We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of China Mayors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
China Mayors Hotel
Ranked #67 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The hotel is on the smaller side. I wish it had more rooms because it usually gets booked up quickly during show season. It's located right across the stadium in tien he. The location is great. It's 2 blocks away from Citic Plaza, 4 blocks from the Westin, and less than a 5 minute cab ride (15 minutes walking) from the East Train Station.
Pros:
1. Location
2. Helpful staff
3. Good water pressure
4. Clean room
5. Fast internet

Cons:
1. Only one bus to and from Pazhou
2. Not a lot of rooms

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueToForm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    70
    26
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
3
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cruising on a sailboat in FL Keys
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I normally stay at major chain hotels because I prefer the predictability of a known offering. Since I was not at all familiar with Guangzhou, I elected to stay near the Guangzhou east train station as we would be leaving from that station for Hong Kong.

I booked the hotel online through Agoda and when I presented myself at the front desk all was in order. For ~$100 USD I booked a deluxe suite which was very comfortable and most importantly well lit. The bathroom was very good, with granite vanities and good plumbing fixtures. The bed was queen sized and although somewhat firm, proved to be very comfortable. I only had one meal in the Western dining room on the ground floor, and found the prices to be very reasonable and the quality to be excellent. Dinner for 2 including a couple of beers was around 220 rmb with the 15% service charge included.

The only downside of the hotel, was the bandit of a concierge who tried unsuccessfully to shake me down for a few extra rmb after I had booked a car for the day at a fixed price. At the end of the day, the incident was typical of China, where a westerner learns very quickly to smile a lot and keep one hand on his wallet.

There was one oddity about the hotel in that I could not check out of the room until it was completely vacated. I had gone to the front desk to check out and sent my wife upstairs to wait for the bellman, but the front desk clerk could not check me out unless I could present the room key and the floor matron could check the vacated room. Now that I know about the policy, I can work with it the next time.

With the exception of the Concierge, the staff were pleasant. Most spoke at least a passable level of English.

The hotel is well located. It is just around the corner from the excellent Guangzhou subway station and there is a Bank of China right next door. In addition to the hotel restaurants there are many excellent alternatives within walking distance.

The hotel is a solid 4 star property and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocFraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

other reviews are very accurate. Here is what I can add: the only complaint I have with the hotel is a lack of a health club. They mentioned a club down the street, but it didnt open up until later on in the morning which is not very convenient if you like to get up in the morning and work out.
There really isnt a "lobby bar" to speak of, but the one reviewer mentioned a pub down the street which I remember passing but did not go in.
Several restaurants nearby, especially in the shopping mall which is only a short walk away. The bed IS extremely hard..the good news is that its only a LITTLE short.
Funny comment on the mini bar..good price..but you only get one of each of the selections.

  • Liked — good business support
  • Disliked — really hard bed
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niedersachsen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2006

When I arrived at the hotel via the free bus shuttle from East Station and entered my suite, I was pleasantly surprised how large and comfortable it was. Coming from Hong Kong, where the hotel rooms are among the smallest you can get anywhere on the planet, I suddenly stood in a suite which was at least four times as big - and that for only about 73 Euros per day.

The suite was located on the sixth floor and seemed to have been refurbished quite recently. It had marble floors in the living room and the working area, two televisions (one in the living room and one in the bedroom), three phones, one of them with a fax and a free braodband internet connection. The living room and the bedroom have separate air conditions. The windows are quite well isolated against street noise. So I was able to sleep without ear plugs.

The rooms are cleaned twice a day and on every floor you will find a woman sitting at a desk to help you if you have any problems. Having the bed made twice a day is almost to much for my taste, as I prefer to have as much privacy as possible and do not want the room maids to enter my room too often.

I have already stayed in many hotels, but never took anything from the minibars, as it was always much too expensive. In this hotel the minibar prices were so low, that I almost emptied it. I guess that might also be the case in most chinese hotels though.

At night I found some downpoints. While the sheets and the cushions were nicely soft and comfortable like you do not find it very often in hotels of that price category, the mattresses were among the firmest I have ever experienced. Another downpoint were the buttons for the night lamps. The buttons for both lamps were located on one side of the bed, were the buttons for the whole bedroom and the working desk were also located. The buttons were not illuminated and so it was not very easy to find the right button, if you wanted to get up at night. That was a minor problem though.

At night the building is brightly illuminated from the outside, so it will only get dark in your room if you close the curtains.

The location of the hotel was quite nice. Guangzhou it in the process of building an impressive 4 kilometre (2.5 miles) long main axis and China Mayors Plaza is located just two buildings from CITIC Plaza, the tallest building of Guangzhou (before the two 432m tall gate towers and the more than 600m tall tv tower will be completed) and main focal point at the northern part of the axis. On many Guangzhou postcards you will find the two golden towers near CITIC plaza. The hotel is located in the smaller tower. A subway entrance for the Metro Line 3 is just around the corner. After just one stop you reach Tianhe Road with its giant shopping malls, but it is also no problem to walk to Tianhe Road. If you prefer using a taxi to explore the city, it is just a matter of seconds rather than minutes to catch one in front of your hotel. Taxis in Guangzhou are about as cheap as the subway in European cities.

If your room has windows to the south, you will get an unobstructed view you will not find in many places in such a dense city. When looking out of your window, you really have the feeling of "sitting in the first row".

The top floors of the building host offices and there are no separate elevators for the hotel and the office floors. So you can meet an intersting mixture of hard working office workers and relaxed tourists in the elevators. That was quite unusual, but in no sense disturbing. The four elevators were more than sufficient for a building of that size.

They have a great and inexpensive breakfast buffet, so unlike in many European hotels, you do not waste money by having breakfast at your hotel. They deliver your breakfast to your room at a time of your choice, if you fill out the breakfast order and place it at the door handle outside your room.

Overall, China Mayors Plaza is a nice hotel with very much attention to detail. Staff is very helpful and if I had complained, I am quite sure that they had even solved my problem with the firm beds. Although all the major hotel chains will open new hotels in Guangzhou very soon, I will very likely chose China Mayors Plaza on my next stay again.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
Thank Skyscraperphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
642 reviews
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
1,344 reviews
Aloft Guangzhou Tianhe
#39 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pazhou Exhibition Hall
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#92 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
39 reviews
Grand Palace Hotel Guangzhou
#212 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
136 reviews
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#20 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Mayors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Mayors Hotel

Property: China Mayors Hotel
Address: No.189 Tianhe North Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510075, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#54 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — China Mayors Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your China Mayors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Mayors Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing