We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday late lunch - no”

The Italian Restaurant
Ranked #112 of 7,186 Restaurants in Guangzhou
Price range: US$5 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
Description: The italian restaurant welcome you ! we propose authentic italian food and international buffet. Located at few step from garden hotel and taojin metro station.Open for more than 13 years we are a famous placefor local and expats
Restaurant details
Description: The italian restaurant welcome you ! we propose authentic italian food and international buffet. Located at few step from garden hotel and taojin metro station.Open for more than 13 years we are a famous placefor local and expats
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Saturday late lunch - no”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

No idea about the food, we walked in around 3pm for a late bite to eat on Saturday afternoon, it was dead.
Further, the decor didn't inspire us to return later, but who knows, perhaps the food is wonderful? :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hkrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Best food in GZ”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

seriously the best food and service in GZ. After suffering through some pretty risky street meals and traditional chinese cooking, you will love the Italian Restaurant.
They have a buffet that has about 30 items, each of the items would be a main course on its own, so the selection is amazing. Everything from steaks, roast, meatballs, pastas, seafoods, shellfish, pizzas, salads, veal, turkey, casserols, etc.

The restaurant is located just a short half block walk from "The Garden Hotel" which is a bit of a central landmark for foreigners. Take the elevator up to the 3rd floor and it opens right into the restaurant. Be careful not to go up to the 7th floor, you might be surprized what you see, lol.

Be sure to say Hi to Sanny, she is the best waitress in GZ, and after called me by name 6 months later on my 2nd visit to China. You don't find that service anywhere in the world!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank robnkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor service, poor food quality and small portions.”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

In all fairness we ate the buffet two years ago when we were here. food was delicious. We got there for lunch and they were not having buffet. We ordered off the menu and the Fettuchini Alfredo was bland and no kidding it tasted like paste. Food portions were not your avg portion for an Itslian restraunt. Appetizers seved on big plates but very small portions. STAY AWAY FROM HERE!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“not for lunch”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Visited this restaurant twice, once for dinner and once for lunch. Located close to Garden Hotel. The dinner was good value and not too bed, the lunch was very poor. We were only the visitors for lunch, all food was poor, in one dish there was a cockroach (good news that it was well cooked!) , we sent the dish back but they include it in the bill anyway. There is nothing italian about this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvinmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paradise for those fond of quantity rather than quality.”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Friendly atmosphere near Garden Hotel but the food is atrocious. I have frequent arguments with die-hard loyalists who swear by their Italian food fond, but our experience was that the pizza is sparse on toppings and far too runny while the salad (are rather incredibly bland). Eggplant parmesana sub tasted like it came from a cheap cafeteria.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chic-Sheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Guangzhou, Guangdong
 
Guangzhou, Guangdong
 

Been to The Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing