We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cozy”
Review of Baikaler Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baikaler Hostel
Ranked #12 of 188 Speciality Lodging in Irkutsk
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Small but cozy”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I travelled solo and stayed in the twin room. I also arranged a pickup from the international airport and this was done efficiently. The sheets and decor are pretty colourful and the place has a cheerful feel although getting out with the tap key was fun at the downstairs front door (push hard!).

The place is a little crowded but if you are busy exploring and not staying in, this should be no problem. The wi-fi was a little difficult to connect on the far side of the twin room but sit near the door and you are fine.

The one thing (not their fault) that constantly drove me crazy was ignorant travelers flushing toilet paper down the toilet even though there are clear signs to not do this. If you accidentally drop paper in by instinct, be responsible and fish it out with the toilet brush! But unfortunately this was always left to me and on the second day of my stay, surprise, the toilet blocked.

All the managers are helpful and when I needed to call a taxi at 11:30pm the manager was quite happy and assured me she would still be up even though the sign says business should be concluded by 11pm every night. You are also welcome to use the communal tea and coffee in the kitchen.

Being so small though and a stop on the Trans Siberian, some of the other travellers I encountered seemed to be a bit stressed either by the lack of space, the long wait for laundry to dry or being forced to check out of their room on time and sitting in the lounge complaining there is nothing to do until their pick up (beautiful park or river just down the road from hostel, sounvenir shop underground behind the Lenin Statue and the painting sellers or have a cup of coffee at Double Coffee across the road!).

Staff were helpful and Olga-Maria with whom I corresponded via email always gave me prompt replies. Will definitely return here should I ever go through Irkutsk again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachednarwhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
27
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in that hostel with 4 children. Everything's worked perfectly. Jack is a great host and the managers are always happy to help. Being able to do some washing of clothes is a plus. The location on Lenin street above the Lenin cafe is also great to visit town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We have really mixed feelings about this hostel. We booked a dorm and our train arrived in the middle of the night. Unfortunately they do not open the door at that time! Therefore we had to drive through Irkutsk at 3:00 a.m. until we found a hostel that did open at that time. (we found admiraler). The next day we came back and had a very warm welcome. To sum up some pro's and con's:

+ very friendly and helpful staff
+ great bookings available for olkhon and listvyanka. They arrange everything very well and are flexible.
+ great location in town, very central
+ nice kitchen

- hot, hot, hot! No aircon as promised. During our night we didnt sleep for one minute (literally) because of the heat and noisy street. We were up with 2 other guests who had the same problem.
- shower was kind of dirty with water and hair flowing in it.
- dont open doors in the middle of the night...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aStoryForTomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it served our needs. It is a small place but we found the kitchen and bathroom facilities to be clean and we never had to wait around.

We had the twin room which was hot and there was some traffic noise too. There is also a gap in the door so we felt it lacked privacy if other guests had been nosey! It was safe and secure though.

We did the one day trip through the hostel which was great for us as we were short on time but I do think it is overpriced and if I visit this part of the world again I would probably make my own way to Lake Baikal.

Location was good too and the directions they have on their website were perfect to follow as we walked from the train station. We walked at 3am and felt quite safe doing so.

All in all it was a good experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Absolutely horrible experience. I could write a book about the lack of kept promises and professionalism of this hostel and its staff. Firstly, the hostel itself is untidy, the rooms filthy and very badly furnished, not air-conditioned like promised, twin room did not have 2 beds, internet did not work for the most of time, its is very noicy hostel and therefore impossible to sleep, and neither the electricity plugs worked in the room. There is only 1 toilet and 1 shower in the whole hostel, and they were absolutely gross. Shower drain did not work and the bathroom flooded in water and people's hair etc. Obviously the Lonely Planet review has brought the place so much customers that they not need to serve their guests anymore.

The hostel lady also charged us 200 R for washing clothes, but in the end all our clothes were still dirty, since they do not use washing powder.

Also the tour that their organized for us to Olkhon island was a catastrophe. The minibus picked us up at 9 am (20 mins late from the schedule already in the beginning) and did not get out of town for an hour and half because the driver just stopped for a cigarette for every 5 minutes without even picking other people up from other hostels. And after "traveling" 1,5 hrs, we actually drove back to our hostel and picked up more people from there. It was complete waste of whole morning, and because of this kind of lack of cababilities to organize logistics and tours well, we lost almost whole day of our holiday at Baikal lake.

In addition, we asked if we could leave Olkhon island in the late afternoon or evening. Baikaler staff told us that it is not possible, because the latest bus leaves at 12:30 back to Irkutsk. Therefore we brought tickets to that bus. Our driver came to pick us up at 10, so again Baikaler hostel had arranged everything wrong. And last but not least, there was a bus from Olkhon to Irkutsk at 17 o'clock, so in the end it was clear that Baikaler hostel and its staff just knew nothing and neither were able to do basically anything correctly.

We stayed in several different hostels during our Trans-Siberian tour (6 stops in Russia) and this was the only negative hostel experience we had during the whole trip. I really wish that the Baikaler hostel either renovates the whole hostel and boosts their service quality in every way, or lowers its prices dramatically in the very near future, since currently it is not worth of the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaH_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at the Baikaler for a few nights while travelling around lake Baikal and on the transsiberian and I got a lot of help from the owners for every request I had. Very nice people! The hostel is very clean and well situated.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliefrancois83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a relatively small hostel in central Irkutsk. I found the hostel to be really social as the group areas are quite small, so lots of conversation with all your fellow travellers. Shared stories of trips out to Baikal or the Trans-Siberian.
They also organise some great trips - I did the Circumbaikal Walk - which was a great day walk, beautiful scenery, I was lucky enough to see ice on the lake in late April - which was soo beautiful.
I also stayed out at the Eco-Hostel in Lystvyanka.

Room Tip: This is a small popular hostel - book in advance. I saw a few people turned away when they were full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahgoesrogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irkutsk hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Irkutsk City Center
2.3 mi away
Zvezda Hotel
Zvezda Hotel
#10 of 26 in Irkutsk
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kupecheskiy Dvor Hotel
Kupecheskiy Dvor Hotel
#9 of 26 in Irkutsk
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Best Hostel Irkutsk
The Best Hostel Irkutsk
#17 of 188 in Irkutsk
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Baikal Story
Hostel Baikal Story
#3 of 188 in Irkutsk
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dobry Kot
Dobry Kot
#7 of 188 in Irkutsk
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baikaler Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baikaler Hostel

Property: Baikaler Hostel
Address: ul. Lenina 9, Apt. 11, Irkutsk 664003, Russia
Region: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Irkutsk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 188 Speciality Lodging in Irkutsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack Sheremetoff, a Lonely Planet recommended guide, welcomes you to stay in his Baikaler Hostel (he'd rather call it a '3 guest room apartment') in the epicenter of Irkutsk (corner of Lenin and Karl Marks streets). The location of the hostel is unbeatably central and ultimately convenient. You can walk everywhere you need within minutes: ATMs, pizza or restaurant, Art Museum, river walking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Baikaler Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing