We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for Canton Fair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road
Ranked #176 of 3,556 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you want to visit Canton Fair, this hotel is a good choice. Location is not bad and the service is good. There is a nice Western restaurant and lots of wine choices. Also, you have a free shuttle bus to the exhibition center.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed in jovenstar for canton fair october 2013, the location is good because the metro is near. TO get to pazhou complex 2 lines must be changed which is annoying as the metro is usually full and no place to sit. Bed's were very very hard, lobby is on 3rd floor which is annoying. The security is poor. It is good for a business trip not a vaction hotel

Room Tip: Please check your bed mattress before choosing your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danial f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We couldn't decide whether to stay in the same hotel which we stayed at before or to find another hotel, after looking through every site and reviews we finally decided to book. I was actually glad that I read all the reviews about this hotel cause the lobby is in the 3rd floor, and there are a few steps before you reach the first floor but the doorman is very alert and always wiling to lend a hand so it,s ok. But it was really hard to converse with them cause they dont really know how to speak in english. Room was clean as expected, hotel was quiet, i love how spacious the room is, and how fast their wifi. But the only downside is that there's no fastfood nearby or mall. The mrt is in walking distance like 5minutes away, but there's not much people , too quiet for me, not like bejing lu where all the happening is. It's also quite far from the wholesale shopping malls. BUT service was great, they are very helpful though they are really struggling to understand english. When you ask for something they do it right away not like in other hotels where it takes time to get something done.

Room Tip: request for a room facing the road, to see if it's raining or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_am_yesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Nice clean hotel bonus bottle of wine, Near Ouzhuang station, surprised they did not have a Chinese restaurant but they had all intercontinental restaurant. Most staff spoke English and were polite and helpful
breakfast is good and wifi is free and fast. well sized room. bathroom is clean too and upper floors have no noise but dont know if there is noise on lower levels.
Enjoyed my stay in this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hi,
I lived in Guangzhou for two years, and I went back to visit and stayed here for a week. While some web sites rated it 4 stars, I wouldn't go that far, but it's certainly not a lousy or dirty place to stay.
Here are some comments related to different aspects.
Enjoy!!
Alex

Location and Accessibility
Taxi drivers aren't familiar with the place. (出租车司机不知道关于这家酒店)

The hotel card (and card jacket), does't have the hotel address or a map.

It's difficult to reach by car/taxi. It sits on an access road off a
main road, but it's tricky to reach.

The subway exit right next to the hotel is closed, so you have to walk
across a busy street to get to the subway (Metro). As another reviewer put it, it's just inconvenient.

Restaurant:
The coffee is terrible (咖啡是可怕的)

The orange juice is watered down.

There is a wine store in the hotel, but no bar.

There is no bar within walking distance.

Service:
The laundry service is too expensive. 30 RMB to clean one shirt. This is a total rip-off.

The hotel WiFi is just so so. You can not use the WiFi in the hotel restaurant. How lousy, when you go to breakfast and want to relax and look at emails, but you can't.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed alone in a twin room in this hotel in late July 2013 for two nights.

The hotel is strategically located next to the Ouzhuang metro station, but despite this, getting to and from it is surprisingly inconvenient. The entrance is located slightly higher than street level, so like in many places in China, you will have to carry your luggage up the stairs or go a long way around. The nearest metro entrance (A) was closed during my stay (and there is no information on when/if it will open), so at least for now you will have to go to entrance C which is located farther including having to cross a dangerous road. Crossing the main road, by the way, is nearly impossible and you will have to walk about 10–15 minutes to get to the same place on the other side. The area of the hotel is also quite boring and you will have to use transportation to get to the interesting places in Guangzhou.

The room was also disappointing, although to be fair in the beginning there wasn't anything particularly wrong with it, it just felt overall cheap and not fitting of a 4-star hotel. They had free tea and slippers though, which is nice. Later there was a jam in the toilet so they had to come and fix it (as I understand, other reviewers had the same problem in different rooms—they should definitely fix the plumbing ASAP).

The reception/concierge is on the third floor which is actually pretty nice as you don't have to go through it each time you enter the hotel (although some may consider it a disadvantage). There is no storage room as far as I could tell, but if you want to store your luggage they will put it in the reception and keep an eye on it.(meh, even large hostels have storage rooms).

The thing that really saved this hotel from a poor/average rating was the ease of receiving service: this is the only hotel I've been to in China where there was always at least one staff member who was fluent in English. I mean actually fluent—not something you are likely to find in China, even in good hotels. I was even able to call the front desk on the phone and have a two-way conversation without coming down and explaining what I wanted with Google Translate on my phone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ynhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The bathroom and room were very clean. The room were quiet. The beds were hard - like they usually are at local hotels. Wifi was free. It was a non-smoking room but it smelled like someone had smoked in it. The Ouzhang metro station is just across the road from the hotel but you have to cross the road under the flyover so it takes 5 minutes to walk there. There are 2 electronics shops, a convenience store, fruit shops and takeaway food available just 1 min's walk away. For more shopping and food, you can walk 10 minutes to the next train station, Taojin, where you'll find local shops along Jianshe 6th Road and a mall, Friendship Store, with shops (from high-end brand names).

Room Tip: Room that face away from the main road would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank working4vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.8 mi away
Crystal Orange Hotel Guangzhou Taojin
2 mi away
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
#85 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Guangdong Hotel
Guangdong Hotel
#875 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#44 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
403 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#46 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asia International Hotel
Asia International Hotel
#48 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road

Address: No.422 East Huanshi Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510075, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 3,556 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £35 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Yue Xiu district, close to Ocean Hotel, across from Holiday Inn City Center Guangzhou, 1 km from Garden Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing