We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlton Al Moaibed Hotel
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Al Khobar
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Unfortunately stayed at this hotel during Ramadan, so have not had the same experience I may have had outside this period. The rooms are ok, food is ok, conference facilities ok.
Good friendly help from the front desk staff, cleaning staff and serving staff. Did not have to wait for too long for any services at this hotel.
Staff always helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
1
4
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

the rooms are ok.not that big, but the main problem is that staff is slow and service is not that good. when i asked to ,akeup my room twice they said we makeup the room only once in a day.kids area was just two slides and no lawn or garden to speak of.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs_waqas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A one week stay that incorporated use of their conference facilities. Had a person dedicated to all my conference needs, which were minimal as they already had everything set up. I did not start one day without at least one person checking to ensure everything was okay. Nice buffet's every day, if you were hungry at the end of the day, it was your fault. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed at carlton hotel for 3 night my company booked for me at it was my first time i met lots of nice people there all taking care of my needs and helping me feel home.the hotel has a big variety of food and buffet is always delicious , rooms are clean and bid , i would stay there again and would tell my friends to do so.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here last week for work. Upon checkin I requested a non smoking room. the room was newly furnshed but they forgot to change the carpet which was filthy and worn. However the bed was ok I had a bad sleap due to the noise of the huge A/C engines just outside the room. The next day I requested a change. The friendly frontdesk staff tolld me that all the non smoking rooms were on the noisy side of the Hotel. but they had one room on the smoking side available but they used it as a non smoking room. Besides that this room had not been refitted yet and was old and worn I found a box of cigarettes and lighters in the mini bar.
Just like my room the food on the breakfast buffet was old as I found moldy bread on my plate. Overall this hotel is 'just ok'to stay in but definatelly not worth 5 star. For 100 SAR more you stay in the Holiday inn which is nearby and much cleaner and newer!

Room Tip: When you need to stay here request a smoking room to avoid the noice from the A/C engines
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 915Alexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Al Khobar hotels

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

If you end up at this hotel, avoid eating. After eating a small turkey sandwich at the conference I stayed at the hotel to attend, I had severe stomach troubles, ended up in the ER and spent a couple of days resting at home. It is not 100% determined that the hotel food caused this, but I believe it did. The food did not taste that good anyway.

In any case, this is an outdated facility located in the middle of no-where.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EB1433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Carlton Al Moaibed Hotel, is a fairly old hotel and though it says it is a 5 star it is seems like a 2 or 3 stars. I was doing a 10 day training session there for a client and though the banquet services were excellent, the room and the food was not something to write home about. The room that i was in was small, housekeeping bad, stained beds and chairs, old and leaking plumbing in the room.

The restaurants are very average, cuisine is a mix of arabic, mediterranean and with bits of italian thrown in. The buffet served was however very nice and a royal spread available on all days, though the taste was very very mediocre. Room Service was not at all good and the menu very lebanese. I usually would order a chicken sandwich was the best in the menu. I ordered a grilled chicken one day, but they sent me a cremated chicken and the room service refused to take my complaint as they said it was well done.

Saw very few international guests, mostly people from the Middle east. The banquet services were good and the staff there very helpful.

If you have to be in that area then, there are there choices like sofitel, this hotel is not a preferred place, but then if you client hosts you there, ... enjoy the buffet!

Room Tip: HIgher rooms are recommended but ask for the newly furbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anirudh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Al Khobar hotels
4.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dhahran
Radisson Blu Hotel Dhahran
#10 of 76 in Al Khobar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Al Khobar
Holiday Inn Al Khobar
#23 of 76 in Al Khobar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Al Khobar
Mercure Al Khobar
#14 of 76 in Al Khobar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Al Khobar
6.0 mi away
Habitat Hotel All Suites - Al Khobar
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Al Khobar-Corniche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Al Moaibed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Al Moaibed Hotel

Property: Carlton Al Moaibed Hotel
Address: | PO Box 1235, Al Khobar 31952, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Al Khobar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Al Khobar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Al Moaibed Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Carlton Al Moaibed Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing