We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marins Park Hotel Rostov
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Rostov-on-Don
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

No hot water, bad service, high price. I will never sleep there again. Location is good, in the center, you can reach park and malls by walk, but better choose another hotel. I don't recommend this for you to stay in Rostov there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    177
    131
    62
    34
See reviews for
32
28
39
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas & Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I am a tour guide and I work with various tour agencies. This is my second decade of traveling in Russia and I have stayed at dozens of 3 star Russian hotels. In my opinion, this is the worst 3 star hotel I have ever had the displeasure to stay at - for 5 nights! You will be stepping back into the bad old days of Soviet era hotels with Soviet management mentality. They will treat you like dirt and insist that you pay full price for the misery. They even told me that they didn't care about my promised bad Internet review because they don't cater to foreign visitors so a bad review would not affect them. OK fellow travelers, prove them to be wrong and stay away.

My group of tourists had to endure 5 days of very cold showers because there was no hot water. Several other reviewers have mentioned this same problem at various times of the year. We had prepaid the tour agency so there was no way to check-out or get a refund. They said that they had informed the tour agency that there was no hot water 3 days before we arrived but that was a verified lie. During the Soviet Union years (before 1991) most hotels got their hot water from the city wide hot water (steam) system. So, if the city had a problem with their system the entire city had no hot water. The vast majority of 3+ star hotels in Russia installed their own private hot water systems many years ago so that guests would not be forced to take cold showers. Apparently, the Hotel Rostov owners were too cheap to install their own hot water system even thought this is considered one of the nicer hotels in Rostov and their room rates are 3 star prices! Their solution to this incredible inconvenience was to offer a hot shower by appointment in the bathroom of one of the few deluxe rooms with it's own hot water heater. So, just imagine a bunch of people waiting in line in a hotel corridor in robes, slippers and towel waiting for the appointed time and hoping the other people don't use up the limited hot water supply before your time comes!!! No thanks, most of us decided to grit our teeth, muffle our screams and take fast but cold showers.

When I strongly suggested that they give my group a 30 to 40% discount, they merely smiled and said "no, why should we"? This is exactly the same mentality that we experienced 22 years ago during the Soviet Union. Of all the management staff that I spoke to, only one was nice and sympathetic but could do nothing because of the "bosses".

The hotel is relatively clean although our bed linen was not changed during the 5 days we were there. The buffet breakfast was OK but nothing special for a 3+ hotel. They had a nice little cafe in the basement - the Cossack cafe - which had hearty food at reasonable prices. On our second day there, they closed the affordable cafe and redirected people to the much more expensive restaurant upstairs. The reason was simple, too many people were choosing the affordable cafe and the expensive restaurant was not busy. Fortunately, there are a number of very good and affordable cafes and restaurants within a block of the hotel. Are you starting to understand the mentality of hotel management? Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CenTexKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rostov-on-Don hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Recently stayed at Hotel Rostov on a recent trip and got their cheapest room. Having stayed at the AMAKS Hotel last year, Hotel Rostov was priced about the same and closer to where I needed to be. The size of the room was slightly lager than the one at AMAKS, with a single bed, desk, small refrigerator and closet. The WC was a toilet, sink and (from my understanding) typical Russian shower meaning no tub, just a drain in the floor and the faucet over the sink controlling the shower head. I didn't run into the problem of not having hot water, however with it being seasonably warm, I was happy to take cooler showers. There was a large window that opened toward the service entrance of the hotel and unfortunately, no A/C. As it was the start of summer, it got quite warm in the evenings and leaving the window open for any type of airflow, you took your chance of smoke from employees out back entering your room or the mosquitoes. There is no wi-fi in the rooms, but it was available within the lobby and other common areas. A small breakfast buffet is offered with one's stay and had a limited amount of food including pastries, some meats, bread, eggs, oatmeal, orange juice with not much change each day. I did end up skipping breakfast a couple of times from being bored eating the same thing over and over. The also had a small cafe downstairs and a lounge/bar in the main lobby. The front desk staff was friendly though not so good with English, but enough to get by. In the lobby is an ATM and a station to top off your sim cards. The have a small souvenir shop, travel agency and Hertz Rent-A-Car. Next door is another cafe that has live music and a Western Union branch is one needs to change currency (note that only USD and EUR are the only things accepted).

Room Tip: I would probably have paid a little more for a room with A/C as it can get quite warm and stuffy dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whangarei new zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

About five years ago , I spent two nights at Hotel Rostov which was an enjoyable experience. The room was not large but adequate at the back of the hotel overlooking the restaurant which had a glass pyramid roof and looked good at night.(must look great when it is snowing)
The staff were helpful and the hotel is close within walking distance of the centre of the city.
To date in 2012, I have visited 9 cities in Russia and Ukraine in warmer months and all of them I have found to be beautiful with tree lined boulevardes, wide streets, wide footpaths, lots of 18th century buildings , minimal numbers of high-rise buildings, beautiful parks in the centre of the city and generally pleasant environment. There are of course, as well , in separate areas from the old buildings , the usual fairly bland ten story apartment blocks which are usually set among trees and often in need of repair to the exterior and the interior public spaces which would not be too hard to do.
Rostov is a pleasant city built on a slight hill top leading directly down to the River Don . Pleasant music was played on speakers in the city in the evenings when I was there.
The staff were helpful,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doninnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

It's absolutely true, the hot water doesn't depends of the hotel and comes from the city power plant, so if the power plant have some problems you hadn't hot water for a couple of days, but...nobody takes care of!!!
To pay with credit card is like the lottery, sometimes you can, sometimes you can't
The breakfast is one of the most amazing experiences in my life and I was travelling across Latinamerica for ten years, one week taking corn-flakes every morning.....come back to the youthness.
To say the Internet connection is slow....once you find the correct room, because in the 50% of the rooms is not slow, simply is not!!!.
Well I hope don't need to go to this hotel again....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

One of the worse hotel never seen,on my check-in the receptionist say me "We have't hot whater",I asked "Why?" and she answer me "So!never been in Rostov City before"))))))
If you have a nostalghia of sovetic union this is the right place,I haven't more words,nothing,NOTHING good!PS please,stay far for the breakfast,is danger for healt

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zag16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Just returned from a week's business trip to Russia staying in the Rostov Hotel. Looks the part - Soviet era but very comfortable and practical, situated right in the city centre.. Food was excellent with extensive choice for dinner - recommend the fried potato with onions, so tasty... Bank and bar next door and plenty variety near by. Nothing to do with the hotel but be careful walking around the city late at night.. Reception and business centre was excellent and fulfilled by needs completely. This is no 5 star hotel but if you love character then worth a visit. One last thing, temperature when I was here was well into 30'c so pay the small extra for air conditioned room.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surveyor28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rostov-on-Don hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure Rostov-on-Don Center
Mercure Rostov-on-Don Center
#1 of 33 in Rostov-on-Don
283 reviews
2.1 mi away
Topos Congress-Hotel
Topos Congress-Hotel
#19 of 33 in Rostov-on-Don
121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Don Kikhot
Don Kikhot
#10 of 33 in Rostov-on-Don
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#9 of 33 in Rostov-on-Don
114 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bellagio
Bellagio
#3 of 33 in Rostov-on-Don
89 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amaks Congress Hotel
Amaks Congress Hotel
#27 of 33 in Rostov-on-Don
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marins Park Hotel Rostov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marins Park Hotel Rostov

Property: Marins Park Hotel Rostov
Address: Budyonnovskiy Ave., 59 | Krasnoarmeiskaya St., Rostov-on-Don 344011, Russia (Formerly Rostov Hotel)
Region: Russia > Southern District > Rostov Oblast > Rostov-on-Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Rostov-on-Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marins Park Hotel Rostov 3*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress hotel "Marins Park Hotel Rostov" – the largest hotel in Rostov-on-don. The hotel is situated in the city center at the intersection of Krasnoarmeyskaya and Budennovskiy Prospekt. From the train and car station to the "Marins Park Hotel Rostov" can be easily reached on foot. Comfortable taxi will take You from the airport to the hotel quickly and inexpensively. "Marins Park Hotel Rostov" is a perfect place for romantic meetings, banquets, weddings the hotel's restaurants. Don fish soup and lamb Cossack at the restaurant "cinema", fantastic sweets baklava and Turkish delight in the Banquet hall "Skullcap". For each guest Breakfast Buffet with delicious food is always fresh and natural products – free of charge. The staff of the hotel will gladly help You to organize and hold conferences, talks and trainings in a friendly atmosphere in our meeting rooms. Modern video equipment, a broadband acoustic system, the possibility of holding international conferences. Throughout the hotel high-speed Internet "Wi-Fi-bullet" up to 250 Mbps. Among all the mini hotels in Rostov-na-Donu city guests choose the hotel "Marins Park Hotel" for the team "Marins Park Hotel Rostov" values its reputation and provides impeccable service. For each guest – comfortable rooms with perfectly balanced interior. We have prepared all the necessary facilities: bed with orthopedic mattress and hypoallergenic bedding (100% cotton), bathroom, luxury cosmetics Challet, comfortable work area, high definition TV 142 channel, fridge, safe and much more. Spa-salon where You can enjoy a variety of programs to care for face and body without leaving the hotel. It is important that every guest feel safe. For You – a secured car Park and Luggage storage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Marins Park Hotel Rostov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing