We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a couple of niggles”
Review of China Mayors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
China Mayors Hotel
Ranked #75 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
356 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good hotel but a couple of niggles”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very good quality hotel in a great location adjacent to the subway to the airport and within walking distance of a lot of shopping, restaurants etc.
The hotel looks quite spectacular externally and does not disappoint when you get inside. Our room was very comfortable and well presented. The hotel is certainly a cheaper option than the western chains elsewhere around the city and, as such, represents good value for the quality on offer. Location-wise it is just around the corner from the Linhexi subway station that connects directly to the airport and offers connections to other parts of the city. Breakfast was included in the rate but we didn't have time to partake as we needed to be on the 6:15 subway train to get our flight.

Room Tip: The Canton international trade convention was on whilst we were here and if you're just a touris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    69
    26
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
3
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Good value hotel , in the business district of Gaungzhou overlooking the soccer stadium and just around the corner from the airport bus. Rooms large and comfortable , half the price if the better known western chains.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
410 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Good:
-Based on TripAdvisor's photos of the actual room, I booked here because it had the cheapest SUITE ROOMS in Guangzhou.
-It turns out my strategy was correct, cause the suite room was affordable, & luxurious.
-Staff came to my room to pass me a router & installed it for me, great service!
-Front office may not speak the best English, but they are helpful.
-Less than 2 minutes walk away is a big shopping centre.

Bad:
-Interiors are very 'Chinese', need some adjusting.
-Does not have a great view, mine faced the sports stadium opposite the main road.
-Toiletries provided are mediocre.

Room Tip: Must book the SUITE ROOM, you won't regret it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank singlish_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Höhenkirchen-Siegertsbrunn, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I arrived relatively late, after midnight. Even though I was the only one in the lobby check in took a long time.
The hotel is located in an office building, so it is not a big hotel as you may think when looking at the pictures.
The rooms are OK, but what I did not like was the bed. Very hard. Had problems sleeping there.
Breakfast did not have all that much selection.

Room Tip: I had a room on seventh floor facing the main street, and have no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Good value, it is near the westin and hyatt, but not as expensive.
It is mostly for locals, not many international travelers.
The service is VERY good, room service is fast, breakfast is pretty decent.
There is no health-club, even though they say they do! They have a 'spa' which is quite fishy and I don't recommend you to try it. They'll try to hook you up with a girl for 'body-to-body massage'.
It is near the train station, but far from Pazhou Complex. One crazy rainy afternoon, we made 1.5 hrs from Pazhou to the hotel in the hotel bus. However, for the price, I think it's a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltintero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The hotel is on the smaller side. I wish it had more rooms because it usually gets booked up quickly during show season. It's located right across the stadium in tien he. The location is great. It's 2 blocks away from Citic Plaza, 4 blocks from the Westin, and less than a 5 minute cab ride (15 minutes walking) from the East Train Station.
Pros:
1. Location
2. Helpful staff
3. Good water pressure
4. Clean room
5. Fast internet

Cons:
1. Only one bus to and from Pazhou
2. Not a lot of rooms

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueToForm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
633 reviews
Aloft Guangzhou Tianhe
#39 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
88 reviews
Pazhou Exhibition Hall
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#99 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Guangzhou
#12 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
1,319 reviews
Good International Hotel
#61 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
142 reviews
Furtune Hotel
#189 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Mayors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Mayors Hotel

Property: China Mayors Hotel
Address: No.189 Tianhe North Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510075, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#60 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — China Mayors Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your China Mayors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Mayors Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing