We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, homely and well organised”
Review of Assembly Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Assembly Pension
Ranked #7 of 973 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The outside is much less appealing then the inside-so dont judge too early! It was a lovely place to stay-very comfortable with great showers. The owner was incredibly warming, caring and helpful-and serves a good breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonhjcoombe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Four of us stayed here for 3 nights in July. This is a terrific B&B! It is clean and bright and well located. Natalia, the owner, goes out of her way to be helpful, for example, by providing written information and advice before you arrive, offering recommendations about sites to visit, suggesting restaurants and making reservations, arranging transportation and the like. Natalia is an intelligent and engaged woman who likes to share her observations and opinions and, in the process, give you a bit of a feel for her St Petersburg. She provides a great breakfast with a Russian touch and she joins you in eating it. The conversation at that table is interesting and informative and just one of the reasons you should stay here instead of at a sterile, western hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Everyone would love to have a trust-worthy friend when visiting a new city. The B & B creator, Natalia, is such a friend. She could guide you to the best attractions and the best affordable restaurants. Best of all, she could have an open discussion with you about her people, her city and her country. We thoroughly enjoyed our five-night stay in July. Apart from her yummy breakfasts, we enjoyed most was her company. St. Petersburg is great for its gorgeous sights, architecture and history. But if we return for a visit, it would be for Natalia who makes a place glitter. Natalia, do keep the dictionary for my son because we save the Golden Ring trip until next time...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAMBERTADVENTURE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

we stayed for 5 nights in a double room with private bathroom. The hostel (former kommunalka) is located very well, only few minutes walk to Newski Prospect (western part). Rooms have been clean and quiet. But the best at this hostel is Natalia, the owner. A very warm, friendly and cosmopolitan person who cares about everything and everybody. Additional she provides a fantastic breakfast with Russian and Western European food every morning. The Russian part changes every morning. This hostel is not a typical hostel, it's more like family. All guests having breakfast together and are talking about their plans for today, what they have done yesterday or listen to Natalia when she is talking about Russia and Russian people and their way to life.
Natalia has vast quantity of recommendations what to do in St. Petersburg. Probably you have to stay for months to complete it all.....
All in all, this Hostel is absolutely rightly the #1 Hostel in St. Petersburg. I couldn't imagine to find a better one!

Room Tip: the bathrooms for the "dorms" (two bed room) are just a step away, as the hostel is a form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meppen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Natalia is simply perfect in helping you to get the most out of the city. She is so helpful and friendly and knows everything about the city.
Her breakfast is speciel with some new Russian speciality every morning, so much better than staying in a hotel!
And she is an open person, super in speaking English and tells about modern Russia.

There is a reason she is rated number 1!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonjaAlstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We are a younger couple, stayed at Natalia's home for 4 days/5 nights.
As soon as we booked a room, we received an email with general information about our stay and some city attractions, which we were really thankful for. All the email communication after that (regarding visa and additional infos we needed) went smooth and easy as well.
Natalia was a great hostess in person too, friendly and kind, providing a lot of valuable "insider" information and recommendations. All of our questions were answered and she really took the trouble to make us feel good and welcome.
She helped us to use our time in the city and enjoy it. The breakfast she cooked herself every morning was perfect, far better than in many hotels.
Also important - she speaks excellent English.

Natalia definitely has our votes. :)
Nataša and Robert

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana_l0ves_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

B&B Assembly has to be the best value in St. Petersburg. We stayed there in May of 2013. From the first prompt email offering visa support and lots of information, to the last good-bye, Natalia was patient with our many questions and minor disasters, knowledgeable, and helpful.

The neighborhood, and the stairs to Assembly, are kind of run down, but walking into the b&b is like walking into another place altogether. The entry room is really cute and welcoming. It's true the bedrooms are small and sparse, but they're immaculately clean. I really don't know how to rate them because we knew that when we reserved them, and the cost for such a prime location would be so much higher otherwise. We had our own stylishly tiled bathroom(s) just across the hall, though we had expected to share. Again, we knew it wasn't en suite ahead of time and packed accordingly.

The communal area kept us from feeling cramped. Besides comfortable furniture, there's a wealth of informative books, and the walls are full of funky (or not) artwork. There's free wifi, too.

But the real secret to the success of B&B Assembly is Natalia herself. She's amazing: friendly, knowledgeable and a terrific cook. The breakfasts are plentiful and tasty, with an emphasis on Russian specialties. The walk she recommends sent us through delightful parks while orienting us to the many sights/sites we explored later. Natalia also marked several ethnic restaurants for us to try. Our favorite was the Armenian one.

By the time we reached St. Petersburg we had laundry to do, and one morning Natalia went with us to the (very) nearby laundromat so she could translate between us and the laundromat person. It worked out great. We loaded the washers and, for a reasonable fee, it was washed, dried and folded for us to pick up later.

Our stay at B&B Assembly was wonderful. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 358 in St. Petersburg
1,628 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#14 of 358 in St. Petersburg
552 reviews
Nevskiy
Akyan St.Petersburg
Akyan St.Petersburg
#13 of 358 in St. Petersburg
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Station Hotel K43
#42 of 358 in St. Petersburg
233 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#15 of 358 in St. Petersburg
464 reviews
Kravt Hotel
#52 of 358 in St. Petersburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assembly Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assembly Pension

Address: ul. Sadovaya, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 973 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £40 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, affordable, clean and cozy (only four bedrooms) with homey atmosphere. The B&B is located in the very center of St. Petersburg within walking distance to the main city attractions: Hermitage, Russian Museum, St. Isaac Cathedral, Church Savior-on-Spilled-Blood, Yusupov Palace, Mariinskij Theater, Gostinnij Dvor (shopping), entertainments and more. Friendly owner speaks English. Breakfast and tea-time conversations with the owner and other guests give warm, family like feelings. Breakfast is included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Assembly Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing