We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful English-speaking staff, all else just OK”
Review of Yuzhniy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yuzhniy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Volgograd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

An older, average, hotel, comparable to a Days Inn in the US. Our room on the back overlooked a parking lot and industrial area; car alarms went off regularly.
The breakfast was not that great. They had only one kind of juice, a mixture of something that was not very good--no orange juice. No bacon.
This hotel is somewhat south of the central part of Volgograd. We walked to the embankment, park, area, but it was quite a long walk.
There is a shopping mall, including a grocery store, about a block away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Having stayed at a few different places in volgograd this is the best option. Rooms are a good size, clean and buffet breakfast is decent. It's a bit pricey, close to $200 US a night, but you are limited with your options in this city. Close to restaurants and mall in the central district of volgograd.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fricking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is near some shopping centres and restaurants. It has only three stars, nevertheless the rooms are big and quiet, well equipped, the bed very comfy, air conditioning working. Staff friendly and somehow English-speaking. Also the breakfast is more than adequate. Attention, non-smoking rooms only!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Franco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I was in the apartement part. Breakfast and location excellent. It was cheap, but you get for it nice service. Close to the malls and tram station, which is one of the famous touristic attractions of the "hero city" - город герой.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel as part of a group in April 2013
We were allotted a twin room - but oh what a disappointment
One bed was in the top left corner - the other, in the bottom right - so much for being close to the one you love!!!
The reason was due to the room size - the rooms are small compered with European hotels of a similar grading. There was only enough storage for the contents of 1 suitcase - the other had to stay on the desk in the room. It seemed as though the room was originally designed for 1 person and it had been "upgraded" to hold 2.
Our room was on the front - and the hotel is floodlit all through the night. As the curtains were very thin, we had to sleep in an illuminated room - the management should install thicker curtains on the front room
The other guests in the Hotel seemed to be businessmen - in fact the Hotel has Conference facilities - could this be why the rooms are small for 2 people (based on European standards)?
There is a bar/restaurant - but take care when you enter. Each evening there was some form of entertainment - sounds good? Well on one evening a stripper - yes a stripper - strutted her stuff. The ladies in our group, who were having a drink in the bar, were very embarrassed - and, before you ask... Yes the stripper went "all the way". There were no signs or details of this entertainment to warn you of what was in store.
Now, I am not a prude, but if the hotel management want to look to tourist groups they cannot cannot carry on like this - such entertainment should be in a separate room
Prices on drinks can be a "lottery"; our group had numerous cases where the drinks charged did not match the bill "these are the new prices" seemed to be the phrase of the day. I choose a bottle of wine for 900 roubles and the same bottle (with the 900 price tag still visible) came priced at 1039!! I had the usual excuses - all of which I rejected. The staff seemed to refer to a "manager" at the bar. In the end, when I said "no sale" the price became 900!! Our group had many cases of actual or attempts to overprice drinks.
This is not something that would attract tourists.
It seems a pity that such a hotel, in a good position, should have these faults - yet this is claimed to be the number 1 hotel in Volgograd - what are the others like?!!
If management are looking to attract more visitors, especially those from outside Russia it must change and improve it's modus operandi
We understand that a new football complex will be built for FIFA 2018 World Cup and this will include a new hotel. Volgograd needs a new hotel - and the others should be improved to reach the standards that tourists expect

Room Tip: Make sure it is a room with a double bed. If one the front make sure it has thick curtains. Watch ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Nice hotel, pretty convenient location. All the sites are easily accessible either by not expensive taxi or by speedy underground tram. Nearest stop is 5-7 min walk from the hotel. Room is spacious and well sound isolated to have a calm night. Windows are covered with mosquito net wich is important in the region. Bathroom is well equipped and looks nice as well. Reception staff is English speaking. Wi-Fi is free and with acceptable speed. The hotel belongs to Best Eastern chain and the B-fast is a bit too Eastern. Too much heavy stuff of the average quality, no orange juice and porridge was over cooked 2 times out of 3 B-fasts I’ve had during my stay. Simple improvement on morning meals and the hotel will be perfect. Maybe a free city map would be nice too since Volgograd is far well known as a must see spot all over the world. Would stay again if I come across.

Room Tip: Rooms facing back side seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergioneMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. We booked one of the apartments offered, which are located in a nearby block of flats (belonging to the hotel). The apartment was simply great. We had any kinds of facilities and services, from the TV to the kitchen, from the telephone to the iron. Breakfast was self service buffet, with the food very similar to that served in continental Europe, fresh and tasty (just do not look for orange juice).

Our only concern before flying to Volgograd was the distance from the hotel to the central streets. However, once arrived there, we realized that it is quite easy to reach the very centre (I would say that the hotel is already in the central part of the town). On foot it could take about 20-30 minutes maximum, and by tram (a sort of fast tram service similar to a metro) only 5/7 minutes (two stops from "Profsoyznaia"). The tram station is 5 min walking distance from the hotel. At night, when metro or bus services do not work, a journey by taxi costs around 3 euros (100 rubles). However, if you don't speak Russian, the price of the taxi could be higher, I believe about 6 euros. This happens because you are not able to contact low cost taxis.

In the apartment there is excellent WI-FI Internet and a safe. Actually ours was not working, but the apartment is absolutely safe and therefore, despite being offered to put our valuables into the safe of the reception, we left everything in our room. All the apartments in that block of flats belong to the hotel, and to enter the building you need a special key. The stairs and the entrance are controlled with CCTV. Staff is polite and does speak English. The cleaning service is excellent; efficient, and provided every day.

You can book apartments or rooms on-line, guaranteeing your reservation by credit card, or you can opt for a non guaranteed reservation to be paid upon arrival. In the nearby area, close to the above-mentioned tram station, you find a McDonald's and a shopping mall.

Room Tip: Pick up apartments: they are cheaper and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StefanoTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volgograd hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Volgograd Profsoyuznaya
1.4 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Volgograd
10.8 mi away
Hotel Start
Hotel Start
#4 of 30 in Volgograd
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Нotel Gallery Park Volgograd
Нotel Gallery Park Volgograd
#12 of 30 in Volgograd
45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Volgograd Hotel
Volgograd Hotel
#5 of 30 in Volgograd
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Yuzhny
Aparthotel Yuzhny
#8 of 30 in Volgograd
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuzhniy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuzhniy Hotel

Address: Raboche-Krestyanskaya St., 18, Volgograd 400074, Russia
Region: Russia > Southern District > Volgograd Oblast > Volgograd
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Volgograd
Price Range: £33 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yuzhniy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Yuzhniy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing