We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food but poor service”

GuangZhou AoMenJie (Huan Shi)
Ranked #78 of 7,160 Restaurants in Guangzhou
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food but poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The food was a mix of Canton and Portuguese influence. Extremely delicious but also fairly busy around ~6pm. Try to get there early to nab a seat. Staff were not proficient in English at all but the menus have English written on them plus pictures so diners can just point at the dish they want. During busy periods it's hard to get someone to refill your teapot or chase up on a missing order. Lots of stores at different places but the most convenient to get to must be the one connected to the Dongfeng Hotel which is next to the China Hotel at Yuexiu Park.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food with influences from Portugal, India and China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was on a mostly vegetarian diet during my visit to China recently due to lack of sleep and fear of food contamination. I was very glad that I was invited to this family gathering where I got a taste of every dish ordered. Be aware that the kitchen tend to run out of certain dishes on busy nights, we did not get to taste the curried shrimp. But the Portuguese chicken stew and the creme brulee like egg custard tarts more than made up for the other missing dishes.

TIP for all visitors: China is on a Recycling Binge, they are charging you for the shopping bag and the tissues/napkins at most establishments. Bring your own shopping bag and tissues. Even though the restaurant is located inside the really nice Dong Fang Peace Hotel, the restaurant staff can be a little rough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMW_718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good food, but gets very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Ate 3 times at this chain restaurant. Quality is good, food is good taste and reasonably priced, so it's busy especially on the weekends even at lunch time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food average price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

The food at this restaurant is great. There are many choices on the menu so you will find something for almost anyone. The food is a mainly Cantonese but you can also find some other fusion style dishes. The price is on par with most other restaurants in Guangzhou at the same level so you won't be breaking the bank to eat there. The only thing I didn't like is that there was a person smoking and no one told them to stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corbindoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Level Contributor
218 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

I went there with my good friend & collega Jocelyn, we had some very spicy food & lovely vegetables. Good value for money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GuangZhou AoMenJie (Huan Shi) also viewed

Guangzhou, Guangdong
 
Guangzhou, Guangdong
Guangzhou, Guangdong
 

Been to GuangZhou AoMenJie (Huan Shi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing