restaurant is good and well priced and there is a great choice in easy walking distance. Arrived on my birthday and without any prompting the staff placed a bottle of wine and glasses in the room. Very nice touch and much appreciated. We were sorry to leave. Would we stay there again? Absolutely. Many thanks to all the staff and hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor (first for UK travellers) over the street and canal and we slept very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TashanKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Liteyny
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tchaikovskogo
Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg - Tc...
#4 of 361 in St. Petersburg
802 reviews
Kolomna
Alexander House
Alexander House
#1 of 361 in St. Petersburg
572 reviews
Admiralteisky
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace St. Petersburg
Four Seasons Hotel Lion Palace S...
#3 of 361 in St. Petersburg
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
Belmond Grand Hotel Europe
#8 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,658 reviews
Nevskiy
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
#18 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pushka Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pushka Inn Hotel

Address: Reki Moiki Emb., 14, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#12 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £52 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pushka Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With dark wooden floors and high-ceilings, this place retains its old riverside atmosphere. Although it's completely renovated, it has an original stone staircase from 1810 and antique lanterns on the walls. You're in the center of the city on ancient Moyka river, one of the most scenic parts of the city.24-hours service, security, parking area, Wi-Fi Internet free of charge, air-conditioning system, safe cells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pushka Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pushka Hotel St Petersburg
Pushka St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing