We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most reasonable hotel to stay in Astrakhan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Palace
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Astrakhan
Certificate of Excellence
Astrakhan, Russia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Most reasonable hotel to stay in Astrakhan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a friendly atmosphere. It has a lot of facilities both for leisure and business. It is reasonable to stay there, to hold on a business conference or press conference or even just to go to a pool for relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    46
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
9
6
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Very nice hotel, convenient location (near the center of the city), very friendly staff.
The rooms are large, clean, have good repair and good plumbing. Smoking in the hotel can be (almost) everywhere - in the rooms, in the lobby, in the bar and restaurant. Only 1 problem (as I can see) - uncomfortable mattress on the bed.
Breakfast (from 7a.m. to 10 a.m.) - "buffet", with a small variety of products, but very tasty cooked.
The hotel have swimming pool where you can swim from 9:00 to 21:00 (except Monday) - for FREE! So bring your swimsuits / trunks.)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asysay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Great hotel with friendly staff with faultless English and happy to help with getting around the city. I stayed here many times from 2006-2011 and would stay in no other hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

I stayed at the Victoria Palace on three occasions from November 2009 thru March 2010. I found it warm, comfortable and clean. The food in the restaurant was good and service was not bad either. There is a sauna, swimming pool and a little coffe bar in the lobby. The breakfast was not to my taste, but the one real moan I had it the hotel WiFi, it's free, but useless, sorry guys, but it's really frustrating. There is no english language channels on TV, BBC world service was available in 2009 but disappeared in 2010. Apart from that it is a very nice place to stay, recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ross_andrews2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2006

I stayed at the Victoria Palace hotel in Astrakhan in early October 2006 whilst on business in Astrakhan. I was told that this is the only 4 star hotel in town and it wasn't too bad.

It was my first trip to Russia and Astrakhan is a provincial town in the middle of nowhere so I was expecting the worst. The room I was in only had a single bed and was a bit small but it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was well apppointed but small; especially the shower. The shower also had a funny shower curtain arrangement that meant it was impossible to not spill water all over the floor.

The room had air-conditioning but it also had an intermittent whining sound that appeared to be coming from downstairs. It wasn't really loud enough to keep me awake but was a bit annoying.

Breakfast at the hotel was a buffet and they would cook eggs and omelets for you but that was the only hot food available for breakfast apart from toast.

The location of the hotel was ok - not too far from the kremlin and about a 5-10 minute walk from a good restaurant called 'Cafe Cream'. Taxis (and most other things) are cheap there anyway.

The staff at the hotel were polite.

I think my company was paying about US$195 per night for this place which is inordinately high, but there aren't too many other hotels in town that will deal with non-Russians.

Some of my colleagues, who work in Astrakhan, told me that they have been asked to leave, despite having a booking, if the hotel has any more important guests who need their room. I was only there for 3 nights so it wasn't an issue for me.

  • Liked — Was of a Western European standard.
  • Disliked — Small shower.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2006

This is the best hotel in Astrakhan. The problem is the owner does not give a damn about the staff or the guests.
If you ask for something you get a sigh as if you are an inconvenience...I called for room service at 2am. The booklet states 24 hour room service please feel free to call and we will be glad to help. So i called , no answer, I then rang reception,opps ! I woke them up!
There is no room service after 11pm. They agreed it says 24hours but no,I asked what to do now? the answer was"'nothing goodbye'".
I then rang the bar as I had walked past them about 15 minutes earllier. I asked for a bottle of champagne. NO! was the answer. What ? Are you telling me that you don't have one or you will not get one for me? NO! I had already seen the bottles behind the bar. So I made this point and still got ... NO!. So i went down to the bar and got the bottle!!!.
Ah! breakfast
No bacon,no cornflakes no cereals,I spoke with some expats who have been staying here for 4 to 5 years and they have observed anything they like, is taken off the menu.
These expats are all OIl company engineers on a large contract and the hotel is making a huge profit.
The Gym
Ther is no GYM!! only some broken bikes around the pool.
If the staff were treated well and the food was improved and a Gym was made it would be a very nice place to stay,

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astrakhan hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Astrakhan
Grand Hotel Astrakhan
#2 of 16 in Astrakhan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novomoskovskaya
Novomoskovskaya
#1 of 16 in Astrakhan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#9 of 16 in Astrakhan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Inn Astrakhan
Park Inn Astrakhan
#3 of 16 in Astrakhan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bonhotel Hotel
Bonhotel Hotel
#8 of 16 in Astrakhan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
AZIMUT Hotel Astrakhan
AZIMUT Hotel Astrakhan
#11 of 16 in Astrakhan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace

Property: Victoria Palace
Address: Krasnaya Emb., 3, Astrakhan 414040, Russia
Region: Russia > Southern District > Astrakhan Oblast > Astrakhan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Astrakhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing