We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medina”
Review of Royal Dyar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Dyar Hotel
Ranked #51 of 151 Hotels in Medina
Reviewed 14 December 2011

nice hotel....free WiFi.....the restaurants’ are very good...All the staff were very friendly. Near masjid Nabawi

Room Tip: Family suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zasani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

The 5 star hotel is new, its next to the Medina Hilton although there is a main road separating both hotels. They needed a doorman at the main entrance to greet the guests as initially we had to search around for a bell boy to take the luggage as our taxi was parked round the corner from the hotel.

On the day we arrived, 350 rooms had checked out and they were expecting new guests throughout the day arriving from Makkah to check in on these 350 room. They had one person on the reception desk when we arrived. One person came round to help him, saw the commotion and soon disappeared.

It would be safe to say that check in was not smooth. A group leader for a Turkish group was shouting as he had elderly and infirmed guests that were waiting an age in reception. There were families with young children who had to wait for a room to be ready and you must remember that it can take 4-6 hours to arrive from Makkah. One of the reasons the rooms were not ready was because they only have 1 or 2 people who clean the rooms on each floor. This means one person has to get maybe 30 rooms ready on each floor once guests have checked out. As the hotel has increased its rates for the busy period of Ramadan then there should had got more staff although realistically getting work permits for this may be an issue.

When my turn arrived at reception, the check in guy had an issue with my booking. Instead of discussing this with me, he told me to wait whilst he phoned someone. I waited for a hour, before I asked what the issue was. It seems there was a mix up over my name although this was not an issue with my booking receipt. However I managed to clear this up in 5 minutes, if only he told me what the issue was earlier.

Our initial room was unsatisfactory but the manager said if we gave him 24 hours it would get the matter resolved and he did. The second room we got was much better, we got a double bed, a street view and we could see the harem if we stuck our heads out of the window.
We had evening meal for part of the stay. We had a good choice of food, the mixed grill was nice but I was not keen on the seekh kebabs. There was a rush during the evening meals and sometimes the staff seem to struggle and there may not always be tables available, something the hotel should had planned for. After all during Ramadan it would be obvious when we all wanted to eat!

The hotel has free wifi in the reception floor and wired internet in the rooms, they provide the wires when asked. We did have issues with our room lock as it would not always lock properly, the tv was a bit strange to set up and the in room fridge could over heat as it was placed in a cabinet. The AC worked well and we had tables and chairs in our room which was useful when we bought food in the room.

The rooms were of a good size, the bathroom was big but we had a bath/shower and the water seemed to leak outside a lot when we used the shower as the shower curtain was not good enough. I know from talking to other guests that not all rooms were perfect and several guests had various issues with their rooms.

The lifts were busy during peak times but we normally had no issues as they were usually fast with little waiting time.

For the latter part of our stay we had breakfast during our stay. this must be the only 5 star hotel that does not give you normal Orange juice at breakfast. They fill it up with boxed juices but it mixed cocktail and Orange & Carrot. They had an omelette station but it could take a while for the omelettes to be cooked. the cook would not use a second burner and lines could be long during busy periods. Not good in a country were certain guests like to jump queues. Unsurprisingly this led to heated arguments early in the morning, as far as I concern I blame the hotel management s they could had got a second cook in to make sure the egg station ran smoothly.

The hotel has good location just a few minutes' walk to the Harem, the complex has two other hotels, there are all kinds of shops, stores and places to eat nearby.

If the hotel operated more smoothly, as some of the issues could be dealt with better planning and better trained staff. It's the local staff who are inefficient with those from Indian sub continent placed with a greater burden. Its not a 5 star but it is good enough for those wanting a better class hotel.

Room Tip: If you can check several rooms first as quality can vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank PrestonGuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mazinawn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank 5abdelqader5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank sayadsalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fitriana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Almulhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Eman Royal Hotel
Al Eman Royal Hotel
#48 of 151 in Medina
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elaf Taiba Hotel
Elaf Taiba Hotel
#64 of 151 in Medina
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 151 in Medina
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Madinah Marriott Hotel
Madinah Marriott Hotel
#30 of 151 in Medina
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
#9 of 151 in Medina
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saraya Taba Hotel
Saraya Taba Hotel
#22 of 151 in Medina
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dyar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dyar Hotel

Address: King Fahad Street | Madina Al Munawarah, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range: £72 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dyar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Dyar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dyar Hotel Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing