We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Ranked #78 of 364 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Rachmaninov. Hotel is nice except if you get a room on the street side. There is a club that has music that rattles the walls. This goes on until 2am or later. We were waken up on at least 2 nights.

On the positive side the staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street unless you like noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel's location is great. Right next to Kazan Cathedral and Nevsky Prospekt so can walk everywhere in the centre easily. 15mins to Hermitage, 25mins to Mariinsky and also near metro and lots of nice places to eat and drink.

The hotel has a stylish and quirky feel and one afternoon we took tea in the main room which was really lovely. The two business rooms we booked were fine considering the price but we did have a very leaky shower in one and sheets that didn't fit the bed in both. The twin room had air conditioning which was good as it was very hot!

The service and breakfast is quite disappointing though. Staff were generally unfriendly, a restaurant booking we'd planned in advance was not made correctly and we were given no towels one day and told to wait til the morning. Breakfast spread was well replenished but there was a limited choice and the same old fruit every morning was off putting.

A good value, central place to stay but not very welcoming.

Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights - the first night was in an economy double room - it is TINY!! Though it had the best fan I have ever seen, which was needed, as it was very hot. The staff were very kind and managed to move us, at no extra cost, to a bigger room, with air con, which was much appreciated.
The decor is very very quirky, there is something to look at everywhere you turn, and art on the walls and doors.
Many comments have been made about the stairs - bear it in mind if carrying a lot of luggage.
The breakfast was plentiful, but no variation over the 3 mornings we ate there.
The best thing was the central location, 3 minutes to Nevsky Prospekt and another 4 or 5 to the metro.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was so happy with my experience at this B&B. The location was perfect, I could see the Sunday procession out of Kazan Cathedral from the breakfast room balcony. There is no elevator, but the stairs are shallow and easy to climb. After a much less satisfactory stay in a hotel/hostel in Madeira, Portugal I was very nervous about an unfamiliar privately owned hotel, but the Rachmaninov exceeded my expectations. The staff, especially Sonya and Alexandra were SO helpful in all stages of my trip and all the staff were kind and helpful. The ladies spoke excellent English, and quickly handled my visa invitation and deposits, answered every email promptly and fully, arranged for my transport from the airport, and Sonya even threw in travel tips and one huge unexpected benefit/comp after one day I was hotel-bound due to a sprained ankle that she made my trip more enjoyable despite the loss of one day. Very comfortable bed, quiet sleep, perfect size room for me. Great water pressure/shower spray and hot/cold - although the shower stall in my room was inches too small and next time I will definitely ask for a larger stall/tub room. The art was lovely, as were the antiques, and breakfast was plentiful and with a wide enough variety to make any reasonable person happy. I cannot recommend the Rachmaninov enough for singles or couples. I personally wouldn't want kids around, as quiet is preferred in this more intimate setting and there are larger hotels for families. I'll try to add more later if I missed anything.

Room Tip: I'm 5'6 and a curvaceous woman. Ask for larger shower or tub room unless you're petite/s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel is fantastically well located and while shabby and far from glamorous, its really nice and clean and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast is good - but not fantastic - and in most other respects its charming and comfortable. As with most places in St Petersburg, great wi-fi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dugan2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at this hotel. We found it very comfortable, charming, clean and in a great location. Our room had air conditioning and was quiet. The breakfast was nice and the breakfast room was bright, sunny and full of charm. It even had a grand piano in it. The staff was very helpful, pleasant and professional. They booked a tour and helped us with taking the bus. The stairs may be an issue for some but you must remember that this is an historic hotel and having stairs is common. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I went for a week in st. Petersburg. heard about the hotel, sounded like an interesting place especially because of its connection to Rachmaninoff. the rooms are OK, not big but not too small. there is everything you would expect from a room.
the only flaws are that there is no lift (its all stairways and its located in the second floor of the building) and that thee are no air conditioning (it was really hot in the room, during my visit, it was around 30 degrees Celsius outside). Other than that the hotel was good. It is designed very nicely and there is a gallery in the corridors. The breakfast is minimal , yet everybody will find something to eat there. and it is located in a walking distance from all the main things in the city.
Its is a little too price comparing to the value you get, yet every hotel in this city is very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#23 of 364 in St. Petersburg
776 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#17 of 364 in St. Petersburg
567 reviews
Nevskiy
Hotel Grifon
Hotel Grifon
#116 of 364 in St. Petersburg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#15 of 364 in St. Petersburg
504 reviews
Nevskiy
Club Hotel Agni
Club Hotel Agni
#95 of 364 in St. Petersburg
224 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#21 of 364 in St. Petersburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachmaninov Art-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachmaninov Art-Hotel

Address: Kazanskaya St., 5, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £28 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rachmaninov Art-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A conceptual boutique-hotel "Rachmaninov" is situated in the very center of St. Petersburg near Nevsky Prospect and Kazansky Cathedral. It combines the museum area with a homely coziness, sophisticated atmosphere of the Silver Age with bohemian chic of nowadays. The owners of the hotel possess a unique collection of antiques. They also constantly replenish the hotel art collection with contemporary paintings and photography. In years of its existence “Rachmaninov” became a very popular hotel (apartments). Among the guests you can see celebrities, people of culture, consulate representatives, politicians and businessmen who are interested in art. On a fifth anniversary of the hotel famous St. Petersburg artists painted the doors of the rooms in the hotel with their fantasies based on the music of the famous Russian composer. The hotel, situated in the former commercial house, carefully looks after the room where Rachmaninov spent some time of his youth. The layout of the hotel looks like an art gallery and this is not accidentally – here the exhibitions of different artists regularly take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rachmaninov Art-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachmaninov Hotel St Petersburg
Rachmaninov St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing