We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Guangzhou
Ranked #20 of 3,394 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Nice view, Good service”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for business, no doubt it is a good business hotel with large room:
1) Club lounge service is superb - Ms Yoyo speaks good English and is responsive, good initiatives
2) Great view from room, but the city is so hazy & polluted it feels so unpleasant
3) Chinese restaurant is surprisingly good, but the dim sum set is priced above Mandarin Oriental, although the latter is far more superior
4) The room wifi is hopeless, I mean it takes forever to load a message. They had one person sitting in my room whole afternoon trying to fix the wifi but not successful. They just abandoned the project without telling me.
5) Heavenly shower is like hell, I mean there is so little water coming from the rain shower (room 2911) it is so pathetic
6) They try to save money with pump type dispenser for shower gel and shampoo. This kills the five-star-ness of the hotel.
7) the conditional pump can't pump out any liquid, after opening the cover, I realised the conditional has hardened and became lumpy - really gross!
8) the shower floor is just one big piece of marble, be careful! I nearly fell during shower.
9) The place is boring at night, shopping nearby is unattractive. I would recommend Mandarin Oriental for the classy-ness and vibrant shopping.
10) Food at club lounge is pathetic, they charge if you go to the all day dining instead for buffet - quite unusual.
11) Air con is very noisy at night

Room Tip: Ask for city view, request for separate shower amenities, the pump is gross.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFirst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear PFirst123, Thank you for staying at The Westin Guangzhou and additionally we thank you for your constructive comments, which are highly appreciated.

We apologize that your in-room wi-fi speed and shower experience was not up to expectation as we take both areas seriously. We shall investigate your comments regarding the internet speed and in-room shower facility and action accordingly, most importantly that we are luckily to have your room number which speed up our investigation process. The highlighted service areas mentioned will lead our exceptional satisfaction to next level. We look forward to welcoming you again for a renewing experience at The Westin Guangzhou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    491
    78
    22
    16
See reviews for
57
72
55
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
177 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Tianhe Westin is one of the best hotels in China, full stop. Large rooms, great service and up to the highest standards. Although pricey, you cannot get much better anywhere. Highly recommended for the demanding business traveller!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I would say this is a jaw dropping experience. I am not somebody who always experience high class places (I am more of a trekker and adventurer, but this trip is slightly different). Whatever you need, everything is there for you. Of course, I have not talk about free WIFI, access to executive lounge for breakfast. If you would to ask me if I would like to come back and stay, the answer will definitely be YES.

Further reviews from me can be found at http://fleaflenfren.blogspot.sg.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsor_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

It is a great Hotel in great area of Guangzhou. I am there for a business trip. The room is surprisingly spacious. The service of the hotel is excellent. As usually, luxury hotel meals are expensive, if you like the local Cantonese food, there is a great Cantonese food 20 metre on the right. TianHe shopping mall is 15 minutes away. It is close to subway. There is a 7-11 opposite the hotel, however it hides behind a wall.
I will definitely will stay at the same hotel again in Guangzhou, it is close to anything and no problem with the services.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear AlphaIrwin,

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with The Westin Guangzhou, and thank you for your compliments. At The Westin Guangzhou we are committed to service excellence and to ensure we provide a renewing experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The stay would be perfect if the fitness center could get any more organized and be able to provide more privacy to the hotel guests.
Staying at this hotel everytime I visited the city, I always try to utilize my private time efficiently and sufficiently by going to the gym where the facilities was great including swimming pool, locker and spa etc. But in recent several visits, there was an increasingly big number of member who was enrolled into the hotel gym center crowded in the small in-door pool as well as in the locker and spa area. Esp in the locker room, very noisy and crowded, sometime you even need to wait for shower. Also you will see dirty towel and tissue left around the floor, what a messy view, no difference as those public gym places - def. not a place where you expect to make the best of your time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingMay_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hi
We are globe trotters and every experience i love to share with trip advisor so that others can benefit.
This is my second visit to Guangzhao after 2009 and the city has grown immensly .
Westin is right next to the East Railway station if you are travelling by train to HONG KONG.
Its in Tiahne district which is very neat and upscale neighbour hood.
At walking distance you have a huge mall which has stores like Mango Zara so on. Ikea is just a block away.
Oppposite the hotel they have a gorgeous park great for a work out in the mornings.
Under the hotel they have a star bucks and opposite there is Mac donald for a foriegner lime me who may not eat sea food.

Beijing lu and the main shopping district are 20 mins by taxi.
Great Pub at times there is dancing also we witnessed a great ball for st patricks day.

Awesome Spa and Indoor Pool as well as Outdoor pool.
Superb Gym and changing rooms with sauna steam.
VIP lounge and other room services were prompt.

Me and my husband were back from buying furniture in Foshan and the rooms were huge just like what they have in vegas.
New concept Bathrooms .
Conceirge and front desk were very helpful friendly.

The greatness about the hotel was they even came to drop us to the stn with their concierge in the free shuttle.

worth a stay again.
Indians if you get a good deal dont miss the oppurtunity.

W hotel is highyl reccomended too for the pub.
Mandarin Oriental is right next to the pearl river incase u want a cruise and great rooms
Four seasons is new and must see
The canton tower has a london eye kind of the wheel horizontally above the scraper.
Sunflower feilds in the city are gorgeous.
ONE link mall must go for home decor and toy shopping.
Beijing Lu market is shoppers paradise.

Room Tip: Take top view rooms ask them if u can get a canton tower or garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachitaaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 days on a business trip to China & the hotel meets expectations on everything you'd want from a business hotel.
- Rooms are large & spacious
- Stayed on a high floor, so view was also ok (as good as can be in an industrial town)
- Internet connectivity is good (not charged for us)
- Location is very good. Close to central G'zhou station
- Only had breakfast at the hotel which was decent. Vegetarian food, unsurprisingly, is a bit tricky. But you can get by as they have yoghurts, cereals, breads etc.
- Staff is efficient. Most people speak reasonable English.

All-in-all, had a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.9 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#16 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#7 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#15 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
1,422 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#11 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
2,459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guangzhou

Property: The Westin Guangzhou
Address: No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#17 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#20 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#68 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Shopping Malls & Restaurants Our hotel is adjacent to the CITIC Plaza, which is home to Fortune 500 companies, brand shops and many popular restaurants; a 5-minute walk distance from many other shopping/commercial malls and boutiques, such as Tai Koo Hui, Teemall, Grandview and Onelink.Transportation5 minute walking distance to the Guangzhou East Train Station-the southern gateway to Hong Kong; 45-minute travel from the International Baiyun Airport; modern subway system connects the hotel to all parts of the city, two direct subway lines to the airport. Room - Heavenly Spa, Heavenly Bath & ShowerOur Westin rooms which are 50sqm in size offer you the ultimate in comfort and technology including Westin's signature Heavenly Bed(R), invigorating shower and bath, wireless high speed internet access, flat screen television and IP Phones with cordless handset. Or choose our new WestinWORKOUT(R) Room to maintain your wellness routine and fitness regime in the privacy of your room. Bathrooms feature separate bathtubs and showers and makeup/shaving mirrors.Eat and drink well at Hotel - Five restaurants and two barsOur five restaurants and bars include an all-day dining venue, a Chinese restaurant offering the finest Cantonese specialties, a lobby lounge, a Latin American restaurant with live entertainment and a Cuban Cigar Lounge, and an upscale rooftop Italian restaurant and lounge boasting stunning city views. Spa and fitnessHeavenly Spa is a sophisticated urban sanctuary featuring a series of therapies and treatments, with the sole purpose of restoring your body's harmony and balance while shedding fatigue and stress.GeneralIn addition to a full-service spa, The Westin Guangzhou features an indoor pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, hot & cold plunge pool, and 24-hrs fitness facility. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 5 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Business amenities at this 5-star property consist of a business center, a technology helpdesk, and limo/town car service. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms, small meeting rooms, and a ballroom. This luxury hotel also offers executive floors, and a concierge desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Westin Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing