We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty of animals, small cages” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novosibirsk Zoo

Novosibirsk Zoo
Ranked #1 of 297 things to do in Novosibirsk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fascinating zoo features 4000 animals representing 399 species, and is active in the preservation and reproduction of endangered species.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plenty of animals, small cages”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

An extensive zoo with plenty to see, including countless species I'd never seen or even heard of, and cotton candy bigger than my head for 50 rubles. Unfortunately both the Siberian tiger and the liger were nowhere to be found (sleeping inside their enclosures, perhaps?) which was a disappointment as those were the only animals I'd really wanted to see.
Despite the impressive array of species, I was very distracted by the fact that most animals weren't in enclosures-- they were in cages much too small to live comfortably in. Many of them were pacing back and forth tragically... so if you really care about animals this place will only depress you. :/

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,024
    158
    32
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lions and Tigers and Bears Oh My!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I visited with a group of students from the University and we had a lot of fun walking through the zoo. It was interesting to see familiar animals to me that seemed exotic to my Russian friends and animals that I had little experience with seem common place to them. There was definitely a huge variety of species and well worth a visit.

One critique I have is that the grounds are vast and it seems that some animals are repeated. Pretty sure I saw otters in two completely different parts of the zoo. It can be easy to get lost! Also many of the exhibits seemed a bit small for the animals they contained.

Over all though I had a great experience and would recommend it to others traveling in the area. Just don't forget to bring rubles for the bathroom! :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Schelty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A day at the zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

this place is great! It's out of the way, yet easily accessible by public transport, the grounds are so vast, you wouldn't be surprised to find out that you've been there all day and haven't seen everything yet! Food stands and summer cafes are dotted all around the place, serving excellent shashlyks and pirozhkis for surprisingly low prices. Take the kids and have a great time in Novosibirsk zoo!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful and cruel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

It seemed like the animals were in distress, shaking their heads back and forth pacing themselves up and down. Small cages? They should go to LA in the states and get a real understanding of what a zoo means. Throwing human food and rubbish into the polar bears enclosure making them do tricks is wrong. Its not a zoo its an awful circus.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Samidowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ierapetra, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice zoo)))”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Really felt like i was out in the nature although i was in a big city. This zoo had nothing to be jealus of the London's one. White bears were the best)))

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kostascreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Novosibirsk Zoo also viewed

 
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsky District
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsky District
 

Been to Novosibirsk Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing