We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“noisy plumbing, more budget than business” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry Business Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Henry Business Hotel
Ranked #320 of 3,385 Hotels in Guangzhou
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“noisy plumbing, more budget than business”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

There is no meeting area for work purposes, a little strange for a "business" hotel. May they had something else in mind?
Probably OK if you are working to a budget. Positive aspect is that it is near the airport about 35 minutes.
Maintenance is falling behind, the corridors are worn and smell strongly of smoke.
Inside the rooms is OK. There is good space, bathroom is good, clean and big with a good strong shower. However there are stains on the living room walls.
Bottled water tastes off! Boiled but still has strange taste.
Internet is free in the room and there is Wifi lobby.
Noisy plumbing is the worst as aspect, you can hear the shower running, and toilets flushing. Not good for a light sleeper.
Located in a older residential area, and not many restaurants in walking distance, but there is one good Hunan style (hot and spicy) restaurant, just around the corner on the left as you exit the lobby.
Would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    52
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
5
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was really impressed by Henry Hotel. Check in was quick, and the receptionist spoke pretty good English and advised me on internet connection and the airport bus.

I stayed here because I needed to be near the airport. Took a taxi here from central Guangzhou which cost 130Y (£13/$20). Not sure how you would get here by public transport. The Guagnzhou North rail station is very nearby, but getting there isn't easy with suitcases etc. Probably a better alternative is to take the metro to airport, then catch the airport shuttle bus. It costs 8RMB and takes about 25 minutes.

I took the bus quite early in the morning (0600h) so there was no traffic. Dead easy, the bell boy in the lobby made sure he flagged it down when it came into the drive. Your alternative is a 50-60RMB taxi ride which takes a little less time, about 20 minutes.

Room was fantastic. Two non-smoking floors, and that's quite rare for a hotel in China. Lovely shower, great bed and linen, wired internet in the room. Impressed!

Location isn't wonderful, but it's at least an authentic little Chinese neighbourhood. Plenty of bicyclists, a little street food market and a lot of shops selling clothes and things far less pricier than their central Guangzhou counterparts. Not terribly tourist-friendly, but if you're staying here you're probably not there for the Huadu location.

Overall : good value rooms, and fine if you need to stay near the airport.

Room Tip: non smoking floors : 12 & 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltavern28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanchang, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Henry Business Hotel is not far from the Guangzhou North (Guangzhou Bei) train station, one of the stations served by the bullet train. It is an easy walk if you are not laden with lots of luggage, and it's not a hot and humid day. Simply go straight up (left) from the station to the T-junction at Baohua Lu, turn right and then the same distance again.

It is an easy ride to the airport by the shuttle bus. It is only 8 yuan (RMB), but be warned - the shuttle service stops at 9 pm or thereabouts.

The staff are good and go out of their way to be helpful. There is almost always someone on the desk who speaks passable English.

The room was small but efficient and functional. The bathroom was a good size, and they did not skimp on the shower! Excellent after a long day of walking around in the humidity. The amenities are as good as any hotel that is twice the price.

If you need to use a computer while travelling, then bring your own. The computers in their small but under-utilised business centre are antiquated and their network is slow. Still, I only needed to check emails, and it was a nominal charge.

The breakfast, as others have noted, is adequate, but not to western tastes. Still, it is included and not a bad deal given what good value the hotel room is.

So all in all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcn_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My mother and I chose Henry Business Hotel because of it's close proximity to Baiyun International Airport. This hotel is located in Huadu District and can be conveniently reached by the No. 9 Airport Express Bus from the airport (taxi drivers refuse to take guests from the airport to Huadu District). Drop off is across the street and pick up is directly in front of the hotel. It costs 8 RMB each way, which is just over $1 Canadian. It took about 30 min to get to Baiyun airport.

The hotel staff were exceptional. They were always smiling, polite and extremely helpful. They readily answered all our questions and provided the best possible service. They lent us umbrellas when it was raining outside and helped us flag down the express bus to the airport.

Our non-smoking room was very quiet and clean with modern furnishings. The air conditioning was a very useful especially when it's hot and muggy outside. I had the best shower here on my entire trip. The shower head and water pressure was excellent and there was plenty of hot water. Plumbing here is up to standard unlike many hotels in China. The LA Restaurant on the third floor provided good service and a very comfortable eating area with high quality food and reasonable prices. The included breakfast was excellent.

The hotel is located in a busy area. Only a few blocks away, you can find a local market, department store, bakeries, and restaurants.

I highly recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay for a night close to airport.

Room Tip: I asked for a non-smoking room because many people in China smoke and I have often gotten very smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tangayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and this hotel knows how to do business! House keeping is excellent, staff is very very friendly. they need more English as it was hard to communicate with some. Bar manager David speaks English, he is very friendly and always keen to help. The staff at this hotel were outstanding. I came to ask for a UK adapter they told me its already in my room, went upstairs and it was there. Every time I needed something I didn't have to wait. Everyone was so friendly always greeted with smile not like in many EU country's.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eelbasjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiraz
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Good place, friendly atmosphere
The best thing about it is incredible staff. Very polite and very kind specially Lucy. Wireless internet was perfect while in the other hotels it is not free here it is free and high speed. Transportation from and to hotel was also good using special bus, no need to taxi.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

Henry Business Hotel was a very good fit for my needs. The hotel is clean. This is a big issue if you have ever stayed in hotels other than US brands. The hotel is in a very good location for the Huadu area. "Downtown" Huadu is about 8 blocks away. It is a good walk to see what a Chinese downtown is like. The La Thai restaurant is a gem. If you plan on spending more than 200 RMB then get a private VIP Room. It is free and a great place to have dinner with a group. I would come back again. Kevin the front desk manager is great, David the bar manager is very friendly. Tony the FB manager is great also.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluestraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
2.0 mi away
He Xing Hotel
He Xing Hotel
#1,665 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hao Yin Gloria Plaza Hotel
Hao Yin Gloria Plaza Hotel
#45 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
14.6 mi away
Days Inn Guangzhou
Days Inn Guangzhou
#312 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
New Century Hotel
New Century Hotel
#84 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.0 mi away
HJ Grand Hotel
HJ Grand Hotel
#960 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vienna Hotel Guangzhou Airport
Vienna Hotel Guangzhou Airport
#58 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Business Hotel

Property: Henry Business Hotel
Address: No.26 Baohua Road, Huadu District, Guangzhou 510800, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Huadu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 3,385 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry Business Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Henry Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing