We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money during Canton Fair”

Lavande Hotel Guangzhou Pazhou
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lavande Hotel Guangzhou Pazhou
Ranked #904 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Value for Money during Canton Fair”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

With high season rates at most hotels during the Canton Fair in Guangzhou, this is a good place to stay. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the fairground and comfortable to stay. There seemed to be at least one English speaker at the front desk at all hours, which we found quite helpful.
Pros: Quiet, comfortable and clean. Location is good, if you're just planning on visiting the Pazhou fairground every day (multiple free shuttle services also available during fair dates). Staff were very polite, courteous and eager to help.
Cons: Reservations not real-time or secure, and I needed to send multiple emails to get a booking. Also, they required me to send credit card and passport copies by email (no secure server) to confirm the booking. Location is very close to the fair grounds, but a good 45 mins by taxi from the tourist areas of the city or the main stations and airport. There aren't any 'international' restaurants nearby - only local Chinese cuisine. No Metro station near the hotel either, so you must rely on taxis to get out. Staff was trying to be helpful, but it seemed like a lot of them were still trainees and did not fully know how to operate their own systems (and once, a credit card machine). Money exchange can be a problem too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0asted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    24
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
1
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We arrived in Guangzhou around 8 PM via intercity train from Hong Kong. It took us less than 30 minutes to get to the hotel. As you getting closer to the hotel (into ChiZha Rd), you will see lots of small stores and people selling stuff on the road side. The hotel is located inside Guangdong University of Business Studies. The taxi will stop at the main gate and you will have to walk around 30 meters to get to the hotel main door. When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist told us that the room that we book through China Highlight travel agent was not available. There was a problem during our reservation. The solution they gave us was to give us a room in a different building (the building was way in the back of the university). We looked at the room and the room was without carpet and the bed was hard. Although the room is not as good as the ones in the hotel, the room was very clean and well maintained. We told the receptionist that we would take this room but we are not willing to pay as much as the original amount of USD 47/night. They said they will talk to the manager the next morning to discuss it.

As we checked in to the room, there is a welcome fruit basket on the table. The next day, we talked to the manager and he gave us a complimentary voucher of RMB 100 to spend in the restaurant as well as RMB 100 refund for the cost of our trouble. They were very understanding our dilemma and were trying hard to make our stay more pleasant.

As for location, the hotel's location was perfect for Canton Fair, it took only about 5 minutes by bus to the fair. The hotel provided a shuttle at 3 different times in the morning and 3 different times in the afternoon for free. If you are in Guangzhou for vacation, this might not be as perfect because the location is not at the downtown area. You will need to get a bus to the nearest train station.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherZGabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

On the campus of the Guanzhou Business school, about 1 km as the crow flies from the Pazhou trade fair complex (but about a 10 minute drive / 45 minute walk as you have to go over a bridge to get there). Seems to cater mostly to a Chinese clientele

Positives
- conveniently located for Canton Fair without paying an arm and a leg
- large, clean room
- good internet service
- friendly, helpful staff
- good price (especially during fair)
- bus station 1 minute away (if you are familiar with local bus routes)
- Chinese restaurant food in hotel is good and reasonably priced (but English language menu has far fewer items on it than the Chinese one).


Negatives
- mattress on my king bed was rock hard. (reminded me of the mattress at the Paradisus Varadero).
- Not much to do in the neighbourhood
- 50 minute cab ride from the airport
- Not close to subway

Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LifeofRyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plano, tx
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

This hotel offers the best service by the friendliest staff. The staff was eager to do everything they can to make the stay most comfortable. Miss Chase made the booking over the phone and she personally made sure my stay was comfortable. I was so impressed that I recommend to my friends to stay there and she hooked them up with great rates. This is ideal hotel for business (not pleasure) as it is conviniently located near Pazou complex.
Best value for money.

  • Liked — best service
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gbpatel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2008

A hidden gem. Stayed at the hotel during the Canton Fair 2008 for five nights. This hotel is only 5 min drive from Pazhou complex and free shuttle bus service is available. There cannot be a better value for the business traveller especially due to its location. Only reason no one knows about this hotel is because it is brand new. Opened in March 2008, some parts of it were still being constructed. So there were some minor inconveniences but the staff at the hotel more than made up for it. They tried their best to accommodate and provided exceptionally courteous service.

Shangri La hotel (US$ 579 - $629 during Canton Fair) is about as close to Pazhou but I paid US$90 at Guangshang per night with free breakfast and free high speed Internet. Just can't beat the value. Lunch and dinner buffet were available at a very reasonable RMB 48. The hotel is inside the campus of a business university offering very safe environment for visitors.

If you are planning to stay at this hotel, print the hotel map with Chinese address and directions to give to the taxi driver. Its available on their web site (www.gsbusiness-hotel.com) click contact us on the bottom of the page.

Location, excellent customer service, safe environs and freebies - Strongly recommended.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Could not find it on the Internet
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FZCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

I have just returned from this years Canton Fair, and finding this hotel was a strike of genius by my china rep.

The Pazhou Guangsheng Hotel is a business hotel. In my experience this means that it is not a good type of hotel to base yourself if you are site-seeing and this is no exception. But if you are seeking a new, clean modern hotel to base yourself at for the Canton Fair, this is it.

Initially, I booked myself into a hotel in Panyu, as I was priced out of most hotels in Guangzhou and it looked close enough to the fair's Pazhou complex. But do not be fooled by maps or hotel provided room images! Panyu is miles away from the fair and although the area feels safe and friendly, the hotel I stayed in needed a serious refurb so I had to move.

The Guangsheng Hotel is listed as a 3 star hotel but it puts most 4 star hotels in China to shame. I think it is only listed as a 3 star, because it has not fridge or safe in the rooms. But this has been suggested and I think they will offer this by the time the next fair comes along.

I booked a suite and the room was massive. Facilities included a flat screen tv, power shower, kingsize bed, floor to ceiling windows and coffee making facilities. All for 550RMB per night. Rooms have been newly decorated, were fresh and offered aircon as standard. There are smaller rooms available but the upgrade is definately worth it. Breakfast was included in the price and was served as a buffet in the hotel restaurant on the ground floor.

In terms of the fair, the hotel is only 5 mins away from the new Pazhou fair. This hotel offers a 'as you need it' pick up and drop off service. Mainly because it is so close to the complex - and other hotels struggle to do this. It is such a great service because it gives you flexibility for travelling when you want, especially if you want a late start, or want to come back early.

The staff are great. Most of them spoke english and they did all the little things that help a traveller. We took so many brochures back to the hotel, they suggested I use their weighing machine to ensure my luggage did not exceed its limit! They have a young but experienced team that oozes enthusiasm.

Overall I would say this is THE best hotel to stay in if you are going to the Canton Fair. Not a sight-seeing hotel, but if you are there for the fair, you should'nt have time anyway. This is new hotel with a desire to impress. If they add the in-room safe and fridge, this will be the best business hotel in Guangzhou.

  • Liked — New, fresh and a stones through from the Canton Fair Pazhou Complex
  • Disliked — No Fridge or In-Room Safe.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank biztravelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.3 mi away
Pa Zhou Hotel
Pa Zhou Hotel
#1,308 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Guangzhou Boyi Hotel
Guangzhou Boyi Hotel
#1,268 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yiwu Commatel Hotel
Yiwu Commatel Hotel
#1,549 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ming Tai T Hotel
Ming Tai T Hotel
#218 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#1,514 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Huayi Hotel Haizhu
#661 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavande Hotel Guangzhou Pazhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavande Hotel Guangzhou Pazhou

Property: Lavande Hotel Guangzhou Pazhou
Address: No.21 Chisha Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510320, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #904 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavande Hotel Guangzhou Pazhou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your Lavande Hotel Guangzhou Pazhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangshang Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing