We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely farm, a lovely weekend”
Review of Charlton Farm Inn

Charlton Farm Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlton Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Avon B&B and Inns
Russell, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely farm, a lovely weekend”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent two days at this farmhouse B & B and loved every minute of it. Liz and Jim were welcoming and made us feel like friends coming for a visit rather than guests. We had a great time talking with Liz and Jim about the farm, the history of the house and the area. Our room was perfect. We spent a wonderful evening in the library. Liz's breakfasts were fantastic--local produce, lovingly prepared. We loved sitting on the porch in the rockers enjoying the serene view and walking around the gardens. One of the nicest places we've ever stayed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Groton, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The house and property are breathtaking. Quiet and peaceful setting. Liz's gardens are just beautiful. The room was perfect and the breakfast was delicious. I think what we also enjoyed the most was the hospitality with such friendly hosts, Jim and Liz. We loved hearing about the history of the house. We look forward to visiting again for a longer time, and of course, seeing Henry again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamVGroton_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have never written a review before, but am so impressed with this beautiful place that I will today. We spent three days with Liz and Jim, and Henry, their most charming dog, this past week-end. We were in the area for a party for our son and the location of the Inn was perfect for our purposes. What really was perfect was the Farm. It is a spectacular piece of property that is lovingly cared for. The house, stately and elegant, has been meticulously restored and maintained. Liz grew up in the house. Both she and Jim are very knowledgeable about the history of the home and share that easily. The hospitality was superb. We felt welcomed and cherished, and extremely well taken care of. Our time at the farm truly filled our soul. We look forward to returning and feel like we have made new friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glens Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Inn for a weekend getaway. Liz and Jim are wonderful hosts that made us feel welcome the minute we walked through the door. The Inn is beautiful and cozy. Our room was perfect!! The history behind the Inn is incredibly interesting and we appreciated that Liz and Jim shared that with us. The breakfasts were outstanding. I cannot say enough about how fabulous our weekend was, I was sad to leave! We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay and will return in the future!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully decorated, each with their own character. Any room would be specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This bed and breakfast is awesome! The location was perfect for us, being only 20 minutes from Rochester. The house was spectacular and was furnished beautifully! The hosts Jim and Liz were very wonderful people and very hospitable. We cant wait to come back for another visit!

Room Tip: The master suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Portland Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is our second time staying at the Inn and we have had a wonderful experience both times! Liz and Jim are two of the most exceptional hosts who have thought of every detail to make your stay something to remember! The breakfast was absolutely delicious with all local and organic foods.

Their inn is a beautiful historic home that has such a welcoming ambiance. It is immaculate and all the rooms are so beautifully decorated.

We would highly recommend staying here and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gioia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights when we were in the area for parents' weekend at our son's college. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and comfortable. The farm is spectacular, and beautifully kept. Jim and Liz pay attention to every detail, from the thick towels and crisp white sheets, to the quality of the tea offered, and everything in between. The house is immaculate, and filled with history. Jim kept a fire going outside each night, which added a really nice touch. Oh, also, breakfast was all local foods!

We plan to be back for many more visits in the future - hopefully we will see it in every season.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 with a king size bed and private bath. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneseo
Hampton Inn Geneseo
#1 of 2 in Geneseo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn Geneseo
Quality Inn Geneseo
#2 of 2 in Geneseo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
14.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mount Morris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
9.0 mi away
Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Oak Valley Inn
Oak Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Geneseo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Farm Inn

Property: Charlton Farm Inn
Address: 290 E Main St, Avon, NY 14414-1424
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Avon
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing