We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Avenue Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Yekaterinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We ended up here by chance as our booked hotel had closed for refurbishment. The location is excellent - right in the town centre - and the hotel's rooms and facilities are fine. What marked it out for us, though, was the helpful attitude of the staff, who made our stay really pleasant - and arranged a taxi to the station for us when we left at a non-exorbitant price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WardenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    97
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
12
15
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, SC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great Location -- well within walking distance of most of the downtown sites and shopping. Easy access to restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Bar stays open all night. WiFi ok, but not sure it wasn't my computer. Empty, non-functional "mini-bar" (fridge). Reserved a twin room for my son and I. Perfect fit for us, but we don't travel with a lot of luggage. Breakfast buffet was quite good. Since there was no A/C, it could get a bit noisy with the windows open -- facing the street.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are rooms that don't face the street, but that might be an option as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_Chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

I like this hotel. Large enough room, quiet enough and the staff at reception are eager to help. The empty minibar and fading wifi are my only complaints. I would use this modern hotel again as it is also very central. It lacks character but for a short work trip that doesn't worry me.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Good reception, good location, good gym, bed mattress - cheap. Wifi network -average speed. Close to main city attractions. Small TV sets and narrow bathroom. In general, if price/quality is assessed, the hotel has tough 4 mark!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shosalimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed twice (March and July2012) in this three star hotel. 
Room (Superior double) is (relatively) spacious, clean and simple.  
Hotel has a cafe/bar on the ground floor (technically ground floor) and a breakfast bar and a restaurant on the 2nd floor. Food was good. Solyanka soup (lemony taste borcsh) was my favorite. However,   breakfast bar doesn't offer green salad leaves and 'fried eggs over easy' was always overcooked.  We assumed they don't know what 'over easy' means.   Most of serving staff were university students in July and they were very attentive. 
Wifi was free but we needed to get the separate login ID and password for each device for every three days. 

This hotel is centrally located - which a huge advantage as there is no (properly operated) taxi available and very expensive to use.  There are the  lake (city pond),  museums, old churches and shopping centres (all international brands though) are in a walking distance. An opera house is right across the hotel. 

Roaring sounds of racing cars at night woke us up couple times but wasn't too bad. 

NEAR THE HOTEL
Tommy tuna- 
No English menu but you can see from the photo. 

Aladdin theater restaurant-
 10 min walk from the hotel. Manti (Chinese dimsum) and Samosa was nice. Beef stroganoff with mash-potato was good. 

Pepper-
Italian restaurant. We walked quite a bit (15-20min). Strange music but good food. 

Brut restaurant and bar-
It is next to the city pond. Our Russian friend said it was established under the guidance of waiters association (I'm not sure that was the right name), consequently they offer a wide range of fantastic cocktails. But we only stayed there for a coffee as there were no English Menu and no English speaking waiters when we went there. 

Mama's big house-
Near the city hall (administration). So you need to walk a bit. 
I like their unique-humorous deco, in particular toilet.  They do have a English menu. Burger was offered with stir-fried (not deep fried) potato wedges and salsa (?), which was not exactly what you would expect. Burger was good though. 

Yellow submarine- 
The 'yellow submarine' two doors down from the hotel. Local singers' live music was entertaining. We had a blast for two nights but unfortunately they didn't have dry white wine but semi dry (sweet) so we had to drink beer. 

Last November we went to the famous Jazz bar (you need a taxi).  They were having their (jazz bar's) birthday party. If you are a jazz fan, strongly recommend. 

Back to the hotel, I like this hotel for its central location and guest oriented staff. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huntsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Everything is ok, service might be more pleasant, but for business trips hotel is perfect due to location and free WiFi internet.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DctrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Location of this hotel is nice in down town in the main street of Yekaterinburg. Rooms are clean and big. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is nice, good choice. Price is acceptable. Next time Im going to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moscovite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yekaterinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Voznesensky Hotel
Voznesensky Hotel
#9 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton
DoubleTree by Hilton
#3 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Hotel
#6 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Onegin Hotel
Onegin Hotel
#2 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Yekaterinburg Centre
Novotel Yekaterinburg Centre
#5 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#7 of 51 in Yekaterinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Avenue Hotel

Property: Grand Avenue Hotel
Address: Lenina Ave., 40, Yekaterinburg 620075, Russia
Region: Russia > Urals District > Sverdlovsk Oblast > Yekaterinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Yekaterinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing