We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great but well located”
Review of Nevsky Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Ranked #75 of 359 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 26 July 2013

the greateat asset of this hotel is its localization. its you can go to most st petersburg high points by foot. some of the staff is polite bute there are some who are strict with the costumers but lax when they are called to their responsabilites. the price difference with the astoria doesn't compensate.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joaofrutuoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and posting a review. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate your time and effort spent to write the review. We wish you all the best and will be looking forward to seeing you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

There's nothing really exceptional about this hotel save for its location since it is just a few meters away from Nevsky Propekt and a few minutes' walk to the Church of the Savior on the Spilled Blood.

The reception, located at the second floor, has its charm but does not have a welcoming ambience. It is rather small and its lounge chairs are worn out.

Our twin room was just basic with a small bathroom, with minimal toiletries. The airconditioning unit functioned loudly. The beds are not that okay to sleep in and the pillows are just okay. We requested an extra bed since we were three in a room and I ended up sleeping in somewhat a hammock since the bed plunged in the center and my back ached because of that. The TV only has Russian channels and it was hard to switch channels since the TV is bolted on the wall.

Breakfast was served at the second floor. The food was continental. The restaurant could get crowded during breakfast hours and there might be a possibility that one has to wait for minutes before finding a table. The restaurant staff were not that friendly nor accommodating. One tall male restaurant staff even seemed arrogant and pissed at guests who request for something.

Nonetheless, I found the reception staff more helpful and approachable than the restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Guests,
We appreciate your choosing our hotel and posting a review. You were right to note that ours is a simple property with superb location. Your comments are very important to us and we thank you for drawing our attention to the restaurant staff. Your comments have been forwarded to the restaurant manager in order to take all the necessary measures to remedy the situation. We wish you all the best and will be looking forward to seeing you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is in a great location just off Nevsky Prospect. But beware. We booked a standard double room. It was the size of a single with a double bed pushed in up against the wall. Doors open outwards here, there's not enough space in the room to open inwards. Standard of furnishings and décor was poor. We complained and got a twin room as a replacement. It was slightly larger but the décor was just as bad. The air conditioning worked but was very noisy. Breakfast was adequate but not imaginative. From what we heard on the way home escorted tours book hotels further out of the centre. You need a city centre hotel to get to the sights just not this one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhateverAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate your time and effort spent to post your review. We wish you all the best and shall be looking forward to seeing you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel last June. The room is small but complete as well as the bathroom. The hotel is really well located, very close to a main avenue Nevsky Prospect and close to fantástica monuments as well as close to a nice mal. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panetone_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing. We wish you all the best and shall be looking forward to seeing you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. Location is great if you're looking for tourist attractions, there's a 24hr supermarket nearby, lots of ATMs and shops and so on. My room was very small - if you're used to American motels think half the size - but enough for me, air-conditioning worked (which is rare in Russia), WiFi was unstable but OK for general work. Everything was clean. I heard that tap water is not recommended in Russia, I don't know if it's true - but the hotel provides free drinking water at every floor.
The street name translates as "big stables", 300 years ago this is where the king's horses were kept and the building is probably just as old. The floorboards are squeaky and walls are thin; I don't suppose this place is suitable for noisy people. Definitely not appropriate for the disabled.
The receptionists are friendly and speak English, if you don't speak Russian you'll need their help as nobody in the city understands anything but Russian. Breakfast was good and filling, during rush hour there's a sign outside the dining room asking people to wait a few minutes as there are no free tables.
Overall it's a good place, and the price is right by Russian standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with new A/C, one that has a digital thermostat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uilleann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Your opinion and detailed comments are very important to us. As you rightly noted the name of the street where Nevsky Grand hotel is situated comes from the Russian word Koniushnya, which means "stables". The street appeared in the 18th century to connect Nevsky Prospect to the future Koniushennaya Square - nearby place where Imperial Stables were located on the bank of the Moika river. The building now occupied by the Nevsky Grand Hotel dates back to the 19th century. It was reconstructed at the beginning of the 20th century and acquired its present day appearance. We are very proud to have been able to arrange our hotel in the historic building in the very heart of St.Petersburg and hope our guests can appreciate it and feel the magic of the place as we do.
We thank you once again for your feedback, we wish you all the best and shall be looking forward to seeing you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed at the Grand Nevsky for 3 days in June 2013. Great location..for sightseeing, the Hermitage,theatres etc.
The rooms were small but clean. But could hear the hammering somewhere. Internet only on the 7th floor, but available right thru. Funnily the ramp to pull your suitcase up along the first flight of steps was on the left.

The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful, pity I cant say the same about the dining room staff during breakfast. I had heard from travellers that Indians were 'not liked' in Russia. The dining room staff made no bones about it. i would stand and wait for a table to be cleared, and watch while they cleared all other tables (with no one waiting), the odd gesture or jibe..then the laughter behind the swing doors. Breakfast was definately not a nice experience. the buffet breakfast was rather disappointing.(first time Im seeing caked 'scrambled eggs' being cut like squares of fudge).

Pity. Because the location is fabulous! Otherwise felt safe even though i was travelling alone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jyoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing. Please accept our apologies for the discomfort you have experienced at breakfast. Let us assure you that Russians are not prejudiced againts any other people. Your review has been forwarded to the manager of the restaurant with the note that immediate measures should be taken, as we do not want any other guests to have the same impression as you did. We thank you for your kind words about our front desk staff. As regards internet, we would like to mention that we have computers with free internet access both on the 6th and 7th floors, and we have free wi-fi in all the guest rooms and public areas. We thank you once again for your comments that are very important to us, wish you all the best and shall be happy to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have no regrets about our two-night stay at the Nevsky Hotel Grand. It is very close to Nevsky Prospekt and therefore puts you close to all the action. On the plus side, it's English-speaking front desk staff are pleasant and helpful, while the free breakfast is plentiful, hot, and served in pleasant dining rooms. We had air-conditioning in our room and once we had figured out the rather dated system, found that it still did an admirable job.

Several reviewers have commented on the small rooms, and ours was no exception, with merely a few feet available to negotiate around the edges of the comfortable double bed. However, there was additional space near the door and the renovated bathroom was welcome. My brother and his partner had a more spacious room on the opposite side of the hall, facing the street, which was more in line with North American standards in terms of size. When we checked out, the lady on the front desk gave us excellent directions to the local rail station. The hard working front desk staff are a credit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmycomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very important to us and we thank you for the words of appreciation of the service our front desk staff provide. We shall certainly share your comments with the team. We wish you all the best and shall be looking forward to seeing you among our guests again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
#142 of 359 in St. Petersburg
316 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#55 of 359 in St. Petersburg
488 reviews
ReMarka Hotel on Stolyarny
#109 of 359 in St. Petersburg
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#20 of 359 in St. Petersburg
590 reviews
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#23 of 359 in St. Petersburg
741 reviews
Hotel Nouvelle Europe
#148 of 359 in St. Petersburg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevsky Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevsky Hotel Grand

Address: Bolshaya Konyushennaya St., 10, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £22 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevsky Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This business-class hotel is just a minute's walk from Nevsky Prospect and within minutes of Palace Square, the Hermitage, the Field of Mars and the inspiring Church of the Resurrection on Griboedov Canal. The Nevsky Hotel Grand occupies seven storeys and has a lift that accommodates thirteen. The regular rooms offer a choice of double bed or twin beds. Every room has an individual bathroom with a choice of shower or bath. Also standard is air conditioning, WiFi Internet, phone, television, hair-dryer and room safe. The hotel's five spacious suites come with a queen-size bed, sauna and Jacuzzi. The hotel restaurant, called Cafe Grand, is open from 7 o'clock in the morning till 11 o'clock at night. Meals are professionally prepared and served. We encourage guests to make use of the numerous services the hotel offers, such as visa support, registration for only 200 roubles and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's laundry and dry cleaning service, a full selection of cars with drivers, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for plane flights or railway travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Nevsky Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Grand St Petersburg
Hotel Nevsky Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing