We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quite, but far from center”
Review of Novinka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novinka
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Kazan
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice and quite, but far from center”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed there twice now. Its a very basic soviet style hotel, nothing to write home about. Rooms are clean and comfy. Breakfast in the restaurant was pretty good, went elsewhere fir lunch and dinners. They do have a spa, but I didnt visit.
Conference hall on the second level is nice, all sound and video worked, wi fi did as well. There are pool tables and a bar on the second floor. Looks like it would be a party place in the evening, I didnt hear any noise, even tho I was there over a weekend.
Overall, good, inexpensive, simple choice.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Galina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    41
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
7
3
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kazan, Russia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I order a few times rooms for my collegues for 1-2 night, ones it was a business trip and another one it was members of International Jazz Festivale. They where absolutely satisfacted by not very far disosition and very nice spa, pool and sauna complex, that have to be about Baden-Baden resort after reconstrruction. And this venue will be able to be the best to universiade 2013.
Also i have order a restaurant for family party 2 times. Athmosphere was soficticated, musiсian (Arthur) was played on piano and violine all evening. I remembered his name from my Volga-river cruise from Kazan to Samara and this guy played on violine on the board of our ship. What can i say-it was misterious and Arthur was able to play anything you want any mostly hyts of 80-th.
Meals was very and very well cooked from the best ingridients , including desserts. Everything was well dressed and colorable.
Meals smells well and it was nice to listen to the music of European, Russian and Tatar pop during a party.
Lounge is big, well decorated, staff is pleasant, ready to help you.
Honestly, i am glad to be engaged in this great hotel and restaurant events.

Room Tip: Of course, you will be right to choice this hotel, that is situated in 15 minutes from center by ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulnar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

stayed there for one night recently so scope of review is not enormous

however i found staff very helpful, english speaking etc , rooms look like they have just been refitted, albeit not very ostentatiously but neverthless rooms are rather large, well equipped and very clean
free wifi up to 50M, worked reliably, ask for code from reception or for a fee (i think 200 rur) for up to 500M
colleagues said restaurant was quite good although i didnt try,
there is 'edelweiss' mini market directly across the street, for water, snacks and other basic stuff to avoid hotel prices
mini bar is actually not pricey but has very small selection but you can stock up as its quite a big fridge

i think its not near the centre but kazan is not a place that has a centre as such on the european model but if you have a driver it doesnt really matter , i chose it because its near to my client

may wish to ask for a high floor room to avoid noise as they often have karaoke o the ground floor in restaurant, i didnt notice it on 4th floor but maybe i would on the first

happy to go there again if i need to be in kazan

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRBaboonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY / LON
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Stayed at this hotel during the EBRD conference. What can I say - guess it's if everything else in the city is sold out.
Positives - decent service (had no issues), clean, no real problems. Moved my room when I asked, helpful staff.

Negatives - really not close to anything..ie you have to take a 15 minute taxi to the center of the city. Also wifi service was there but very spotty..instead had to use the dial-up at 28k..brought back memories. Bed was fairly narrow (single bed). In other words, not a great business hotel by any stretch of imagination, but better than a hostel.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicster_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mastic, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2006

I totally enjoyed my stay at the Novinka. The restaurant served a very nice full breakfast that I would suggest you include in your room price. Alternatively, my room had a small refrigerator, and there is a small supermarket across the street. Public transportation to the center of town is less than half a block away (30 cents), or official taxis can be ordered (3 to 5 dollars - ASK FIRST). The staff was very courteous and at least one person always spoke enough English to answer my questions. The local travel agent my friend knew recommended this hotel as the best quality for under $100 a night.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hokomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kazan hotels
3.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 58 in Kazan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.3 mi away
Gvardeiskaya Hotel
Gvardeiskaya Hotel
#49 of 58 in Kazan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Kazan Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Korston Club Hotel Kazan
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kazan
4.0 mi away
Hotel IT Park
Hotel IT Park
#21 of 58 in Kazan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novinka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novinka

Property: Novinka
Address: Korolenko St., 30, Kazan 420094, Russia
Region: Russia > Volga District > Republic of Tatarstan > Kazan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Kazan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novinka 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novinka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing