We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great day trip

We did the walk around part of Baikal from Listvyanka as a day trip from Irkutsk, after about 45... read more

Reviewed 2 November 2018
GandalfTheDrunk
,
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Wonderful nature

Stunning views and camping places all along the trail. Trees are marked so low chances to get lost... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2018
Olga K
Read all 81 reviews
  
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
65
12
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
12
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park per person nice walk great hike few hours couple of hours baikal lake hydrofoil permit boat permission direction section forest descent registration nature
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

I wanted to hike this during our time in Listvyanka but the forestry office where you buy the permit for the National Park was always closed, even during its supposed open hours. The last day, someone mentioned that the way to do it is to go to a nearby information booth and ask if someone from there can walk to the office with you. They will knock on the door and force the park ranger (or whoever is in that office) to open up and sell you the permit. Unfortunately I found out too late so I didn't get a chance to do the hike. Hopefully next time...

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Anakena15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Great hike from Listvyanka to Bolshi Koty. It took us about 5.5 hours, including breaks and a short swim. The hike is easy to follow, but without a map it’s difficult to know how far you are (recommend to download maps.me beforehand).

Beforehand you have to register as it is national park. We were not checked, but it’s not difficult to do so and only costs 100 Rub per person. There are several tourist information centersin Listvyanka which can all show you (even in English) the registration office and the start of the trail.

You can drink the water from the lake, but the first part of the trail goes into the woods, so bring at least 0.5L-0.75L water with you which you can refill from the lake later.

There goes a hydrofoil from Bolshie Koty to Listvyanka, but it can be fully booked, which means you’ll be stranded there if you don’t want to walk back. So get tickets beforehand! You should be able to do this through vsrp.
If you do get stranded (which was the case for us), talk to a Russian with a boat and ask if they can bring you to Listvyanka. They didn’t say yes immediately, but it was obvious that they did this more often. We payed 3000 Rub for 5 people and with that the small motor boat was full. They provided us with warm coats and it was actually a very cool experience. However, if you want to be 100% certain you can get back, definitely get tickets for the hydrofoil, as one person had to stay behind because 6 people were stranded and he could only take 5.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DianneH524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

My husband and I ( older fit couple ) walked from Listvyanka to the first place where you were on the waters edge, returning the same route on the same day. The walk uphill is about 5 k beginning from the market in Listvyanka, the first 2 km on a road. We bought our passes 100 RUB per person from the wooden building near the main pier on the same side as the ATM. We needed our passports for identification. These passes were checked as we ended the wooded section of the walk by an officer in a Russian van.
The return journey took us around 7 hours and our fit bit watches said we covered around 19 - 20 km. We roughly estimated it was 5 k uphill, then 4 km dowhill and a further 1 km to get to the waters edge. The track was well marked and we saw around 50 other people during our day. Some people were walking with young children.Ensure you take water and food as there are no shops.
It was an enjoyable day, we decided to do up and back as then we were under no pressure to reach the boat at the other end in time.

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank Rh0nda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

You need a permit to enter the national park. We forgot about it and were asked to return by the park rangers. With the help of a local guide that we met, the park rangers agreed to bring us to the place for permit registration. It took us 7 hours in total to complete the trail (we were quite slow) with 20 minutes of break. The first part (maybe 4-5km) is in a forest. At some point we thought we were on the wrong path as it seemed like we were walking into deeper part of the forest. The zig zag downslope path will eventually bring you to the shore direction. To us, a small part of it by the cliff was quite dangerous as we are not experienced trekker.
The shoreline part is amazing. We reached Bolshiye Koty around 5pm and boarded a ferry that would leave at 5:30pm.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank neelie_leen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

The three of us, accompanied by an english speaking guide, embarked on the 1st and the most popular 20km stretch of the great baikal trail from Listvyanka to Bolshoy Koty on a nice sunny, windless day in the end of may. (Whilst one does not really need a guide, but being informed about the secrets of the forest, we wouldn't have done so otherwise!). The trail was basically created by a group of volunteers, but it is quite natural and authentic. About a third of the trek is via a forest, leading across a group of hills north east of Listvyanka and the first glimpse of the baikal lake atop the last stretch in the forest is quite breathtaking. It is a fairly simple hike, with not many highly challenging portions. We had booked a private boat to drive us back to Listvyanka, but it is also possible to camp in Bolshoy koty and return the next day, or try to complete the full 60km trail.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Parth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews