We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb welcome from Natalia!”
Review of Assembly Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Assembly Pension
Ranked #9 of 1,020 St. Petersburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The real strength of this B&B, as other travellers have noted, is Natalia herself. Natalia is the proprietor and the B&B is also her home, so staying with her is really an authentic experience in the city! She is a wonderful lady, kind, interesting and very attentive of her guests. We stayed during Christmas at the low tourist season, so we were the only guests at this time. This meant that we started our day with a delicious, home-cooked, leisurely breakfast with Natalia each morning (whilst we waited for it to get light - around 10am). Natalia arranged an excellent private guide for us to Pushkin and Pavlovsk (Gennadiy Chentsov), who we also throughly recommend.

Unfortunately I had a bad cold whilst there and Natalia was kind enough to write me a note in Russian to take to the pharmacy for medicines. Despite, this we had a great time and B&B Assembly is an ideal place from which to explore this fascinating city. It is well-located, being within walking distance of the major sights and with plenty of restaurants and cafes just a stones' throw away.

Our room was spacious and warm, with large windows overlooking the street. It was not fancy, but then it doesn't pretend to be. It was however, clean, tidy and comfortable. If you are the kind of person who only enjoys 5 star hotel-style, then this place probably won't quite hit your sweet spot. If however, you are looking for an authentic, home-from-home place to stay with a genuine Russian welcome; then you won't be disappointed here!

We can throughly and whole-heartedly recommend it as THE place to stay whilst in St. Petersburg.
Thanks Natalia for a wonderful stay during Christmas 2013!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gondwona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here June 2013 and felt at home from the outset. Natalia very friendly and welcoming. Us and the other guests sat down with Natalia and she told us everything we needed to know for our stay. Places to eat, which we tried and were just as lovely as she described, places to see, where to buy certain things. She was on hand to answer our questions and was full of information about the Russian way of life. Breakfast was traditional Russian with plenty of variety. A lovely holiday, thanks to Natalia. Would definately go back. David &Pat (UK)

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Davipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights at Natalia's B & B. A great location for a great price!
Natalia provides a homely experience in the heart of St Petersburg offering
superb advice and guidance, fantastic breakfasts, as well as the opportunity
to get to know guests from other countries around the breakfast table each
morning. I stayed in a very good sized twin room with the bathroom across
the corridor which suited me, however there are other room options with
ensuite bathroom. Don't be put off by the entrance, many entrances in
Russia are a little like this. Once you are through her front door, its a whole
new world. It's easy to get to from the airport, once you work out the local
bus system! All the sights are within a 10-20 mins walk in this beautiful city .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank natlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had very good impressions of St Petersburg and indeed of our first visit to Russia. It could not have gone more smoothly for us oldies.
The accommodation was as we expected and lived up to my romantic notion of how it would be albeit with mod cons.
Warm and comfortable with wonderful breakfasts that we shall remember for many years to come.
The experience of meeting other guests and having interesting conversation over a leisurely breakfast helped to make our stay even more enjoyable.
Countless suggestions of where we might go or visit with an eye on the budget, no doubt saved us time and effort and I can’t think where we would get that kind of personal service elsewhere. It felt like staying with a friend and free to come and go as we please.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It was such a treat staying with Natalie. The location is great and she is an amazing host. She has terrific advice about what to see and do and we learned a lot about Russian society and culture through some fascinating conversations. The breakfasts are delicious and ample, lasting us well into the afternoon before we needed to refuel. When my wallet got stolen, she went above and beyond, accompanying us to the Police Department to file a report. Also, her place is immaculate, sparkling clean. By all means, stay at the B&B Assembly when you are in St. Petersburg. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The best thing about staying here is Natalia, the owner and fine host. She gets her guests oriented to all the things she loves about Saint Petersburg and lets you know the best places. She makes it easy to get around on public transport with her specific instructions. The place is immaculate and the breakfasts large, excellent, and very authentically Russian.
she also encourages guests to get to know each other. The location is very good, in an interesting area. We have an excellent time here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an ensuite bathroom, others not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneLouise01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I loved this place -- very comfy and Natalia was so helpful every step of the way -- from planning our big trip to her suggestions about sights and restaurants once we got there. Plus, she was funny and thoughtful! We were a little concerned about the lack of air conditioning at the height of summer because we like to sleep in a cold room. But the nights cool off really well and there's a big fan in the room, so we were very comfortable. Breakfast was yummy and she was happy to accommodate my need for gluten-free food. The neighborhood was great -- walking distance to the main sights but there weren't many tourists in the area, which we liked. Don't be put off by the entryway. That's just the Russian style and the B & B itself is immaculate and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Kolomna
Alexander House
Alexander House
#1 of 364 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
Nevskiy
Pushka Inn Hotel
Pushka Inn Hotel
#2 of 364 in St. Petersburg
1,688 reviews
Kamerdiner Hotel
#3 of 1,020 in St. Petersburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guest House Marlen
#13 of 1,020 in St. Petersburg
31 reviews
Admiralteisky
Old Vienna Hotel
Old Vienna Hotel
#6 of 1,020 in St. Petersburg
149 reviews
ProPiter
#20 of 1,020 in St. Petersburg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assembly Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assembly Pension

Address: ul. Sadovaya, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,020 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range: £51 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Assembly Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, affordable, clean and cozy (only four bedrooms) with homey atmosphere. The B&B is located in the very center of St. Petersburg within walking distance to the main city attractions: Hermitage, Russian Museum, St. Isaac Cathedral, Church Savior-on-Spilled-Blood, Yusupov Palace, Mariinskij Theater, Gostinnij Dvor (shopping), entertainments and more. Friendly owner speaks English. Breakfast and tea-time conversations with the owner and other guests give warm, family like feelings. Breakfast is included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Assembly Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing