We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - and they help with visa support documments!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nevsky Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Ranked #71 of 330 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Stockholm
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location - and they help with visa support documments!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We purchased a package trip (from Stockholm to St. Petersburg) on the SAS website, but actually it was a Norwegian travel agent that sent us the confirmation. Then when we contacted that travel agent to get the visa support papers, they said to contact the Russian embassy in Stockholm. So we went the the Russian embassy with the printout and everything else we needed - and were told to contact the hotel in St. Petersburg for the visa support papers. "Uh-oh," we thought.
But the Nevsky people surprised us. I emailed them, and within five minutes I had a return email giving me the URL to the website where you can apply for support documents. (http://hon.ru/en/visasupport/) They seemed to know what they were doing, because they also wrote that if you apply from France, you must provide a fax number, because the Russian Consulate in France accepts only a fax copy of the invitation.
I went to their website and filled in the info and paid (1050 rubles per person), and within 10 minutes they had emailed me the visa support documents for all three of us. We took them to the embassy, and everything was in order. EXCELLENT SERVICE! That was worth a lot to us.
And now to the hotel: We stayed on the 7th (top) floor, where we had a nice little room with space for a small bed for our 10-year-old. It worked out great. The carpet looked stained and dirty, but the room itself It was clean enough (we're not terribly picky). The temperature was comfortable and the windows could be opened (though we got frequent wiffs of fried food when we had them open).
We didn't have a lot of contact with the front desk, but they spoke English and were polite. Breakfast was fine. (Personally I didn't care for their version of scrambled eggs, but the oatmeal was great.) Good coffee, too. We had a laptop with us, and the wifi worked fine every time. (There was also a computer in the hall that guests could use.) So no complaints.
And you can't beat the location, namely right off Nevsky Prospect, within walking distance of the Hermitage, Church on Spilled Blood, shopping mall, subway station, etc. Good value for the money, I thought. Would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedish_US_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your time and effort spent to write such a detailed review. We are so happy that your experience with us was overall positive. I will share your kind words with the team, as it is so important for all of us to know what our guests think about the service we provide.
Thank you. We shall be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    336
    188
    45
    28
See reviews for
123
289
96
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

The hotel is superbly located in the centre of St Petersburg.

The rooms are quite small and no frills but they are clean and functional. There's free internet and the staff are very helpful. Breakfast in the Grand Cafe downstairs was ok.

There were a lot of German students in the hotel when we visited who were quite noisy which was the only downside as the walls are pretty thin and you can hear everything that's going on around you. For the money, the hotel was a good choice - not much more than a hostel but definitely closer to western 3 star standards.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time and effort spent to write the review. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry for the students, we hope they were not too much of a nuisance.
We will be delighted if you choose our hotel again for your next visit to St.Petersburg.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

We had a 2 night stay, like other travellers I agree this is more of a western 3 rather than 4 star but was good value for St Peterburg which is expensive.
The room had all the modern ammenities and was very clean, air conditioning was the old style but worked and we slept well despite the 38 degree heat outside.
Staff were great with all my questions, Karina arranged a guide at short notice for the Hermitage, Tatyana who was fabilous and spoke perfect English.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KyliesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

We recently returned from our European holiday where we stayed at the Nevsky Hotel Grand in St. Petersburg.

The Nevsky Grand – we stayed there in mid July and it was very hot out we were very pleased with our room it had an independent ductless air conditioner that we were able to control to keep the room pleasantly cool – it ran quietly and made for a pleasant night’s sleep. The room is well equipped similar to most European standards ours had a new lcd tv, a useful lock box, iron and ironing board as well as a hair dryer. The bathroom was new, clean and of good size, our only complaint would be the room flooring was a somewhat yucky brown rug (so bring your slippers). The hotel is located in the heart of St. Petersburg walking distance to virtually everywhere – excellent location. There is even a very good currency exchange house right next door. The hotel breakfast was great, a good selection of hot and cold western and Russian items. Only thing was when we were there the hotel was full and the breakfast was very busy it would overwhelm the staff who could not keep up – so if the hotel is full come early or you risk empty trays of food and/or no clean place to sit.
I see other reviewers have rated this hotel poor in service I disagree – the Nevsky Hotel Grand service is better than most in Russia, you have to remember the one thing about Russia in general is people have no concept about customer service – it is widespread and everywhere, waiters never offering to bring you a second drink our taxi driver not willing to help with our bags, etc etc. Trust me I’m a management consultant and It’s just the way thing are in Russia perhaps over time some places will learn Western style service standards but we saw very little service standards that could compare to typical tourist destinations. So when you come to Russia bring your patience and a sense of humour. Overall the Nevsky Hotel Grand was very nice and well located – we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwr1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Nevsky Hotel Grand. We are very pleased to learn you are satisfied with our service and facilities. We thank you for your comments and will be looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

The location of this hotel is perfect. Only 1 minute by feet to the noisy main Nevsky prospect. At the same time the hotel is very quiet. Comfortable bed (I slept like a baby throughout my stay). Room with all the facilities you need - a hair dryer, iron etc and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Jacuzzi is fantastic, it was clean, warm with no problems.
Large window and wide windowsill. Nice view to the street. We had very good breakfast with fresh fruits, good variety of food, tables were clean. Also I like the entourage of the eating point.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia_Ivanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Dear Ksenia,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is always so nice to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Thank yoy for taking the time to share. We shall be looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,331 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11,310 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

As with all hotels in Moscow and St. Pete's this place seems quite overpriced when compared to European, American or other hotels of similar quality. However, within the Russian hotel industry, the Nevsky Hotel Grand was on par with other hotels in this price range. Its probably more like 3 stars, but thats ok when you want to be outside sightseeing this wonderful city.

The Location is superb, just around the corner, it seems, from Church of the Lady on Spilled Blood, and a quick stroll up Nevsky Prospect (road) from the Hermitage. There is a nice pub/bar - James Cook around the corner as well that shows football when your feet are tired from all the walking.

The breakfast buffet, will not measure up to those seeking American/International style buffet often found in 3-5* hotels but the we found the food good enough. Its mostly Russian warm cuisine, complimented with Continental style bread, cheese, muesli, yoghurt and the normal European style spread. Again, your staying here for the location, not the quality of the breakfast buffet so this shouldn't serve to influence your decision either way.

The WiFi worked ok in our room. We sometimes needed to stand by the door to pick up the weak signal and sometimes it just didn't work.

Overall, would recommend based on excellent location, good enough food and room and acceptable service from the hotel desk staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulZoo, Deputy Director of the Nevsky Hotel Group at Nevsky Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for choosing the Nevsky Grand Hotel and for appreciating its main advantage - central location. We are glad to hear that your overall impression was good. It is very important to us to learn about our guests' experiences at our properties. I see that we shall have to check on WiFi performance and train our desk staff so that next time you come you can find our service not only acceptable but perfect.
We shall be looking forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Julia Zueva
Deputy Director
Nevsky Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed at the Nevsky Grand for 3 nights in hot early July. The room will make you lol. Imagine a queen bed; now imagine a one foot perimeter around the bed. Those are the walls. Actually on one side there was 24" because that's where the desk was. The bathroom was tiny. The curtains were gauzy (take an eye mask to shut out the light). The bed was sprung and after asking for a solution none was offered until I went downstairs to the reception and asked again. A housekeeper came and put a duvet over the matress. With her help, I turned the mattress over before she added the duvet. It helped - some. At least the window AC worked. Too bad the elevator did not on out last day when we had to lug our luggage down 6 flights. Any offer to help? Nope.
The good: location, breakfast, bottled drinking water available, hot shower.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#16 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Admiralteisky
Petro Palace Hotel
Petro Palace Hotel
#27 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
Nevskiy Hotel Aster
#103 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Golden Triangle Hotel
Golden Triangle Hotel
#19 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#22 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 330 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nevsky Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nevsky Hotel Grand

Property: Nevsky Hotel Grand
Address: Bolshaya Konyushennaya St., 10, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy , Palace Square
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nevsky Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This business-class hotel is just a minute's walk from Nevsky Prospect and within minutes of Palace Square, the Hermitage, the Field of Mars and the inspiring Church of the Resurrection on Griboedov Canal. The Nevsky Hotel Grand occupies seven storeys and has a lift that accommodates thirteen. The regular rooms offer a choice of double bed or twin beds. Every room has an individual bathroom with a choice of shower or bath. Also standard is air conditioning, WiFi Internet, phone, television, hair-dryer and room safe. The hotel's five spacious suites come with a queen-size bed, sauna and Jacuzzi. The hotel restaurant, called Cafe Grand, is open from 7 o'clock in the morning till 11 o'clock at night. Meals are professionally prepared and served. We encourage guests to make use of the numerous services the hotel offers, such as visa support, registration for only 200 roubles and a car and driver to and from the airport or railway station. There's laundry and dry cleaning service, a full selection of cars with drivers, experienced interpreters in any language and tickets for plane flights or railway travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Nevsky Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevsky Grand St Petersburg
Hotel Nevsky Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing