We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for the budget traveller.”
Review of Hotel Grifon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grifon
Ranked #82 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay for the budget traveller.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Grifon is in a good location, within a twenty minute walk of all the main attractions. The hotel is on the fourth floor of a building with no lift so could be a problem. The free breakfast and WiFi was a bonus! The staff were really friendly and helpful with taxis and offering advice. Our room was spacious but no air conditioning so could get stuffy. A brilliant choice for the budget traveller!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alydavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifon2007, General Manager at Hotel Grifon, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel "Grifon" in St. Petersburg and your candid comments.
Please be advised that all our rooms have air conditioning (two of them have individual climate control panel and the rest have centralized direction). But in the future we plan to modernize the hotel equipment, because we always do all our best to improve the quality service for you!

Faithfully yours,
Kristina Ozhelskaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    49
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
32
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Grifonhotel for three nights in late July and was really delighted by the whole experience. The location is fantastic, 5 min from Nevsky prospect, view on the canal, very quiet, 10-15 min walk from the Hermitage. I thought it was really excellent value for money. The staff was friendly and mostly spoke English. It's located on the four floor of a 19th century house. The only downsize for some would be that there's no lift, but personally I didn't mind.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabPasq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifon2007, Генеральный директор at Hotel Grifon, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel "Grifon" in St. Petersburg and your high appreciation of our service. We hope that your candid comments will help to another travellers who are looking for accommodation in our city.

Faithfully yours,
Kristina Ozhelskaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel Grifon was really a pleasant surprise for us: it is very well located, a few minutes walk from Nevsky Prospekt, it is very quiet in the evening by the canal, the staff is very friendly and helpful. We were surprised by the size of the room which is very large and everything was very clean.
The only negative point would be the breakfast, which is a little bit too simple and not very varied.
Also, the hotel is located on the 4th floor without lift but it did not bother us!
Sure, if we return to St. Petersburg, this is where we go!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sosso31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifon2007, General Manager at Hotel Grifon, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel "Grifon" in St. Petersburg and your candid comments. We will do all our best to improve the service and hope to see you again!

Faithfully yours,
Kristina Ozhelskaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Despite having mixed opinions from our group, I feel very positive about this hotel. The hotel reception is on the 4th floor and there are no lifts. Apart from that, everything else is good. Very spacious and clean rooms, very friendly staff. Free breakfast an added bonus. Excellent location, walking distance to many local attractions. This hotel is miles better that our hotel on our next stop in Scandinavia

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sime918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifon2007, General Manager at Hotel Grifon, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your visit to the hotel "Grifon" in St. Petersburg and high appreciation of our service. We hope your comments will help to another travellers to make the right choice.

Faithfully yours,
Kristina Ozhelskaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Grifon in May and loved the fact that the majority of guests appeared to be Russians in town for the May 9 celebrations. The rooms are decorated in the Russian style of the late sixties but are very clean and comfortable.
The stairs are a minor inconvenience compared to the great location and reasonable price. We would always prefer this type of 'local' hotel to the major chains which are the main alternatives in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Dian_B-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifon2007, General Manager at Hotel Grifon, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel "Grifon" in St. Petersburg and you candid comments on your stay!
We hope this information will be useful for another visitors of this site.

Faithfully yours,
Kristina Ozhelskaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel behind the Kazan Cathedral. It's very well located with sites, restaurants and cafés within walking distance. Our room was spacious and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was an added bonus. The hotel is located on the 3rd floor ( no lift) of an apartment block which made it even more interesting for us to get behind one of the many massive doors you wander past. Be prepared to pay an 'immigration tax' on arrival as it isn't included or mentioned when booking through sites like Hotels.com, and not something we had encountered in the two other hotels we'd stayed in in Moscow, booked through the same route,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanenClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifon2007, General Manager at Hotel Grifon, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel "Grifon" in St. Petersburg and your candid comments. We hope they will help to another travellers who are looking for accommodation in out city.

Faithfully yours,
Kristina Ozhelskaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the best location you can get, just behind the Kazan cathedral, 5 min from Nevsky prospect.
The hotel receptionists are great. Very helpful and kind. We got our room early in the morning and got breakfast even we shouldn't have.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. The air condition was good and WiFi worked well.
The only thing is the satires (no elevator) but it's not the end of the world and you should remember that the price is less then other hotels in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for room with the Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfinkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grifon2007, General Manager at Hotel Grifon, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for choosing the hotel "Grifon" in St. Petersburg and your candid comments. We always do all our best to improve the service for our valuable guests and hope your review will be useful for another travellers.

Faithfully yours,
Kristina Ozhelskaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
Rachmaninov Art-Hotel
#87 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Kravt Hotel
#62 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Admiralteisky
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#11 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevsky Hotel Grand
Nevsky Hotel Grand
#71 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Nevskiy
M-Hotel
M-Hotel
#17 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#22 of 335 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifon

Property: Hotel Grifon
Address: Emb. Kanala Griboyedova, 35, St. Petersburg 191186, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 335 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifon 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Grifon" opened in 2007. It is located right in the city centre, just 5 minutes walk from the Nevsky prospect, at the quiet embankment of the Griboedova channel and near the famous Banking Bridge decorated with Griffins sculptures. Main area attractions – The Kazan Cathedral, St. Isaac's Cathedral, The Church on the Spilled Blood, The Admiralty, The Hermitage and Palace Square, The Russian Museum – are situated close to the hotel.The hotel occupies top floors (fourth and fifth) of a historical five-storey building without lift that was designed by the architect Keiser and raised in 1879. The Russian Society on pharmaceutical goods trade placed here its offices and storehouses.Front staircase with antique fireplace and decorative smithery of banisters leads to the hotel. In 1998 American producers shot here episodes for a film based on Fyodor Dostoevsky’s novel “Crime and punishment” with participation of famous actors Patrick Dempsey and Julie Delpy.The hotel offers 12 fully equipped rooms of two categories - standard and comfort. All rooms are decorated in classical style with warm colours and equipped with air conditioning, wireless Internet access (Wi-Fi), colour TV (with international satellite channels), telephone (local calls – free of charge), bathroom (with bath or shower), hairdryer, bath amenities. The majority of rooms offer marvelous view of the Griboedova channel embankment. Twin or double bed at guest's will. Extra bed or cosy sofa is available for the third person in a room.Continental hot breakfast is included in a room rate and served at any time convenient for guests.Rooms at the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grifon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing