We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nevsky Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Ranked #71 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent a week at the Nevsky Grand Hotel. It's not the most luxurious hotel but you can't beat the location. Kazan Cathedral is around the corner one way and Church of the Spilled Blood is around the corner the other way. Everything is within close walking distance.
As for the hotel, we had a superior standard room on the 7th floor. Pictures showed a table fan, but there was no fan. I asked for a fan and was told it's in the bathroom. :-( Fortunately temperatures were cool so it wasn't unbearable in our room. I would definitely recommend you get a room with A/C otherwise. Ask for a room facing the courtyard if you'd like a quieter room. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Towels could be upgraded and mattresses are thin but the rooms are clean. I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nevsky Grand and spending your time to review your stay. Your comments are very important to us and we apologize for a misunderstanding concerning a fan. Fans and electric heaters are available upon request at the reception. We are happy that you found breakfast excellent and appreciated advantages of our central location. We wish you all the best and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    336
    188
    45
    28
See reviews for
123
289
96
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the NevskyHotel Grand as recommended by our travel agent & it seemed rather centrally located in the map - close to Nevsky Prospekt, the Hermitage Palace Square & the Church of Our Saviour in the Spilled Blood. This is one of seven Hotel sof the Nevsky HotelsGroup, so you should research the others too before choosing one.

The entrance leads up a steep flight of steps to the Elevator landing, no help for getting our heavy bags from the street to the Elevator level, which can be quite a struggle if you are not traveling light. The only Restaurant is also on this mezzanine floor landing. There is only one elevator in the Hotel, & while it could accommodate a dozen people, it was quite frustrating all the time to wait for it to arrive.

The Reception was on the 3rd floor & our rooms were not ready when we checked in (in spite of an our advance request for an early check-in !) so we had to leave our bags there & wander out in the street for a couple of hours till they were made ready. The staff were efficient & spoke good English, but unsmiling as seems to be the general case in Russia !

But 'grand' this Hotel certainly isn't ! Situated in a 7-floor old building on Bolshaya K street, it has over 100 rooms & a few suites, but most of the rooms are very small, indeed ! Our room on the 7th floor was really a small attic, with sloping roof & a slanted window which opened only partially, with a double bed, a bare mini-bar, wall-cupboard, wall-mini TV & a cubbyhole of a toilet all crammed into it ! Worse, there was no AC as advertised, & in the very hot days of the third week of May, we were really burning ! Our friends moved to the 3rd floor but their new room was no bigger, only they managed to get a pedestal fan after complaining about the lack of AC !

There was a phone & WiFi internet with password from the Front Desk, but no Coffee/Tea service or water in the room - you could fill your own bottle from the water dispenser in the corridor. The room was clean enough & the linen & towels fresh.

The breakfast buffet was served in the restaurant, the seating spread over two rooms but often inadaquate for the number of guests queueing up in the morning. The food spread was adequate with hot & cold choices, eggs & fruit included.

Location is an important criterion when you choose a Hotel as a tourist, but you do expect some space & comforts in a 3-star property ! Explore other Hotels if you are spending more than a night.

Room Tip: Pl ensure minimum room size & AC while checking-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLP-KUMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review. Your comments are very important to us and we thank you for the time spent to leave such detailed comments. We appreciate your noting our main advantage - location, as well as cleanliness, efficience of the personnel and adequate breakfast. Our rooms are unfortunately quite small, but this is something we cannot do anything about, considering the fact that the building we are located in is a historic building protected by the state. Still, we hope that our central location gave you wonderful opportunities to explore St.Petersburg, feel and understand atmosphere of our beautiful city. We wish you all the best and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celt in England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The location is great but the hotel is tired & in need of some refurbishment. It was clean and breakfast was nice, staff were pleasant & it wasn't noisy despite the central location. But the rooms are cramped, drab and sparse and the bathrooms were so small I sat on the loo with my feet in the shower.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nell10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nevsky Grand and for sharing. Your comments are very important to us as they help us to improve our services and facilities. We appreciate your noticing that our property is clean and personnel - friendly and helpful. Our next renovation is scheduled for the coming winter and we hope that next time you stay with us our hotel will look different.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Nevinsky Grand Hotel (NGH) has the following good and bad points:

Good

Well located for exploring the City's many sights on foot and 200m from Nevinsky Prospect.
The water is plentiful and hot.
We were given an early check in by the helpful if slightly surly front desk.
Err, that's it.


Bad

Our rather too "Soviet" twin room was so small that we couldn't open our cases.
Twin beds were very very narrow.
Room faced the road and was very noisy.
The bath was more of a shower tray with high shoulders, knees round the ears job!
Towels were bald and torn, nothing fluffy in sight.
Toiletries were de minimis - little tear to open sachets like one got in a Logis de France 20 years ago.
The hotel occupies one half of an office and residential block with all manner of literally smelly folk coming and going.
Breakfasts were poor. Congealed scrambled egg, poor quality Frankfurter like sausages, erzatz coffee, yesterday's uneaten cafe cakes, chipped and dirty crockery - need I go on?
We didn't chose the hotel ourselves, our travel agents did, We were warned that it was 3 star and judging by the very vocal objections of the French tour guests staying whilst we were there our impressions are fair.

Coming to the end of our Beijing to London train journey this was easily the worst hotel we have stayed in in all of Russia.

DO COME to St Petersburg, that's magnificent, just stay anywhere else than the Nevinsky Grand.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your detailed comments. Nevsky Grand is a small hotel located in the historic building in the very heart of St.Petersburg and we thank you for noting our superb location. The property is small and everything inside it is small too. Our small, but cosy and very clean rooms look out upon one of the most beautiful, though noisy, boulevards in the historic centre of St.Petersburg. In our small, but clean and intimate restaurant we serve a very substantial breakfast with a good choice of hot and cold dishes as well as pastries and cakes. All the food is freshly cooked every morning. Upon reading your review we made an inspection visit to the breakfast room, but failed to find any dirty and chipped crockery there. It is a pity that you did not bring yesterday's cakes and dirty crockery to our attention when you came across them while staying with us. Unfortunately, we cannot do anything about the size of rooms, but we can and always try to do our best to improve the service we offer. We thank you once again for your detailed comments. All of them were forwarded to the managers in charge for thorough examination. We shall check up all the issues mentioned in your review and take all the necessary measures to amend the situation.

With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is well located with most of the significant "sights" within walking distance. By St. Petersburg standards it was reasonably priced. Our room was comfortable although not large and the bathroom was adequate but the furnishings were so tired and the carpet should have been replaced long ago! However, there is so much to do and see in St Petersburg during the white nights in June that one really does not spend much time in your hotel room. I would recommend it as a place to stay but don't expect anything grand. The reception staff were friendly, well informed and helpful. We booked directly with the hotel on the internet which worked well and the documentation required for out visas was provided promptly through the link on the hotel website. We also arranged transport from the airport through the hotel website (with A2B), the vehicles and drivers were good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Nevsky Grand and for your feedback. your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving our services and facilities we offer to our guests. Our next renovation is scheduled for the coming winter and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for Russian New Year holidays and were quite satisfied: location is centered and perfect for sightseeing (depends, ofс on what exactly you would like to see as the city is huge). 5 minutes to Hermitage, Church of savior on spilled blood, etc. Hotel is cosy and clean, rooms outfitting is bit old but okay. Wifi works in all hotel areas. Hotel offers great breakfasts with nice juices, bakery, russian pancakes, omelettes and lots of yummy stuff. Lots of night clubs, cafes and restaurants around. Nothing outstanding but definitely great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaKalashnikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very important to us and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the Nevsky Grand. We wish you all the best and will be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at the Nevsky Grand in the last week of May. The service at the hotel is excellent and the people manning the reception are young and friendly. The room was compact but comfortable. The location is also perfect. My only problem was with the way they mismanaged the breakfast. The little cafe does not have the capacity to manage a large number of guests and on one of the days, there was a long queue. The manager at the breakfast hall is a very rude and unpleasant person.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotels Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Nevsky Grand and for sharing. We happy that you have enjoyed you stay at the hotel and apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience during breakfast. Your comment were forwarded to the general manager of the restaurant. We hope the situation will be analyzed and amended as soon as possible.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#16 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
#103 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#22 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevsky Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevsky Hotel Grand

Property: Nevsky Hotel Grand
Address: Bolshaya Konyushennaya St., 10, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevsky Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This business-class hotel is just a minute's walk from Nevsky Prospect and within minutes of Palace Square, the Hermitage, the Field of Mars and the inspiring Church of the Resurrection on Griboedov Canal. The Nevsky Hotel Grand occupies seven storeys and has a lift that accommodates thirteen. The regular rooms offer a choice of double bed or twin beds. Every room has an individual bathroom with a choice of shower or bath. Also standard is air conditioning, WiFi Internet, phone, television, hair-dryer and room safe. The hotel's five spacious suites come with a queen-size bed, sauna and Jacuzzi. The hotel restaurant, called Cafe Grand, is open from 7 o'clock in the morning till 11 o'clock at night. Meals are professionally prepared and served. We encourage guests to make use of the numerous services the hotel offers, such as visa support, registration for only 200 roubles and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's laundry and dry cleaning service, a full selection of cars with drivers, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for plane flights or railway travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia and HostelWorld so you can book your Nevsky Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Grand St Petersburg
Hotel Nevsky Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing