We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected, good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Science City
Ranked #40 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed a few times now, always had a very acceptable stay. Staff are welcoming, check in was quick (but check out was very slow - lots of keystrokes and paper-pushing - avoid peak times....).
Rooms are larger than average and well equipped. The location is remote from town which is bad for nightlife but good for peace and quiet - it is in a parkland setting and very little city noise around. Food is good if expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Communications Officer at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Rechard W ,Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provideyou with a memorable experience. Many guests choose this hotel because of our fresh air environment. We take our guest comments very seriously andalways strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in thenear future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions for the past 5 years. Great hotel, with very nice rooms. Restaurant is good, but pricey, a reflection of the fact that there is nothing but business close by.
Staff speaks a bit of english, especially if you get management. Rest of them can be tedious to deal with, but its China, and I must admit that their english is much better than my chinese...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sclausen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear sclausen77,
Thank-you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, especially the rooms and the restaurant. We are continuously striving to improve our staff English levels by providing English Classes taught by native English speakers which includes monthly testing. We appreciate your patience with this as it is an ongoing process. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Lauren
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Friendly people to welcome you in this big hotel. Nice and clean rooms. Avoid the BBQ.
Regrettablyhis hotel is a little remote, rather far away from the city center but you will have a nice stay and relax. The swimmingpool is good and clean, also the fitness. If you want to have a massage take the sauna massage center just befor the entry of the hotel. The rooms are also very quite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear MarcelV,
Thank-you for your feedback. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed the rooms and our fitness center. Although Science City is a developing area, we do provide complimentary shuttle busses to downtown on a regular basis. We hope that you can take advantage of this service during your next stay if you wish to go downtown. If you have any specific feedback for us to improve our BBQ it would be greatly appreciated! You can always e-mail us at gro@crowneplazagzsc.com. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Lauren
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Room was updated, large, and the bathroom was super nice. The hotel has a lot of funky smells...musty and moldy. Smelly is never a good thing at a hotel. The restaurant serves up a decent buffet. I was actually impressed at dinner. There is a lot of staff and they are all trying really hard. The Mad scientist bar was meh.... The hotel could ditch all of the cheesy lighting in the lobby and step it up a notch by doing so. The cigarette smoking in the hotel was gross....can't hate on this hotel too hard for that because China didn't get the memo about smoking...

Room Tip: There are some newer parts of the hotel and some older. Avoid the 2nd floor...your window will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denver_CoEdwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Don`t leave open balcony door- mosquitoes !!! Location is far away from Guangzhou city center (about 50 min.). Many taxi drivers don't know the exact location- recommend always carry hotel card to show them the address. Distance from airport- about 1 hour.

Great gym with modern machines. Big outdoor swimming pool- take your swimming gear- its nice to have a go after working hours.

Recommend to have foot massage at the spa downstairs- its relatively cheap and professional. Also use your bathtub- as its the biggest size bath I ever met in hotels- don`t waste nice opportunity.

Mad Scientist Bar downstairs normally is empty. You can be your own DJ and play your favorite music by selecting it from iPad at the bar. There are free F1 and football video games- the only place where you can Drink and Drive in Guangzhou !

Nothing around hotel really. There is JADE Karaoke place opposite but I have not visited it yet (please you do- and leave your comments for my next reference). Overall, I had nice stay.

Room Tip: windows to the forest view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sveta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Sveta S,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the nicest facilities I have visited. Rooms are large, the staff is great, the food is exceptional. The breakfast presentation is truly international.

There is free transportation to and from the Guangzhou East train station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DESIi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear DESli1,

Thank-you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City in the near future.

Best regards,

Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I've lived in GZ for 3 years.

This review will focus on the facilities not the rooms.

Been to the Crowne Plaza many times but I have not actually stayed in a room there. Several friends have stayed and mentioned it's quality and comfort is typical of a Crowne Plaza.

The location is about 30-40 minutes from the core city center. Taxi's are readily available and cheap but the hotel does provided a free shuttle several times a day. There is bus service but it's confusing for foreigners to use. There may be a subway/Metro stop nearby but not until at least 2015 or later.

Like all of the other reviews the grounds, the buildings and the overall look of the place is high quality. The lobby cafe/bar is spacious and quite nice to relax in except if there are large crowds roaming about. Many times when there have been conferences etc. at the hotel the information/registration desks are in the lobby (this is typical of a Chinese hotel and evet) so it adds to the noise in the lobby. However, I have sat in the lobby sipping a coffee when the space is not populated and it's wonderful.

The Mad Scientists Bar is fun, small but a nice typical pub.

The outdoor/indoor pool is fantastic!! Beautiful grounds, plenty of shaded outdoor areas, food/beverages are served. SUPER family/kid friendly - highly recommend that pool for lazy afternoon escape from the GZ humidity. The locker/change rooms are rather small but clean. The other sports facilities looked fine but I did not check them out. The indoor pool area over looks the outdoor pool and it clean and a pleasure as well.


The ADD Pan Asian Restaurant is another story. It's a Marche type where patrons wonder
around to various food stations for ready-made and made to order food cooked in Western/Asian fusion/Asian style. Cost? 250RMB per adult. 145 RMB per child.

We ate at the ADD Pan Asian Restaurant
ADD Pan Asian Restaurant 3 years ago. Then, it was praise worthy - fresh abundant food,well displayed, literally everything was good food and although a tad pricy, worth the cost.

Well, my wife and daughetr and I went back there yesterday because we had such great memories of the ADD Pan Asian Restaurant. What a failure! The I loved Asian food. I immediately went to the soup station and had a custom soup made and brought it to my table. It smelled disgusting - ok, i thought be open minded. It tasted even more disgusting - not even edible. Tried the stemmed dim-sum meat balls - not edible, tried the lemon grass beef, chewy as shoe leather and tasted like it was out of a can. Even the wontons in the soup, a normal yummy stand by, not edible. Tried the soyo chicken, barely edible. Tried the vegetarian curry stew, there was big chuck of fatty chicken in it - it actually tasted pretty good.

Passed by other Asian food stations - most things were old looking and smelled quite awful.

Moved onto to the "western" food section. The Argentine style grill caught my attention. Got some beef but it was questionable from the get go. Not edible - fatty and shoe leather. Tried the pizza - gross - plastic cheese and the dough was under cooked.

Enough said. My wife and daughter had a similar experience, they hit and miss some foods. We had some yummies at the dessert section paid the huge bill and left VERY disappointed.

It's quite sad to see the ADD Pan Asian Restaurant lose it's quality because the staff are SUPER attentive and nice and the atmosphere is wonderful. We will not return to the ADD Pan Asian Restaurant at the Crowne Plaza - at least for lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear ExpatDaze,

We truly appreciate your comments and feedback on your experience at our hotel. With your help we can continue to improve the quality of our hotel facilities and exceed our guests’ expectations. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool so much and that you were impressed by the service in our hotel. I am sorry that your experience in our ADD Pan Asian Restaurant was not as positive. We have passed on your feedback to our Chefs who will look to improve quality of our buffet items. We hope you can join us again and give our ADD Pan Asian Restaurant another chance because I know that we make your experience as good as you remembered it from your last visit three years ago.

Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Hotel Nikko Guangzhou
#38 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Baiyun Airport
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
#30 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Science City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Science City

Address: No.28 Ningcai Road, Luogang District, Guangzhou 510663, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#37 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#37 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £54 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Science City 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City offers 5-star eco-friendly accommodation with modern amenities, including 2 swimming pools and outdoor hot tubs. It features a free 2-way transfer services between the hotel and the city centre every day. Free Wi-Fi and free books are provided. Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Scenice City is a 5-minute drive from Luogang Wanda Plaza, a 25-minute drive from Pazhou Complex and a 25-minute drive from The Tianhe Central Business District. Baiyun International Airport is 45-minute drive away. Featuring private balconies, elegant rooms at the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou come with a DVD player and a flat-screen satellite TV. The en suite bathroom has a rainshower and bathtub. In some guestrooms and club floor, luxurious amenities by Borghese are provided in the bathroom. Guests have the option of swimming in the outdoor or indoor pool while a well-equipped fitness centre ensures total body workouts. Other recreational facilities include a sauna and spa pools. Choose from 3 restaurants within the hotel that serve everything from Cantonese dishes, international cuisine, steaks and fresh seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Science City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Science City Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing