We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Location, but simple accomodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Guangzhou
Ranked #18 of 3,376 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good Location, but simple accomodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

Going to Guangzhou? Good luck! Westin is in good location near a shopping mall, and dining places. Yes, there is a PapaJohn's pizza and McD's just across the street. The train station is near too along with a new shopping plaza underground. Westin is simple, straight lined styled hotel. Lobby is very simple, and not too welcoming however. Staff is very good and speak English fairly well. Pool is dated and dark. Fitness room is very small, so go early or very late. Taxi's are easy to get from the lobby entrance. If you like really fancy rooms, then try the Ritz. The Ritz is very nice, but currently the area has lots of construction and the hotel is very remote in comparison to the Westin.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    485
    75
    20
    13
See reviews for
54
70
53
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

It is everything you would expect from an international 5 star hotel (including the price). Fantastic service, clean & modern rooms, all the amenities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it, it's probably the best hotel in Guangzhou, especially if your western.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mibadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

Hotels in China often are either new, well-located, or efficiently operated, but not all three at once. This Westin manages to retain this happy coincidence of these three characteristics. When I checked in I was with a large group, and the lobby immediately gave a warm impression with its very pleasant yellow light effusing the atmosphere. Check-in was smooth despite the fact that I was last, and when the check-in staff found that I didn't bring my SPG membership with me she took the time to look up my number. Very kind of her.

The room was large and of the modern variety (open window from the room into the bathroom, but with the commode itself nicely shielded), with a very comfy bed, discreet plugs for various electronic contraptions. The Internet was a bit steep but that was my only complaint, and perhaps somewhat understandable given the low tariff on the room itself. Loved the toiletries and their fragrance, had a sort of faux Hermes-y smell that was very pleasant.

I just stayed the one night so didn't have the chance to try the gym, though I heard it was 24 hours. The breakfast was bustling at 8am, but was nevertheless very good. With a fairly large variety (only comment is that their bread could use a little upgrade - hire a Shangri-La baker perhaps!!).

Overall, a very pleasant experience. As I waited in the lobby for the bus to pull up, I did think the large chandelier in the center of the lobby, in the light of day, was a little overwhelming, but it was very nice at night. I would stay here again, and first impressions of hotels are very important in a city with a substantial amount of supply.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 5 ngihts while on a shopping trip from Hong Kong.. Great Hotel, Great Amentities with an Aussie 2IC (from Melbourne) - Daniel - Great Guy who provides great service. Highly recommend a drink or 5 at Q Bar and my favorite of all time Lobster Basket from QBar. The Leather Markets in Guangzhou are great for handbags at bargain prices..

Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hugchamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

I spent a total of 7 nights in Guangzhou recently, one at the Ritz Carlton, and four at the Jianguo hotel down the street from the Westin. The Ritz is fabulous but in a terrible location, and the Jianguo is OK but nothing really outstanding. The Westin on the other hand was wonderful. The room was very large and well-appointed, service was excellent, the bar on the main floor is a happening nightspot that attracts even locals on weekends (and has excellent food BTW).

I've stayed at several Westins in the US and have never been overwhelmed, which is why I didn't book this hotel when planning my trip (staying here was an afterthought, the result of a last minute change to my plans). However this facility is far and away better than any of the US locations, in every respect. The only slight drawback is it's a little expensive for China, but if you shop around various travel sites and perhaps call the hotel directly you can get a good deal. I stayed two nights, both at around $105 USD despite "official" advertised prices of $160 and upwards. The first night I booked on Orbitz (who had a special rate of $105 when all the other sites quoted $175), and the 2nd night I negotiated directly with the front desk as it was an extension and I was originally only planning one night.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pw_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Haven't stayed in GZ for a long long time and thought this hotel has a better location than Ritz-Carlton and Grand Hyatt due to proximity to GZ East Station. Accessibility is ok, though Metro station is not that close. Hotel has a good pool and an adequate gym. Staff was not very helpful/friendly, just what you'd usually get in the Mainland.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

I travel to many countries and stay in many hotels. The Westin is simply the best. I cannot find anything to complain about. The executive lounge is the best I have used in any hotel in the world. The lounge has comfort, great food, plentiful drinks and superb service. Other hotels in the Starwood group should take note of what is offered here, especially the Westin in Sydney, which is pethetic by comparision. The rooms are fantastic and the bed.........it is the best. The Westin is a superb sanctuary from what lays outside of its boundaries.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.0 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#13 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#7 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#14 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#10 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guangzhou

Property: The Westin Guangzhou
Address: No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#66 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Shopping Malls & Restaurants Our hotel is adjacent to the CITIC Plaza, which is home to Fortune 500 companies, brand shops and many popular restaurants; a 5-minute walk distance from many other shopping/commercial malls and boutiques, such as Tai Koo Hui, Teemall, Grandview and Onelink.Transportation5 minute walking distance to the Guangzhou East Train Station-the southern gateway to Hong Kong; 45-minute travel from the International Baiyun Airport; modern subway system connects the hotel to all parts of the city, two direct subway lines to the airport. Room - Heavenly Spa, Heavenly Bath & ShowerOur Westin rooms which are 50sqm in size offer you the ultimate in comfort and technology including Westin's signature Heavenly Bed(R), invigorating shower and bath, wireless high speed internet access, flat screen television and IP Phones with cordless handset. Or choose our new WestinWORKOUT(R) Room to maintain your wellness routine and fitness regime in the privacy of your room. Bathrooms feature separate bathtubs and showers and makeup/shaving mirrors.Eat and drink well at Hotel - Five restaurants and two barsOur five restaurants and bars include an all-day dining venue, a Chinese restaurant offering the finest Cantonese specialties, a lobby lounge, a Latin American restaurant with live entertainment and a Cuban Cigar Lounge, and an upscale rooftop Italian restaurant and lounge boasting stunning city views. Spa and fitnessHeavenly Spa is a sophisticated urban sanctuary featuring a series of therapies and treatments, with the sole purpose of restoring your body's harmony and balance while shedding fatigue and stress.GeneralIn addition to a full-service spa, The Westin Guangzhou features an indoor pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, hot & cold plunge pool, and 24-hrs fitness facility. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 5 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Business amenities at this 5-star property consist of a business center, a technology helpdesk, and limo/town car service. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms, small meeting rooms, and a ballroom. This luxury hotel also offers executive floors, and a concierge desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Westin Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing