We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Mainland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Mainland Hotel
Ranked #718 of 3,394 Hotels in Guangzhou
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Very good hotel... Excellent attention and services. The breakfast is bloody good! "All you can eat" and many western and some Asian food included in breakfast. The dinner at the western restaurant is very good. I recommend Asian food for dinner.

The only thing I did not like was the location, is not the best area in Guangzhou.... everything else is great.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcamilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    27
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the New Mainland quite a few times with a group of people who travel to Guangzhou annually. It has its good points and its bad.

I like the buffet breakfast that is included in the room rate. It offers a large selection of Chinese and Western dishes that are replenished frequently and the quality is good. The menu is constant though and changes very little from day to day. It also is frequently very crowded with people ending up at extra tables out in the hall or sharing tables with strangers.

The rooms are reasonably clean but could use a good updating. New tv's and internet access have been added in the last few years, but carpets are old, bathrooms are old and the beds are incredibly hard and uncomfortable.

The staff are more helpful and service-oriented than previously but they still have some way to go.

The clientele is mostly businessmen and women from Russia, Africa, the middle east, etc. This is not a hotel for North Americans and Europeans on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillaliveca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

This is my choice of hotel always during my travel to Guangzhou. Right in the middle of wholesale markets is this neat and clean hotel with an excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanChd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semporna, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We got out from a day bus from Yangshuo to Guangzhou Railway Station and walked to New Mainland Hotel which was about 10 minutes away. They gave us a no window room at 380 RMB per night with buffet breakfast.

Bed sheets, pillows and comforters were very soft and smooth (we didn’t have this “soft and smooth” feeling at Sheraton Guilin 3 days ago). We slept so well. They had a computer in room with free internet. They gave free bottled water, free tea but coffee were charged.

The hotel is at gate number 3 of the underground clothes center and opposite underwear wholesale center. White Horse clothes center is nearby. When we checked out, we walked underground to Gate 15, walked up and went down to subway station nearby, and exited at Gate D3. From here we walked to the bus stop in front of China Southern Airlines Hotel and took a bus for 16 RMB to Baiyun International Airport. It took 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to the bus stop. Walking further 10 minutes will bring you to handbag wholesale center.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank land_premier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
Yingshang Hotel Guangzhou Railway Station
Yingshang Hotel Guangzhou Railwa...
#1,747 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Air Mingzhu Business Hotel
South Air Mingzhu Business Hotel
#350 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Hotel Guangzhou Railway Station
Super 8 Hotel Guangzhou Railway ...
#391 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Liuhua Hotel
Liuhua Hotel
#244 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#182 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
94 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Mainland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Mainland Hotel

Property: New Mainland Hotel
Address: No.108-122 Zhan Qian Rd., Guangzhou 510010, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Liwan District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #718 of 3,394 Hotels in Guangzhou
Hotel Class:3 star — New Mainland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Mainland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing