We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Western island in science city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Science City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Science City
Ranked #32 of 3,390 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little Western island in science city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a tough review as the hotel is functionally great, wonderful service, great rooms, located in the heart of Science City. It feels like you are staying at any upscale Crowne Plaza virtually anywhere in the world.

Not my cup of tea, only because when I am in China, I like to get a chance to feel like I am IN China. So a hotel out in the technology sector, with all the feelings of a western location, is not my preferred location.

Bu thats not the fault of the hotel. For everything the Hotel tries to be, it is. It is an oasis, it does serve great food, it's serviceis impecable.

If you need to visit science city, and aren't concerned with proximity to downtown, this is the perfect location for a western traveller, especially if they are intimidated by the idea of visiting China to begin with

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ganieda845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    171
    36
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
12
5
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

While it may not be centrally located , if you work hard all day, it's just the place to relax! There's no need to leave, 3 great restaurants.
We are looking forward to visiting miss Saigon next month, when we return - more choice!!
We have chosen to stay since it opened , and will continue to do so, as long as the prices stay fair for the location.
International management are certainly hands on and very effective.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Guess most reviewers come to the same conclusion. Good hotel, little pricy for the location but the location is dreadful. In the evening the vicinity of the hotel is desolated but also the hotel seemed to be empty when I stayed there.
The rooms are spacious, breakfast (~Eur 18) is OK and staff is friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
In reference to activities surrounding our location-- A KTV Club, Spa, Movie Theatre complex, and several restaurants have opened up in the area during the last month. We encourage you to come back and try us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
118 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The title says it all. The hotel has all amenities of a good five start hotel. Yet the location - it is in a science park and there is basically nothing around. (it seems a KFC might open soon.........).
The rooms are nice, large and clean. The bathroom could have benefitted from having a wall hanging toilet to gain size and hygiene, otherwise very much ok.
Breakfast is excellent and the bar also good.
The staff are helpfull but often a little clueless. E.g. the advertised hotput in a yurt was not know to the staff and also it was claimed not open. Yet we learned better and could enjoy it. Unfortunately the yurt door had to be kept open as the staff was worried about carbonmonoxide poisoning, which kept a cold wind blowing in. Also, as the weather was cold, staff rarely wnetured to our Yurt to ask if we needed anything more. The front desk also did not know if any supermarket, 7/11 or so was nearby - actually they claimed there was none, though about 5 minutes walk to the next village revealed the existence of small supermarkets.
Yet all these are minor gripes. The only major gripe is that being so far from the city and having not always taxis on standbye I would have expected a more frequent shuttle bus to the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for your experience in the yurt, and have forwarded your comments to the related departments.

In regards to our location, there will be a mall complex opening in the future with various food outlets, movie theater, etc. As well as a KTV & Spa down the street from the hotel.
There are also local villages with small stores surrounding the hotel, however we usually reccomend downtown when guests ask about supermarkets as there is a more extensive selection.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

For business customers with 3M and Jabil, there is daily shuttle to the sites.
Complimentary breakfast buffet with lots of choices of food and drink.
Just tell the server you want latte, or cappucino instead of regular coffee.
The outdoor pool is nice but not usable in cold weather. The indoor pool is square, heated but not open until 7:00 am. What a waste!
Room is OK but not great with balcony.
Make sure you're not on the 3th floor or 6th floor if non-smoking is your choice of room.

Room Tip: Avoid 3th floor and 6th floor : smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TirelessDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad that you were able to utilize our shuttles to the various business sites in Science City. As we are centrally located to many businesses, we do our best to make it convenient for our guests!

I invite you to come back soon, as recently the outdoor pool has a new feature of being heated. Now guests can enjoy both the indoor and outdoor pool year round.

Thank you for pointing out our smoking and non-smoking floors. We have limited smoking rooms to the 3rd and 6th floor in effort to make it as accomodating as possible for our smoking and non smoking guests. Please let our front desk know of your room preferences at check-in and we will do our best to accomodate you.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is my first time arriving to Guangzhou and I was expecting to see huge crowd of people and massive buildings everywhere. It took a while and after a few taxi drivers before someone knew where this hotel was. I boarded it and we left the airport driving through highways after highways into a well planned city. I did not see any city center. The entrance of the hotel is majestic and service impeccable. I would call it more of a resort. Attended a two day conference in this hotel and manage to catch the shuttle to the city center on the 3rd day. It was at least a 30 minutes drive. If you intend to check out the night scene and decide to take a taxi back, then its a major hassle. Only after hailing down the fourth taxi at 1.00am, the driver knew where I was staying. But all in all, the room, facilities and service in the hotel is top notch.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chreong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We appreciate your comments, thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We hope that you were able to see some of the city during your stay.

As a business hotel located in Science City, we consider ourselves more like a resort getaway for our busy guests-- with access to the city through our complimentary shuttle downtown.
However, if you are looking for a hotel located right in the hustle and bustle of Guangzhou, we encourage you to take a look at our sister hotel, Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Center!

Also, to get a taste of the night scene right here in Science City, we encourage you to visit again as Jade Club (KTV & Spa) will be opening soon right down the street from the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piacenza
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Hotel quite new located in a new development area in NE Guangzhou.
It is a compromise between a business hotel and a sort of resort.
What I loved was the buffet restaurant with a huge variety of food in different way of cookings (fresh raw and grilled seafood, japanese station with tempura, barbecue grill for meat, cantonese...) all in one restaurant with good quality food.
Best i loved was pools (lagoon style also heated), sauna and a well equipped gym with also table tennis.
Staff training to be improved but always available

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lonedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review and comments.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our extensive international buffet!
We invite you to visit soon as we have a new Vietnamese restaurant, Miss Saigon and now both indoor and outdoor pools are heated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Hotel Nikko Guangzhou
#30 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Baiyun Airport
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
#22 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Science City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Science City

Property: Crowne Plaza Science City
Address: No.28 Ningcai Road, Luogang District, Guangzhou 510663, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#31 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#44 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Science City 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City offers 5-star eco-friendly accommodation with modern amenities, including 2 swimming pools and outdoor hot tubs. It features a free 2-way transfer services between the hotel and the city centre every day. Free Wi-Fi and free books are provided. Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Scenice City is a 5-minute drive from Luogang Wanda Plaza, a 25-minute drive from Pazhou Complex and a 25-minute drive from The Tianhe Central Business District. Baiyun International Airport is 45-minute drive away. Featuring private balconies, elegant rooms at the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou come with a DVD player and a flat-screen satellite TV. The en suite bathroom has a rainshower and bathtub. In some guestrooms and club floor, luxurious amenities by Borghese are provided in the bathroom. Guests have the option of swimming in the outdoor or indoor pool while a well-equipped fitness centre ensures total body workouts. Other recreational facilities include a sauna and spa pools. Choose from 3 restaurants within the hotel that serve everything from Cantonese dishes, international cuisine, steaks and fresh seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Science City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Science City Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing