We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great people”
Review of Baikaler Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baikaler Hostel
Ranked #11 of 188 Speciality Lodging in Irkutsk
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, great people”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a relatively small hostel in central Irkutsk. I found the hostel to be really social as the group areas are quite small, so lots of conversation with all your fellow travellers. Shared stories of trips out to Baikal or the Trans-Siberian.
They also organise some great trips - I did the Circumbaikal Walk - which was a great day walk, beautiful scenery, I was lucky enough to see ice on the lake in late April - which was soo beautiful.
I also stayed out at the Eco-Hostel in Lystvyanka.

Room Tip: This is a small popular hostel - book in advance. I saw a few people turned away when they were full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahgoesrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
27
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We booked through Baikaler Hostel in Irkutsk as well as the transport to the island (be prepared for an 8-10 hour uncomfortable drive)!

We stayed here because Nikita’s Homestead was full. However, we’re so glad that we stayed at Olga’s instead! It’s a much smaller place and really homely with the best food in Russia! It’s all home-cooked and very warming with some delicious fresh omul (fish) from the lake. It’s quite rustic so the loos and sinks are outside. There are two squat loos and two western loos thankfully! The rooms are very basic but comfortable and the dining room is great to meet other travellers.

It’s a 10 minute walk to Nikita’s if you want to use the internet (but you have to pay) or go and see the sunset over the lake. We looked at a couple of rooms in Nikita’s and they didn’t look any better than Olga’s.

We would recommend Olga’s, especially for the food!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in this hostel for two nights in a private room with shared bathroom. There are also two dorm rooms sleeping 12 or so people in total. There is only one shower and two toilets to share but they were very clean and we never had to wait long. The free wifi is good but there isn't much communal space - it's a little cramped. Great location - half an hour walk to train station but right in the middle of town for sightseeing. We did a tour to Arshan with the hostel's owner, Jack, and loved it - pricey but well worth it. This is definitely the place to stay if you're looking for a budget option in Irkutsk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We found this hostel to be a tight squeeze with little room for personal belongings and very little common area for eating or doing internet. Cleanliness was also a bit of an issue. However, the owner and his staff were extremely helpful. They went above and beyond to help us find lodging when they were full and the owner even walked us to a nearby location where we could change our train tickets. Those factors and the central location make it a decent option in Irkutsk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hostel was a nice hostel: the location is very convenient near to stores and supermarket. The rooms are a bit small and warm and it is always busy in the hostel.

But the girls who work there are very helpfull and speak excellent English!

Do go to Olga's at lake Olkhon, it was so nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transsib15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

My main issue is the "cleaness": floors that leave your feet black and bathrooms that are not all that appealing (allthough the later could also come from fellow travellers). Other than that it was very good: centrally located and friendly staff - I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

OK, I have to say it…I was a bit disappointed with the Baikaler Hostel after all the positive reviews I’d read. The major downside for me was the unbearable temperature, it was way too hot and with the air con not functioning in the dorm the only other option would be to have the window open, but the noise from the boy racers in the main street would be too much. I also found it a little cramped. Granted, it was high season and both nights the hostel was full, but the hall ends up being full of shoes and the dorms full of bags. I know when hostels are full space is at a premium, but in this one I just felt a little bit on top of other people. There’s one private room, two dorms, a WC and shower room (quite a compact one, not the cleanest), and a small kitchen. The doorway is a bit difficult to find, being off the main street at the back of the building, and the entrance hallway doesn’t look the best (at night it’s PITCH BLACK, if there were lights I couldn’t find them) but the actual hostel itself is OK in terms of upkeep. It is very centrally located and within easy walk of cafes, restaurants and bars, though the train station is a 10 minute tram ride over the river. Also, if you’re planning a day trip to Baikal – I’d say skip the tours and certainly don’t head to Listvyanka, but get minibus 16 (from Lenin Street) to Raketa Pier and take the hydrofoil to Bolshiye Koty. Cheaper, more fun and a far nicer, less tourist-hell village where the emphasis is on enjoying your surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irkutsk hotels
2.3 mi away
Zvezda Hotel
Zvezda Hotel
#10 of 26 in Irkutsk
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kupecheskiy Dvor Hotel
Kupecheskiy Dvor Hotel
#9 of 26 in Irkutsk
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Irkutsk City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#4 of 26 in Irkutsk
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Sayen
0.6 mi away
The Best Hostel Irkutsk
The Best Hostel Irkutsk
#17 of 188 in Irkutsk
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baikaler Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baikaler Hostel

Property: Baikaler Hostel
Address: ul. Lenina 9, Apt. 11, Irkutsk 664003, Russia
Region: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Irkutsk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 188 Speciality Lodging in Irkutsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack Sheremetoff, a Lonely Planet recommended guide, welcomes you to stay in his Baikaler Hostel (he'd rather call it a '3 guest room apartment') in the epicenter of Irkutsk (corner of Lenin and Karl Marks streets). The location of the hostel is unbeatably central and ultimately convenient. You can walk everywhere you need within minutes: ATMs, pizza or restaurant, Art Museum, river walking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baikaler Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing