We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in the best location”
Review of Vesta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vesta Hotel
Ranked #92 of 349 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Easter Island, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great hotel in the best location”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

fantastic location, spacious room, nice privat bathroom, friendly stuff, great breakfast.
I spend a fantastic time in this hotel. Is my first choise for a new visit to San Petersburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    31
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
35
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of our trip on the Transmongolian Railway. It's difficult to say if it was value for money as the hotel was part of a package so I'm not sure of the cost of our room. However, their rack rate for the room we had is 3700 rubles (about 75GBP) and for that I would say, given the location, it was ok.

The room was basic but had air con and was spotless - no creature comforts but certainly had everything you need.

The best thing was its location - a two minute walk from Nevski Prospekt and very handy for tourist sightseeing. Breakfast was again fairly basic but tasty and certainly enough. Staff were very pleasant.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel was a great help in providing assistance for getting our visas. It is only a few yards from the busy Nevskiy Prospekt, but the hotel itself was a haven of peace and quiet.
It was very easy to get to the hotel from the Finland and Moscow Railway stations and only a short walk to the metro.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This hotel is in a great location for exploring St Petersburg. It is described as in a courtyard which although there is a children's playground in the square, it is very quiet. However, it is a little difficult to find as it is set quite far back from Nevsky Prospect. There are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby as well as all sorts of shops. The hotel is very clean and simply furnished but perfect for a tourists exploring the city. Good, plentiful breakfasts and charming reception staff. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: No lift so choose first floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MhairiPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

This is a small/medium sized hotel in the city centre, just off the main street. I arrived before the official check in time but my room was ready so I could check straight in. I found the best thing about the hotel was the friendly atmosphere. A Russian friend called the hotel reception and the reception staff brought the phone over to me while I was having breakfast! The breakfast was nice, not a big 'international style' buffet but a good selection of Russian and continental European items. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicTasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

This was a great place to stay for exploring St Petersburg. The hotel is right near the Nevsky Prospekt (main area) and most sights are easy to walk to. The staff are also helpful and can speak English.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Location: In a courtyard off Nevsky prospect, opposite the Mayakovskaya metro station. Close enough to walk to the central area. We pre-arranged an airport transfer, well worth the $A60 with luggage etc., as we don't speak Russian. Our room, described as an apartment, was on the 4th floor, with no lift or porter, so could be awkward for anyone with bulky luggage or mobiity problems.

The hotel: Shabby on the outside, but the rooms were recently renovated. We had a studio apartment, still quite small, but with lounge chairs and a small table, fridge, electric jug and microwave as well as a large comfortable bed. Cutlery and mugs were provided but no plates, bowls etc. Good luggage storage space, and a superb bathroom with underfloor heating, a large bath and thick towels. Despite the tap water being undrinkable, no bottled water was provided. Our room had opening windows, and a view of the courtyard playground. It was very quiet at night, and the hotel had good security and was very clean.

Breakfast: Good. Yoghurt, fresh espresso coffee, fruit and fruit juice, cereal, bread and toast. Very hard boiled eggs, hot dogs. Spreads for bread included ham, cheese, tomato, cucumber.

Cost: Was about the same as for a double room in a larger hotel (around $A200 per night), but had extra space and the possibility of limited self catering.

In any other culture, the staff would appear at bit uncaring, but by Russian standards they were helpful and polite. Most confusion was caused by translation problems as their English, while excellendt by Russian standards, was limited. The hotel offers extra services like mailing postcards, and a reasonably priced laundry service.

Beware of extra charges on checkout. We were charged for the "free" wifi and extra laundry

  • Liked — Bathroom, Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank melblib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Nevskiy
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
Hotel Anabel on Nevsky 88
#50 of 349 in St. Petersburg
346 reviews
Nevskiy
Nevsky Contour Hotel
Nevsky Contour Hotel
#20 of 349 in St. Petersburg
560 reviews
Nevskiy
Club Hotel Agni
Club Hotel Agni
#105 of 349 in St. Petersburg
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Nevskiy Central Hotel
Nevskiy Central Hotel
#129 of 349 in St. Petersburg
188 reviews
Vladimir
Ligotel
Ligotel
#17 of 349 in St. Petersburg
401 reviews
Cronwell Inn Stremyannaya
#57 of 349 in St. Petersburg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vesta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vesta Hotel

Property: Vesta Hotel
Address: Nevskiy Ave., 92, St. Petersburg 191025, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Nevskiy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Vesta" is a mini-hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia, a quiet and homelike place in spite of its location on Nevsky Prospect - in the very centre of Nothern capital. "Vesta" Hotel is located at Nevsky Prospekt 90, and is only two blocks away from Moscow railway station, while "Mayakovskaya" metro station is about 250 metres up from the hotel. The hotel is situated in a quiet courtyard in a four-storeyed building constructed in the middle of the 19th century. Owing to its unique location you get a chance to enjoy the tranquillity right in the very heart of the city. It takes only a couple of minutes to get to the main attractions of St. Petersburg - the Hermitage Museum, The Russian Museum, St. Isaac's Cathedral, The Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood, Summer Garden etc. So, 5-10 minutes will be enough to get to the Hermitage by taxi. It only takes less than half an hour to walk to any of these places, which became the landmarks of our city, admiring the architecture of St. Petersburg during the walk. "Vesta" hotel offers you different types of accommodation - single and double rooms, as well as apartaments. Each room has a bathroom, and all windows look on a quiet green courtyard. In the morning the guests are offered a tasty breakfast (included in the price of the room), and during the day you can have a cup of tea or coffee in the lobby. We provide free wireless Internet (Wi-Fi), which is available in all areas of our hotel. If you arrived without your own device that supports access to the internet, you will be able to use the computer in the hotel lounge. Besides, "Vesta" Hotel offers its guests a conference room for rent and a possibility to use office equipment. Administrators are always willing to assist you and to make your stay in St. Petersburg comfortable and pleasant. They will help you with the sightseeing tours around St. Petersburg and its suburbs and will provide you with the information about museums and exhibitions. They will also help you to book concert and show tickets. Owing to a rather small size of our hotel you can always expect an individual servicing approach. When you stay in "Vesta" Hotel in St. Petersburg, you will immediately appreciate its central location, proximity to the major attractions and convenient infrastructure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vesta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vesta Hotel St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing