We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, location and facilities”
Review of Irkutsk Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irkutsk Hostel
Ranked #59 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Irkutsk
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I arrived in Irkutsk after taking the trans-Siberian from Moscow, and was delighted by the room I had in this lovely, centrally located hostel. My own bathroom, with a tub, fully equipped kitchen and view over the town. Could not be more comfortable or happier. It is spotlessly clean, and the staff more than helpful, good enough wifi to use Skype, and excellent English speaking staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in an apartment like room. we had a twin room with attached bath and a mini kitchen . it was spacious and comfortable. the only negative is that there is mold in/on the walls. if you keep windows closed it may bother allergies. the kitchen had good supplies. the staff was pleasant.
the hostel is in a good location.
we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Irkutsk hostel was awesome place to relax after long motorcycle ride (400 km in one day on terrible Russian Siberian roads). Showers and toilets are clean but was small to our tallest friend Rafik :) We stayed here 6 nights, this hostel is located just in a few kilometres from downtown in walking distance. Girls working here were helpful, speaking in good English with strange Russian accent. No parking at all. Parking means outside area which was not very secure, first night we lost 3 mirrors from our motorcycles :( Tour to lake Baikal was fantastic! We recommend this place to anyone who travel without kids because they are very noisy. This was not a problem for us because when we sleep we don't wake up in loudest noises lol... Thank you very much to M. Serge

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baronesse Sophi... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel has a good location to walk into town. There are also supermarkets close by. It may be a stretch to call it a hostel. The communal area is tiny. It had more of a hotel or apartment feel. The reception girls were all extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was nice as well. This is a great option for Irkutsk.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank traveloehrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is handily positioned for sightseeing and not too far from the railway station - that's the good part.
Now for the not so good:
The rooms have been badly refurbished so doors are hard to open, the sheets dont fit the beds, water spills onto the floor when you have a shower and the curtains are almost transparent (not good in the summer!).
The worst thing though are the dogs - packs roam free in the neighboring streets and the dogs kept in the next door garden howl all night long!
Sleepless in Irkursk.
Give it a wide berth.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brycephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hostel is centrally located thus you have easy access to most places of interest in Irkutsk. The hotel staff was very courteous and tried to do their best to help at times of inconvenience (as much as they could). I was staying with a group of 17 in the dorms thus we caused a major traffic jam to the toilet/bathroom but hey, the dorms are not meant for long term stay as Irkutsk is not London or St. Petersburg. The kitchen area is super and have everything. Even an espresso machine.

The chocolate girls was the best :-)

Any questions send me an email - wawer2012@interia.pl

Henry

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had an enjoyable experience. We stayed in a private room with en-suite, it was very large with 2 beds, a sofa lounge, a table to eat at. The hostel provided a large kitchen for cooking meals. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had trouble buying bus tickets to Lake Baikal as we could not speak Russian. The lady at the hostel rang the bus centre for us told them we were coming to buy tickets and wrote down what we wanted in Russian, which made it much easier for us to get our bus tickets! The hostel also arranges a transfer to Lake Baikal, but we arrived mid morning and it left earlier that morning. We were able to store our bags at the hostel while we went to Lake Baikal for the night. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaz_Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irkutsk hotels
1 mi away
Baikaler Hostel
Baikaler Hostel
#10 of 198 in Irkutsk
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel Baikal Story
Hostel Baikal Story
#5 of 198 in Irkutsk
46 reviews
3.5 mi away
Irkutsk Hostel
Irkutsk Hostel
#44 of 198 in Irkutsk
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Best Hostel Irkutsk
The Best Hostel Irkutsk
#23 of 198 in Irkutsk
38 reviews
2 mi away
Irkutsk City Lodge
Irkutsk City Lodge
#8 of 198 in Irkutsk
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trans-Sib Hostel
Trans-Sib Hostel
#56 of 198 in Irkutsk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irkutsk Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irkutsk Hostel

Address: Zhelyabova St., 23A/1, Irkutsk 664011, Russia
Region: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Irkutsk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Irkutsk
Price Range: £7 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Irkutsk Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Irkutsk Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing