We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asteria Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cameo(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kravt Hotel(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nomera na Sadovoi(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Statskiy Sovetnik(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Golden Age(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Hotel Beletazh(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
73
85
54
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
85
54
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfontanka rivernevsky prospektbusy roadgreat locationhotel is locatedfaberge museumenglish speakingthe hotel is cleanrestaurant staffporridgehot waterrecommend this hotelwalking distancepetersburgcitycloset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I reckon the location is not as good as the other posts seem to say. I would even say the hotel is far from every interesting place : 20 mn walk to Nevsky Prospect, 35 mn to the Ermitage, 20 mn to Saint Nicholas Naval Cathedral, 30 mn to the Church of the Savior on Blood... The nearest metro station is 15 mn walk away (Sennaya station).
Moreover, the hotel is on a noisy street in front the Fontanka river : I've been bitten dozen of times by mosquitoes (the thing the reception gives us to get ride of them didn't work at all) and awaken several times in the middle of the night due to traffic (even with ear-plugs !).

Reception understands simple English but the restaurant's staff only knows a few words.

Rooms are not very big but rather clean and the air conditioner is very efficient.

Last, the breakfast is well-furnished indeed, but I found it not really good compared with other hotels I've been to...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Remington_3555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASTERIA06, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Asteria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback and comments about hotel "Asteria". We appreciate, that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in St Petersburg.

According to the hotel policy it is forbidden to smoke in the rooms and corridors. But, in rare cases, it doesn't stop some guests. From our side we look after following this rule and use ioners.

We appologise, that you have negative experince with pillows and matress. Hotel "Asteria" was opened in 2006 and we continue to rennovate and develop our rooms. We have changed matress and pillows in the end of 2013 to make stay of our guests more comfortable.

We are sorry, that you experienced some inconveniences with Wi-Fi. It is a technical part and as in all internet chains, sometimes signal is lost. As soon as we detect it, our support team fix it.

Thank you for your feedback about restaurant. We offer buffet breakfast with variety of food, included in room rate. We appreciate for your advice about toaster, as our restaurant team always looks for the ways to improve their service.

Prices for accommodation in St Petersburg in June are the highest throughout a year. All hotels are booked in advance and set high price for rooms, that left. Hotel "Asteria" is not exception and we are glad to offer lower price in any other period of the year.

We thank you one more time for your stay with us and hope, that we will have a chance to welcome you again and improve your opinion about hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed in the Asteria for 4 nights as most other hotels in closer proximity to Nevsky were booked out due to big conference in town.
I can't say much about the hotel that is positive at all. The hotel is 1km from Nevsky Prospekt, and there isn't much on the south side of the Prospekt at all.
The rooms are terribly out dated with the worst mattress you could imagine, it honestly would not have been changed in 20 years. The pillows were so bad I had to use my inflatable neck support I use on planes as my main pillow with no spares.
The "nonsmoking" floor stunk of smoke, and so did I after having to sit in the hall way to pick up any signal of the free wifi!! In the end I gave up on that as it was slow and a waste of time.
Breakfast in the dining area was no better, they regularly ran out of supplies, no toaster, ran out of glasses for water (had to drink out of a cereal bowl!!'). People smoking at the breakfast table wasn't great either.

The staff were friendly and the hotel is incredibly over staffed, with 4 staff regularly behind the counter not doing much.

Fr the price we paid (and I think they inflated their prices because of the conference in town), we expected much better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My grandson and I shared a room and the pricing was in character with the accommodations.
The food varieties were commendable It was a very hot sticky time of year and we opened the windows for a breeze (no air conditioning at our level). A big no-no as the mosquitos invaded during the night. We didn't know about the plug in mosquito repellant until later. Our windows faced the courtyard. This was July/August 2010.
The registration was orderly and friendly with English speaking hosts. We had friends staying at the youth Hostel at the University which made it convenient to meet..
We would use the Astria again in St. Petersburg.
One mistake, our cab driver dropped us at the Astoria and by the time we had noted the problem we had to hire another cab and reload baggage for our true destination.

Room Tip: Use an air conditioned room for hot weather. Ask for an air conditioned room in the hot summer weather.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burmaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Very Good service - The reception staff are always friendly and accommodating, they all converse in English very well and they are always willing to assist with additional information and requests. The hotel is clean and accommodating and the rooms are comfortable and modern, they are bright and airy, with great views over the Fontanka River. (Specify that you want a room overlooking the River as the other side of the passage overlooks the courtyard which is not a great view and can do with a bit of cleaning up and upgrading)The Hotel is in a great Location and most amenities are within easy walking distance from the hotel, a great place to be based to explore St Petersburg. Breakfast is good however the selection and manner in which eggs are served needs rethinking.

The Bar and Restaurant staff could take a lesson from Reception - They are not as friendly (this is not all the restaurant and bar staff but the majority of them) as the other staff in the hotel spek very broken english and they tend to always be hidden behind the Bar where they are out of sight of general view. They sit on Crates on the floor and very seldom appear above the bar - when you need something you have to go looking for them behind the bar. Breakfast was ok but can be improved however is substantial. The Menu in the restaurant could use more variation and the food does(Falls devistatingly short) not taste as good as it sounds on the menu descriptions. However there are some Great Restaurant nearby that deserve a mention a Traditional Russian Restaurant serving Russian Cuisine, A traditional German Restaurant Jager Haus Kneipe and Ollies Pizza and Pasta about 1km walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Fontanka River - The rooms overlooking the Courtyard at the back have a sad view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Asteria in St. Petersburg. The best feature about this hotel is the location on the Fontanka Embankment. It is only about a 30 minute walk to the Winter Palace. Nevesky Prospect is only about 10 minutes from the hotel. The desk clerks all speak English but most of the restaurant staff spoke limited English. Our room was small and inconveniently laid out. We had twin beds and each bed covered one of the 3 electrical outlets in the room. You could not sit at the desk and open the closet and there was no electrical outlet at the desk. There was also no in-room tea/coffee service. The room was clean and there was daily maid service but the shower in the bathroom was tiny and very difficult to use for a tall person like me. There was only 1 tiny trash can for the room also. They serve a nice buffet breakfast in the restaurant each morning but 2 of the 5 nights we were there the restaurant was closed for private parties. This was very inconvenient as you had to leave the hotel for dinner after a long day of sightseeing. We did find an excellent French restaurant on the corner near the hotel where we ate 3 times. The restaurant is called кухня which means kitchen in Russian. Excellent food and excellent service.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the restaurant on the second floor. They often close the restaurant for private parties and there was loud music playing during the private parties.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews