We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i loved this”

Mamayev Hill Monuments
Ranked #5 of 205 things to do in Volgograd
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These momuments marks the area where the Soviet army defeated Hitler's army on the eastern front during World War II.
Reviewed 27 June 2018

the motherland calls is a must see attraction in Volgograd. The statue is huge and i was informed its the largest free standing statue in the world. it is breathe taking and all the monuments around it is cool
ensure you are around for the change of guard at the the memorial. also take awesome pictures of Volgograd and the Volga river from the base of the statue

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jeffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"motherland calls"
in 14 reviews
"eternal flame"
in 18 reviews
"mother russia"
in 7 reviews
"world war"
in 7 reviews
"main statue"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 2 reviews
"statue of liberty"
in 3 reviews
"impressive statue"
in 2 reviews
"fitting tribute"
in 2 reviews
"russian soldiers"
in 2 reviews
"red army"
in 2 reviews
"volga river"
in 2 reviews
"statues"
in 14 reviews
"steps"
in 13 reviews
"guard"
in 18 reviews
"hall"
in 8 reviews
"memorial"
in 16 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

A truly spectacular monument. Well worth walking up the 200 steps (a step for each day of the battle).
There's also the eternal flame in the viewing hall - where there's the changing of the guard on the hour, ever hour.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank jamie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

When walking up to The Motherland Calls statue, you have monuments on all sides. It was poignant because you had quotes describing the bravery of the Red Army troops, in addition to audio recordings to set the tone. Honestly, I couldn't help but feel moved!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Conan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

This memorial is a very fitting tribute to the members of the Red Army who died during the most significant battle of World War 2. I had always wanted to see it, and I was not disappointed. The Motherland Calls statue is a masterpiece. It towers beautifully over the Mamaev Kurgan hill where thousands of Red Army soldiers found their final resting place. It is a very emotional experience to be present at this place knowing that so many men gave their lives here in defence of our freedom. The changing of the guard takes place every hour at the eternal flame which is located in the Hall of Glory just before you ascend the pathway which leads to the Motherland Calls monument. This memorial was the main reason I went to Volgograd & it was an experience I will never forget. I have to say that when it comes to remembering those who made the ultimate sacrifice in defending their Motherland, the Russians have got it right.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Gerry674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We visited Mamaev Curgan and it's so grand and impressive that brings me to tears....
It's a monument to this heroic Russian nation!!!
Get ready for at least half day visit. Bring some water with you. We didn't stay around for food so don't know what is available around.
Impressive!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamayev Hill Monuments also viewed

 
Volgograd, Volgograd Oblast
Volgograd, Volgograd Oblast
 

Been to Mamayev Hill Monuments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing