We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really quiet, smooth, modern, relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Guangzhou
Ranked #11 of 3,523 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The room was a treat--very modern design, with a great view of the city lights. Service was attentive, friendly, but never pushy.

Across the street were dozens of interesting restaurants and a huge artificial waterfall. Best was the hotel's pool--serene, on the 7th floor--great detail paid to temperature of jacuzzis and pools. Terrific.

Only hitches were the the breakfast buffet on the western food side--the (temperature) lukewarm at best. And the aggressive attempt, as we left for the airport, to put us into the hotel cab (more than $100 to the airport) when we had said we wanted a city taxi and were in the regular taxi line. Stood our ground and paid 20$ to the airport instead.

But full marks for creating a very soothing atmosphere. And the cab/hotel/airport routine is everywhere, so no hard feelings.

Room Tip: Maybe with a view of the back--the stadiums and gardens fun to look at. And the higher the more fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent stay at The Westin Guangzhou. We are delighted to read that you have been impressed with the quality of our hotel and service. The highlighted service areas mentioned will lead our exceptional satisfaction to next level. We look forward to welcoming you again for a renewing experience at The Westin Guangzhou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is simply the most gorgeous Westin I have ever had the pleasure of staying in, the rooms are modern and spacious with all the amenities, a nice change after staying in small cramped rooms in Hong Kong. The staff can all speak good english and the service is excellent.
There was free wifi in my room which was great after paying some crazy rates in other hotels.
Most of the rooms had great views of the city or park and the hotel is in easy walking distance of many great restaurants and local attractions.
Great Club lounge and very nice restaurants on site, I personally love going to the Italian restaurant for it's glorious views of the city.
If the opportunity presents itself, this hotel has the best spa in the city, but you need time to relax and enjoy the ambience and service.
Overall this is a top notch hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Top class property. English widely spoken and fantastic Club Lounge. You are a littlle distance from the river but close to 2 shopping areas. Great outdoor pool and gym.

Enjoy the the flavors of the East while staying with all the familiarity of the West.

Room Tip: Near the railway station for easy access to Hong Kong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Westin Guangzhou. Thank you for your compliments and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Good: The room was luxurious, clean and large. It had a nice view of the park. The staff can speak good English. Linhexi metro station is 5 mins' walk away.

Bad:
My room rate came with free wifi. I had to login to the system but still had to select a paid option. I had to call to ask about it. The receptionist should have informed me about it when I checked in.
I could hear the other room doors slamming close so I did not sleep well. Door dampers should be installed.
The breakfast was good but the variety of food was limited.
Housekeeping needs to be improved. On the first day, they forgot to replace a bottle of moisturizer and removed my keycard which I left in the room so that my laptop battery could be recharged. On the 2nd day, the shower gel and shampoo were placed on the small ledge in the shower compartment instead of in the box by the wash basin so I could not find them initially.
Staff need to be aware of the equipment and facilities. I was told that the machine in the lobby was able to exchange Malaysian Ringgit for Renminbi but it doesn't.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank working4vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here a few nights for business. Had executive room which was massive - a delight after spending time in Hong Kong hotel rooms. One problem though - although the room was massive, the TV was very small and was difficult to watch from my bed (which was very comfortable).
Would definitely recommend getting club lounge access which offers fantastic views across the Tianhe sports stadium. Gym facilities are decent with a good range of free weights. Room service was prompt and food was delicious. Definitely did not taste like "chinafied" western food. Try the Quessadillas!

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing the Tianhe Sports Centre for a great view and if you're lucky - of the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddybearWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Having traveled and lived in a fair share of hotels in mainland China, I feel I can say that Westin, while may look great (the lobby, restaurants and huge rooms), the staff really needs to do a bit better to deliver the five star treatment.
The airconditioning in one of the rooms didn't work and staff had to be called at midnight to get it right. (very disappointing)
Also, the concierge staff was very inept. We stood in a queue to get taxi on a busy saturday evening which clearly was for hotel guests, but there was no regulation, and assertive guests kept cutting the queue to get to the taxi. Telling the concierge staff, they defended the guests! Finally, I had to jump in to get the person in the queue their rightful taxi before someone could take it out of turn. Very Very disappointing.
We mentioned this to the duty manager, and things seemed to be better the next day but it shouldn't have happened to begin with.
Having said this, I must comment that the room size is huge, which we enjoyed, also they gave us a late checkout - appreciated that. The Set Lunch menu a the Italian restaurant Prego is also very good.
Next time I am at Gz, I would perhaps look for another hotel. Being a SPG member, I had expected something better!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudra_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at The Westin Guangzhou and additionally thank you for your comments, which are highly appreciated. We apologize for any inconvenience casued and our services did not meet your standard. We shall investigate your comments in regard to the services area you mentioned and have the problem rectified immediately.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. It is feedback such as yours that helps us improve our level of service to our guests in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

They say never judge a book by its cover... The cover of this book looks great, its location is great, and the rooms are great, however once inside its another story. For the price - the attention to detail, especially by the checkin staff is severely lacking. Next time to Guangzhou - I'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lodsworthonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

The comments posted regarding your stay are very much appreciated by The Westin Guangzhou as constructive feedback is always well received. We apologize that our services were not up to standard, we shall investigate your comments in regard to the front desk staffs and corrective action has been taken.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. It is feedback such as yours that helps us improve our level of service to our guests in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Guangzhou in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
2,594 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#4 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guangzhou

Address: No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#56 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £103 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Shopping Malls & Restaurants Our hotel is adjacent to the CITIC Plaza, which is home to Fortune 500 companies, brand shops and many popular restaurants; a 5-minute walk distance from many other shopping/commercial malls and boutiques, such as Tai Koo Hui, Teemall, Grandview and Onelink.Transportation5 minute walking distance to the Guangzhou East Train Station-the southern gateway to Hong Kong; 45-minute travel from the International Baiyun Airport; modern subway system connects the hotel to all parts of the city, two direct subway lines to the airport. Room - Heavenly Spa, Heavenly Bath & ShowerOur Westin rooms which are 50sqm in size offer you the ultimate in comfort and technology including Westin's signature Heavenly Bed(R), invigorating shower and bath, wireless high speed internet access, flat screen television and IP Phones with cordless handset. Or choose our new WestinWORKOUT(R) Room to maintain your wellness routine and fitness regime in the privacy of your room. Bathrooms feature separate bathtubs and showers and makeup/shaving mirrors.Eat and drink well at Hotel - Five restaurants and two barsOur five restaurants and bars include an all-day dining venue, a Chinese restaurant offering the finest Cantonese specialties, a lobby lounge, a Latin American restaurant with live entertainment and a Cuban Cigar Lounge, and an upscale rooftop Italian restaurant and lounge boasting stunning city views. Spa and fitnessHeavenly Spa is a sophisticated urban sanctuary featuring a series of therapies and treatments, with the sole purpose of restoring your body's harmony and balance while shedding fatigue and stress.GeneralIn addition to a full-service spa, The Westin Guangzhou features an indoor pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, hot & cold plunge pool, and 24-hrs fitness facility. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 5 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Business amenities at this 5-star property consist of a business center, a technology helpdesk, and limo/town car service. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms, small meeting rooms, and a ballroom. This luxury hotel also offers executive floors, and a concierge desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Westin Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing