We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina
Ranked #4 of 148 Hotels in Medina
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel is very convenient and located very closed to the Alharam mosque. Although the meal is average, the cleanliness and the service are very good. Room amenities are also very good. The staff are friendly and you will easily find those who can speak English. When I stayed there I had to recharge the room key many times, but It was OK for a safety reason. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rina146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHDI B, Responsable relations clients at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2015

Dear Mrs. Rina,

Thank you very much for your very positive comment and your support. We hope to welcome you again at Majlis GRAND MERCURE.

Best regards,

Mehdi (your Guest Experience Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

breakfast was not that great the room was not bad but cleaning is not very good
elevators are the worst thing u need to wait a lot for an elevator sometimes
total atmosphere in the hotel not good at all

Room Tip: i believe with this amount u can stay in many other better hotels
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmirHussein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHDI B, Responsable relations clients at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent comment, it will be a pleasure and honor to welcome you again at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina.
I will forward your suggestion to the concerned Managers.

Kind regards,

Mehdi (your Guest Experience Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

the hotel has a nice location very close to Alharam, breakfast also very good, nothingmore: Rooms are not clean enough, poor service reception staff are not enough friendly, but other staff are very polite

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHDI B, Responsable relations clients at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent comment, it will be a pleasure and honor to welcome you again at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina.
I will forward your suggestion to the concerned Managers.

Kind regards,

Mehdi (your Guest Experience Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The decorators have made good use of the minimalist technique to achieve a form of muted splendour that comforts rather than dazzles. The use of white linen is a symbol of the highest possible cleanliness standards, and commendable in this most busy of settings. This hotel is also remarkable for its complete absence of noxious odours that seem to have become a trademark of so many of Madinah's 4star and 5star hotels. I find this credible. Also, the attention to detail shows itself in the rooms.
The reception staff is courteous, pleasant and helpful. They happen to speak English as well as Arabic.The bellboys are all devoted to their work and polite, a fact that is not true of quite a few other hotels that I visited.
All in all, I got ample value for my money and I would definitely like to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AinaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHDI B, Responsable relations clients at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your excellent comment, it will be a pleasure and honor to welcome you again at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina.
I will forward you message to my team.

Kind regards,

Mehdi (your Guest Experience Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Good Value for money. Very close to the Masjid Al Nabawi. Rooms are well decorated and Well-lit.

Room Tip: Gor for the higher floor rooms looking over the city. Due to construction at a neaby hotel, the room...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arabian_Quest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHDI B, Responsable relations clients at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your excellent comment, it will be a pleasure and honor to welcome you again at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina.
I will forward you message to my team.

Kind regards,

Mehdi (your Guest Experience Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

look bad from outside, but it's beautiful inside.
only a short walk to gate 16 of Nabawi (one minute walk).
staff was OK, with lack english capabilities

too bad, when hajj season, it's too crowded, and the lift can't accommodate the guests.
they need. they should add more lift, or at least make the lift to move faster.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHDI B, Responsable relations clients at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your excellent comment, it will be a pleasure and honor to welcome you again at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina.
I will forward you message to my team.

Kind regards,

Mehdi (your Guest Experience Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

The hotel is in the second line of hotels on the north side of the Haram so it doesnt offer any views except of the city.

This used to be a Sheraton but thankfully for the Sheraton brand it isnt anymore. As with all the hotels around the area they are all reasonably modern - however the level of decor is simple and the bathrooms are rather plain and simple in white ceramic.

I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which is located in the end where the hotel curves - so accordingly you end up with a strange shape room with it becoming wider as it goes forward. There is 1 bathroom, a sitting area, kitchenette and a separate small bedroom with a double bed.

Service was ok apart from the lack of English speaking reception staff and slow time to answer the phone.

This is the second time that I have stayed here and I would only choose this when the hotels next to the haram are full as they offer an even better location and better quality (Intercon and Hilton).

My complaint with nearly all the hotels in the area is that they are 3 star hotels claiming to the 5 star. This is nonsense as they dont have the facilities or furnishings. They are set up for the masses who come through here during Ramadan and Hajj and I can understand that by keeping them simple they reduce breakages and costs.

Overall, ok but not special. A decent 'ghunam' (arabic for sheep) hotel (a hotel that is set up to deal with the masses).

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hoods_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEHDI B, Responsable relations clients at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent comment, it will be a pleasure and honor to welcome you again at Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina.
I will forward your suggestion to the concerned Managers.

Kind regards,

Mehdi (your Guest Experience Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.1 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 148 in Medina
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.1 mi away
Shaza Al Madina
Shaza Al Madina
#5 of 148 in Medina
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Taiba Hotel
Millennium Taiba Hotel
#12 of 148 in Medina
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Zamzam Madina
Pullman Zamzam Madina
#7 of 148 in Medina
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Madinah
Crowne Plaza Madinah
#9 of 148 in Medina
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina

Address: Central Area, Medina, Saudi Arabia (Formerly Western Alharithia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Medina
#2 Spa Hotel in Medina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Medina
#5 Family Hotel in Medina
Price Range: £74 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina 5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Madina (ACCORHOTELS group) offers 5-star accommodations overlooking the Prophet Mosque (150 meters), Islam's second holiest site. It features a gym and rooms with free Wi-Fi. Red floor carpets and recessed lighting provide the air conditioned rooms with a warm feel. Each room has a flat-screen satellite TV. The private bathrooms have double vanities. After a good night's rest, guests can enjoy breakfast in their rooms. Grand Mercure's restaurant serves international and traditional Saudi cuisine. There is also a selection of on-site shops. Free private parking is offered on availability. The staff at the 24-hour front desk can arrange a shuttle service to and from Prince Mohammad Bin Abdulaziz Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing