We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and basic room condition”
Review of Irkutsk Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irkutsk Hostel
Ranked #60 of 199 Speciality Lodging in Irkutsk
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Receptionist can speak English and was very warmhearted, she give us lots of help, including renting a car, recommend supermarket and restaurant, give instruction on site seeing and etc.
The room price is affordable, and the location is good. not far from Kirov square.
I would like to say, if you are a economical traveler, it is a good choice for you.
If you want some premium facilities and services, I have to pay double of the price for other hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenjun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Seems to be set in residential tower block. Easy to find, but may be 15 mins walk from centre. Quiet.

Stayed twice. First very large twin on ground floor. Second a compact double on 6th floor (no lift). Both have fridge, hot plate and basic kitchenware. Free luggage storage. Rooms well heated.

Visa registration cost R400 per person. Excellent English. WiFi worked well.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Basic hostel, big doublerooms. No complaints really, except the whole buildning feels quite old and a shabby. Location alright, could be more central but only a short walk away from the absolute center. Easy to find, good service, we could leave our luggage there while spending a night in Listvyanka.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I arrived in Irkutsk after taking the trans-Siberian from Moscow, and was delighted by the room I had in this lovely, centrally located hostel. My own bathroom, with a tub, fully equipped kitchen and view over the town. Could not be more comfortable or happier. It is spotlessly clean, and the staff more than helpful, good enough wifi to use Skype, and excellent English speaking staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in an apartment like room. we had a twin room with attached bath and a mini kitchen . it was spacious and comfortable. the only negative is that there is mold in/on the walls. if you keep windows closed it may bother allergies. the kitchen had good supplies. the staff was pleasant.
the hostel is in a good location.
we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Irkutsk hostel was awesome place to relax after long motorcycle ride (400 km in one day on terrible Russian Siberian roads). Showers and toilets are clean but was small to our tallest friend Rafik :) We stayed here 6 nights, this hostel is located just in a few kilometres from downtown in walking distance. Girls working here were helpful, speaking in good English with strange Russian accent. No parking at all. Parking means outside area which was not very secure, first night we lost 3 mirrors from our motorcycles :( Tour to lake Baikal was fantastic! We recommend this place to anyone who travel without kids because they are very noisy. This was not a problem for us because when we sleep we don't wake up in loudest noises lol... Thank you very much to M. Serge

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baronesse Sophi... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel has a good location to walk into town. There are also supermarkets close by. It may be a stretch to call it a hostel. The communal area is tiny. It had more of a hotel or apartment feel. The reception girls were all extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was nice as well. This is a great option for Irkutsk.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank traveloehrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irkutsk hotels
1 mi away
Baikaler Hostel
Baikaler Hostel
#9 of 199 in Irkutsk
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel Baikal Story
Hostel Baikal Story
#5 of 199 in Irkutsk
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trans-Sib Hostel
Trans-Sib Hostel
#56 of 199 in Irkutsk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Irkutsk City Lodge
Irkutsk City Lodge
#8 of 199 in Irkutsk
52 reviews
3.5 mi away
Irkutsk Hostel
Irkutsk Hostel
#42 of 199 in Irkutsk
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Admiral Hostel
Admiral Hostel
#47 of 199 in Irkutsk
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irkutsk Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irkutsk Hostel

Address: Zhelyabova St., 23A/1, Irkutsk 664011, Russia
Region: Russia > Siberian District > Irkutsk Oblast > Irkutsk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 199 Speciality Lodging in Irkutsk
Price Range: £20 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Irkutsk Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Irkutsk Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing