We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota
Ranked #59 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

It is not in the city center so you have to take the Metro to reach the tourist places but it is not far only 2 or 3 stops and the Metro is next to the hotel , the hotel is big and very nice with good value for money better than paying extra in the city center

Room Tip: I think most of rooms are good because you can not open the window so no problem if you are on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulwahab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    499
    196
    50
    21
See reviews for
130
202
77
540
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed on a business trip for a few nights and overall the hotel is a bustling cosmopolitan place. The location is ideally placed for road and metro access. Its 4 stops on a single line to the centre of town with its shops and restaurants. Cannot be faulted on this at all.

This is a big hotel and the common areas are large and open with wide corridors throughout and plenty of light. Its certainly not oppresive despite its size.

It has bars and restaurants scattered around so if you don't want to explore the city its fine to lounge around and find a hidden corner.

The wifi signal is strong on the 1st and 2nd floor only, outside of these floors you do need to pay for access, this baffles me but it does force you to the areas where you may be tempted to buy refreshments rather than stay in your rooms......

Concierge is excellent, they will book transit to other areas for you as well as the airport with charges being billed and to be fair the prices are better than you could negotiate yourself and you know they are safe.

Only down side is the breakfast. It can be crowded and if travelling alone you may find you get up to get a fresh drink and come back to find sonmeone in your seat. Leave it empty at your peril, its a free for all!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azardamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My room was very big and we saw the Narva Triumphal Arch from the window. It was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyepineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was pleasant. Nice restaurant with reasonably priced menu. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvgeniaDanilikhina, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear Mr PJD52,

We would like to thank you for choosing and staying in our hotel.
We are very appreciated that you have found time to leave your comments. It is very important for us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Holiday Inn St.Petersburg Moskovskye Vorota.
Hope to see you again in our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Enjoyed my stay here very much. Easy access to the Metro, a supermarket, and several Russian fast food options near the Metro entrance. All that, and free Wi-Fi in the public areas made it an ideal hotel for me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvgeniaDanilikhina, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear KenCT,

We would like to thank you for choosing and staying in our hotel.
We are very appreciated that you have found time to left your comments. It is very important for us.
We are glad that you enjoyed time in Holiday Inn St.Petersburg Moskovskye Vorota.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling Aussie
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

They say first impressions are everything, right....

Two of us arrived to the hotel at 8am after an all night train trip from Moscow and obviously we were very keen to get a room as early as possible. When we arrived, the guy behind the couter basically barked at us to go away and come back at 12noon. He didn't keen look at the computer to see if rooms were available. We left came back at 11am, asked again, this time a different person, but this time with a smile we were told again to come back in an hour, again through, no computer reviewed. I came back at 12noon on the dot and was told my room wasn't ready. I was obviously furious and they ended up upgrading me so my room was ready.

The rooms were very spacious and the bed and pillows were awesome! The location was good (2-3 stops on the metro from the centre of St.Petersburg), but next time I'd try to stay in the city centre.

The room service food and the breakfast was horrible. I had room service food twice and both times it was soggy and tasted average. Neither meal I finished, but there are limted eating options around the hotel.

Overall a negative experience.

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BensAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvgeniaDanilikhina, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Dear Mr BensAdventures,
We would like to thank you for staying in our hotel.
Also we are very appreciated that you have found time to left your comments and wishes. It is very important for us and we will take into consideration all remarks made by you.
Regarding to your comment about non received room in time we would like to explain the following situation: in our hotel guaranteed check-in for guests in 2 pm. But if guests come earlier and we have available rooms and the hotel not a 100% load, we can offer a room immediately. Regarding to situation with our reception staff, we’re sincerely apologize that they didn’t check available rooms, but unfortunately this could be due to the fact that staff already knew about full load hotel.
You also mentioned not good room service and breakfast in hotel. We have taken note of your meal comments and if it possible could you clarify what exact kind of meal wasn’t good? It’ll help us more quickly understand this situation and make any actions in future.
We kindly ask you to accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had to face with during your stay in Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskye Vorota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My family and I went to St.Petersburg, Russia on our vacation, and we stayed at the hotel on Moskovsky Prospekt from July 17 – 20, 2011. On the morning of the 20th, which was our check-out day, we were told to put our luggage in front of our room as a hotel porter would come by to pick it up and take it to our coach. So we did, but only to find out after breakfast that one of the bags was gone before the porter could get to them. Someone in our tour group had informed us that he saw a bag in front of some room cracked open along the zipper and things strewn about on the floor. And, upon seeing the name tag, he recognized that it was mine. So, as I was walking along the corridor in search of the bag, I found it in another hallway in the condition mentioned earlier. I looked through my pile of stuff, and that was when I found out that the souvenirs bought from Moscow at the price of US$ 165 were gone.

When we alerted the hotel, we did not receive any appropriate response. The hotel manager was more than impolite to us, stating immediately that the hotel is only responsible for their members of the staff and this was definitely not their doing, hence they were not going to take any responsibility. Worse, she asserted that I should not have put luxury items in my traveling bag but should have carried it around with me. Also, when I asked if there was footage from the CCTV, she said there was none in operation around the scene of the crime. So, I requested to call the police, but she told me that it would take hours for them to come because this was not so serious a case. Finally, I insisted upon filing a police report, so they took us to the police station to do so.

They could have handled the situation much much better, but didn't. What a terrible experience!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank princesswow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SashaPeselev, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Ms Princesswow,
We would like to thank you for staying in our hotel.
Also we are very appreciated that you have found time to left your comments and wishes. We kindly ask you to accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had to face with during your stay in Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskye Vorota. It is very important for us and we will take into consideration all remarks made by you. We really would like to make our service better and your comments can be very helpful.
Regarding for situation with your luggage we want to mention that you didn’t follow the rules of hotel and left your luggage outside of the room. The luggage was out of sight of security cameras. In this case hotel can’t be responsible for what happened. It isn’t allowed to leave luggage unattended all over the world. Tour operator’s company work with our hotel for a long time and this situation has occurred for the first time and we were very upset to know about it. There are more than one thousand guests live in our hotel every day, so we can’t assume responsibility for such situation. We did everything possible to solve this problem. As your touristic group hurried up, staff took you by personal car to police and after picked up to the excursion. Police explained that in this situation is impossible to determine who and when took those things. We want to tell you that we did everything possible for your situation. Thank you for understanding.

We are sincerely sorry for these embarrassing circumstances which marred your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg
#18 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#28 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Ibis St. Petersburg Centre Hotel
#63 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilie...
#44 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Kolomna
Red Stars Hotel
Red Stars Hotel
#66 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#141 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota

Property: Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota
Address: Moskovskiy Ave., 97A, St. Petersburg 196084, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#42 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn St. Petersburg-Moskovskye Vorota in Russia is a brand new hotel and conference centre perfectly situated in the central part of the city, on Moskovsky Prospect connecting the city centre with Pulkovo airport. With the Moskovskye Vorota metro station across the road, the hotel is only 4 stops from all major attractions: the Hermitage, St Isaac s Cathedral, Church on the Spilled Blood, the Russian Museum, the Peter & Paul Fortress and the Mariinsky theatre. The hotel is approx. 20 min. by taxi from the Pulkovo Airport and also 20 min. by metro from the Moskovsky Railway Station. Downtown businesses are minutes by car while others are just within a short drive! The Holiday Inn St. Petersburg-Moskovskye Vorota hotel has 557 spacious Standard, Executive, Deluxe rooms and Suites. All rooms come with great beds, an in-room safe and high-speed internet access. The Congress Hall holds capacity for up to 1000 people. It includes 13 meeting rooms and a special banquet Restaurant; ideal for any type of event! On-site restaurants include: Steak House Korova, Chernikov Fusion and the Rodchenko Bar in the lobby. The Holiday Inn St. Petersburg-Moskovskye Vorota hotel offers Business Centre services and an on-site Health & Leisure. In case you come by car, the hotel provides a large parking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskiye Vorota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Petersburg Moskovskye Vorota Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing