We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As for me it's good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina
Ranked #30 of 200 Hotels in Sochi
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As for me it's good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Such a big and great hotel! This place is exactly how I prefer it. It has many perfect restaurants and healthy food. I saw Russian side of Black sea-its very interesting! Russian service and culture-you must have to feel it. Quiet, nice reseptionists and ambiance. The garden near the hotel was also a treat. Nice location in the center of the SOCHI…. great room well decorated…. Just come and enjoy it.... for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    297
    156
    60
    42
See reviews for
255
144
42
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My friends suggested that we should stay in this more Soviet style hotel for our weekend in Sochi. From the outside it really looks like a classical Soviet hotel, but otherwise it was perfect for the price. A very nice pool area, ok rooms with balcony, nice bar on the first floor, and located in the center of everything. This was rated as a 3 star hotel, and in that it exceed expectations very well.I see no reason for booking some more expensive hotels, as this serves very well the purpose for a shorter stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The unresponsive staff and management complement the Soviet architecture. We had prepaid reservations, but the local staff and management refused to honor them without a premium for an "upgrade" to the double room with double bed specified on the reservation. With the location, it could be an excellent hotel, but it's not. If you want a reasonably pleasant experience, try a different hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the Zhemchuzina i at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizzly807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Basic but good value. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna, gym, 3 nightclubs that keep going all night, nurmerous restaurants and bars and a collection of women that call the rooms of single males at 3am to find out if they are bored.
Due to be refubished before the olmpics.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This hotel is on the sea front at sochi, its not expensive and was clean and the staff were excellent and helpful.Do remember to take proof of how you arrived in Sochi go enjoy and relax.
The rooms were of a good size with air con and balcony.The room cleaner on floor 6 was very good and attentive

Room Tip: Take a phrase book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

A huge hotel but very functional with good service oveall and English speakng receptionists.Breakfast was interesting and the American diner was ok for food.We ate out and best to pay cash for everything as I used my credit ard once (not in the hotel) and it was cloned.
Swimming pool very good as were the tennis courts at the hotel -basic changing rooms but adequate.Modernisation is going on but we were not disturbed by the noise -ask for a sea view.Rooms again functional but adequate, not plush but kept very clean
Night life was an eye opener for my 15 year old son as there is lap dancing in a part of the hotel.Sochi is a constrction site so leave an extra hour to get to and from the aiport the traffic jams are terrible and took us 2 hours to cover 10k to the airport!!
Ask for English menus at restaurants as most had them but keep a note of what you order as we had a few surprises and we were overcharged a couple of times as they see tourists as fair game,
The staff were friendly and it is a good central position near the centre and a beach.Before going I contacted the Sochi Club http://www.sochiclub.ru/ and Yaraslav was very helpful and speaks perfect English.
My impression overall was that Russians are not that friendly to other European tourists but in generall Sochi felt safe if you stayed in the tourist parts and did not stay out till the early hours.We were there as my daughter play in a football tournament so we had a focus but I am sure there are Black sea trips and more local architecture to see than we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view away from any renevations or you will look onto a carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RJLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The location is excellent, and use of the private beach was included in the room price.

The staff were extremely friendly (although i am thankful to the previous posts about retaining proof of how you arrived in Sochi- i was asked to show my boarding pass on checking in) and answered all my questions.

The breakfast buffet was typical of many mid-range Russian hotels i have stayed in, and i found it to be perfectly acceptable, and the range of excursions offered by the hotel were extremely enjoyable. Whilst i speak Russian, one of the tour guides spoke English and between us, i was able to enjoy the full benefit of the trip!

I was also able to pay to keep my room for an extra 6 hours (which came to around £15) on my day of departure, to allow me to fully enjoy my final day before heading to the airport.

The pool and the facilities around the pebble beach are good, and as it is a private beach, seemed much quieter and more relaxed than the rest of the embankment in Sochi.

I opted for a room without air-conditioning, which, with hindsight, was not the cleverest thing to do in late July, however this is easily remedied by asking to move rooms at the reception.

The restaurants in the hotel are fairly poor, but this was not an issue for me as i mainly ate outside of the hotel, where there is plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Request a room with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SochiRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sochi hotels
17.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Paradise Resort & Spa Sochi
0.6 mi away
Mercure Sochi Centre
Mercure Sochi Centre
#5 of 200 in Sochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sochi
Hyatt Regency Sochi
#4 of 200 in Sochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Ecodom Adler
Ecodom Adler
#10 of 69 in Adler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swissotel Resort Sochi Kamelia
0.6 mi away
Pullman Sochi Centre
Pullman Sochi Centre
#3 of 200 in Sochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina

Property: Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina
Address: Chernomorskaya St., 3, Sochi 354002, Russia
Region: Russia > Southern District > Krasnodar Krai > Greater Sochi > Sochi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sochi
#8 Business Hotel in Sochi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sochi
#18 Spa Hotel in Sochi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sochi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina 4*
Number of rooms: 887
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND HOTEL ZHEMCHUZHINA Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina is situated right by the seashore, downtown, taking up 70 000 m22. It is a modern 19-storey hotel providing magnificent view of the Caucasus Mountains and the Black sea. Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina is located in a park zone with tropical plants. Zimny theatre, Sochi circus, “Festivalny” concert hall, “Dendrarium” botanical garden, museums and theatres are situated nearby. BEACH AREA Well-equipped private beach has a capacity of 2000 pax. The following facilities are available: showers, sun loungers, deckchairs, parasols, restrooms and dressing rooms. The beach area is covered with authentic ocean sand for your ideal relaxation. Enjoy water fun activities with our pedal boats, wave runners, yachts and go windsurfing, parasailing and scuba diving. Moreover there is a special stage for performances and night discos, first-aid post, brise soleil area and sports equipment rental. Several restaurants, lounge-bar , store, billiards, massage, kids trampoline are open for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Zhemchuzhina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhemchuzhina Hotel Sochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing